We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be slow, but delicious. And best REAL coffee in Maun.”
Review of Hilary's

Hilary's
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Maun
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Home-cooked breakfasts and lunches, with the freshest ingredients in town, and a warm and inviting atmosphere.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can be slow, but delicious. And best REAL coffee in Maun.”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Hillary's is always a treat. Tucked away in a quiet area, with hanging vines that help keep it cool, the food is always delicious (if they've got it, the meat pie is a real treat). I love eating here, but the real icing on the cake is the french-press coffee. It's rare to find real, good coffee in Botswana, and Hillary's is the place for my fix.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you look for a genuine meal instead of hamburger go in this small restaurant located very close to the airport...the only problem it close at 4 pm.
Homemade everything from bread to dessert, delicious soups, great quiche, good salads and dessert.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stgpoggi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fresh food, crisp salads, prepared on the spot...”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

After weeks of the usual Southern African fried fare, it was a real pleasure to come across Hilary's. Fresh ingredients, made to order, good wholesome food is the name of the game here. Great coffee, excellent homemade bread and muffins make this a great all round experience.
One great discovery was the packed food that Hilary prepared for our next three days. Delicious soups, stews, salads and packed lunches. All we had to do was buy a saucepan. Friendly and informative, this is a great place. Closes at 5.00pm

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rupertcdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting eating place”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Tucked away near airport..good service, menu was more interesting than it tasted, but pleasant enough for a light lunch

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelvice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fast, fantastic food.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My family and I decided to find a place to eat while waiting for some car troubles to be repaired. After reading the reviews on Hilary's on TripAdvisor we decided to give it a bash. Although the map location is wrong we didn't take too long to find it.

What a treat it was when we did.
The sitting area offers cool respite from the Botswana sun and the service was quick, the owner friendly and most importantly the food was excellent quality and value for money! The sandwiches and salads are delicious and the puddings are highly recommended!

Don't leave without trying he refreshing lemon-ginger drink!

Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilary's also viewed

 
Maun, North-West District
Maun, North-West District
 

Been to Hilary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing