We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Maun
Post
Inbox
Search

“It was so great that I ate there three times in a row!”
Review of Marcs Eatery

Marcs Eatery
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $105
Description: MARCS EATERY - PROUDLY MAUN Hearty, home cooking with a contempary flair,served by a friendly, dynamic team in a sociable oasis that indulges all senses. THE EATERY The Eatery is simply that, an informal brasserie with no pretentions, a coming home to a delicious, wholesome, home-cooked meal that your grandmother could have prepared for you. Hearty, flavourful and honest food, there is nothing uniform about it, but rather adjusting to what is fresh and available on the day; your dishes will never be exactly the same but will always be delicious. His philosophy is to keep the flavours simple, working with the essential, natural flavours of the ingredients. Marc is a perfectionist who brings only the best quality fare to the table, ever-present at the hob and overseeing every stage of the process,he is passionate about indulging his guests’ senses. Marc’s Eatery serves the best coffee in Maun.
Restaurant details
Description: MARCS EATERY - PROUDLY MAUN Hearty, home cooking with a contempary flair,served by a friendly, dynamic team in a sociable oasis that indulges all senses. THE EATERY The Eatery is simply that, an informal brasserie with no pretentions, a coming home to a delicious, wholesome, home-cooked meal that your grandmother could have prepared for you. Hearty, flavourful and honest food, there is nothing uniform about it, but rather adjusting to what is fresh and available on the day; your dishes will never be exactly the same but will always be delicious. His philosophy is to keep the flavours simple, working with the essential, natural flavours of the ingredients. Marc is a perfectionist who brings only the best quality fare to the table, ever-present at the hob and overseeing every stage of the process,he is passionate about indulging his guests’ senses. Marc’s Eatery serves the best coffee in Maun.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

I was in Maun for the weekend arriving in time for lunch on Friday. I had heard about Marc's Eatery but it surpassed all my expectations. I am gluten intolerant and on a Ketosis diet and generally feel so deprived but not here! Marc caters for very many diet restrictions and it made it so hard to choose! For lunch I chose the Banting burger with a delicious green salad and chimichurri. The burger was so moist and after chatting to Marc found out it has feta in it and it makes it soooo delicious. I was back again for dinner and had the Beef filet steak with a mushroom sauce - best meat I have ever tasted and so tender and perfectly cooked. Yes I was back the following day for a brunch - sounds ridiculous but I had already seen that Marc makes an Egg Florentine and I just had to try. I was not disappointed - a glorious bed of spinach with a layer of bacon and a poached egg and perfectly made Hollandaise sauce - who would have thought this was possible in Maun? They served it with two seed crackers as they knew I was gluten free already. Wow I was blown away three times and found the ambiance and service on a par with trendy eateries in cosmopolitan cities but then even friendlier with Marc great Bostwanian crew. Need I say more? You have to go and plan to go back more than once while you are visiting!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcs-Eatery, Owner at Marcs Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Hi The M
Thank you so much for this outstanding review. My team and I are so happy that you had such a good time and enjoyed our food. It is thanks to clients like you that my team enjoys to perform at their best. We hope to see you here again some time soon. Marc's Eatery team is sending you the best regards from a still hot Botswana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2019

Wonderful little deli/restaurant just out of Maun situated in a quaint outside setting under the veranda and big trees in the garden. Meals are delicious but some can be quite small in portion size. Some nights there is live music. I love the option of ordering a picnic for you to pick up and go! The small deli sells homemade goodies from pate to soups and sauces.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcs-Eatery, Owner at Marcs Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Hi
David
Thank you for the review. It would help me a lot if you could tell me what dish you had where you thought it was a small portion? I will make sure to work on that. Hope to see you again. Greetings from the team at Marc's Eatery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

Great food, great people, great atmosphere. When visiting the Okavango Delta in Botswana go to Marc’s Eatery for a good meal.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Ronald115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcs-Eatery, Owner at Marcs Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Thank you Ronald. It is thanks to people like you that we are motivated to give our best. Greetings from the whole team at Marc's Eatery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019 via mobile

Everything about this place I loved, the ambience, the decor, the customer service and the fillet steak, definitely coming back :-)

Date of visit: April 2018
38  Thank zindzi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcs-Eatery, Owner at Marcs Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Hello Pillar
Thank you so much for the great review. I am looking forward to spoiling you again some day. Greetings from Marc's Eatery team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Worth popping in for a meal - food was great. They also sell a few delicacies to take away and can arrange a pick up picnic for you.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcs-Eatery, Owner at Marcs Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Thank you Trish for your nice review. Greetings from the Marc's Eatery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcs Eatery also viewed

Maun, Ngamiland East
Maun, Ngamiland East
 
Maun, Ngamiland East
Maun, Ngamiland East
 

Been to Marcs Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing