We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, restful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cresta Marang And Residency
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Francistown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and kids for just one day and night. We stayed in one of the Chalets, #37 to be exact. That one was right in front of the playground so perfect for the kids but the second to last stair was tricky and the stairs are very steep. There is a large open space that the chalets circle and there are tall trees throughout that blocks out the sky creating a serene and peaceful feeling. It's great for allowing the kids to run around freely. Be cautious though since wild monkeys patrol the area. Our chalet was well put together and clean and we loved it. The shower situation was weird seeing that the shower curtain only comes halfway but I guess that's why there is a hole next to the tub to allow water to fall through. There is a gas station and small store right across from the hotel so you can get some groceries or whatever you need. My one piece of advice, bring a moscuito repellent of some sort because they seem to hide in the reeds of the chalet and they come out in full force at night.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

On the outskirts of Francistown, you will find a real value for money hotel with friendly helpful staff. OK, the food is very traditional (English breakfast and buffets if full occupancy) and the speed of service in the restaurant can be very slow during a la carte. Then again, the room I stayed in was built on stilts.The room was constructed using wood, very comfortable and charming, situated in a wooded grassy area.

My room (or hut) had a lounge area, dresser with coffee and tea making facilities, a large LCD TV, separate bathroom and very comfortable queen size bed.

Would I stay again, yes... value for money, yes. Not 5 star but well worth a stay

Room Tip: ask for the garden huts on stilts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertPaltiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel is nicely located but a bit out of town. The complimentary internet offered at check in however does not work. The room guide further says that there is internet in the room but this is not true. The manager said its not yet ready. The dont offer what the promise and thererfore the price is not worth the value.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The en suite rondavels in the garden area are very spacious - basically the rondavel is cut in half so you have two rooms per unit. Very clean although the bathroom is a little on the tight side. The a la carte dinner & drinks are pricey and I found the restaurant staff to be very disinterested. The hotel in general is well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: There are many different types of rooms so be sure to ask about all the options. I prefer the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have just spent 2 nights in the hotel room accommodation, not thatched rooms, and what a relaxing ambience this property has. Very clean room, bigger than expected, aircon worked a treat, good size bathroom and helpful staff. Swimming pool was fabulously sparkling and a swim at the end of a very hot day was definitely needed. Lots of families here but with large park/lawn area and playground, you could hardly hear the children at all. Good value for money. Meals a la carte in restaurant were good, didn't try the buffet. Only drawback, they don't put fridges in rooms as standard, however I did request this upon booking and we had a fridge in the room upon arrival.

Room Tip: if you have children, request thatched rooms by playground and lawn area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

as a regular traveller crossing from zimbabwe, botswana and namibia (and back), i find botswana to be generally very expensive for staying in hotels. so when my journey takes me through francistown i camp at marang hotel. it has a well-maintained grassy and shady campsite with decent ablutions and a couple of water points (unsuitable for drinking water though). camping is 70p per person and electricity is a further 26p extra per night. the entire premises is secure with the added touch of a guard dog and handler patrolling at night.

the pool bar is a great spot for a relaxing drink and to catch up on sporting events. the only down side at the weekend is a nearby rival hotel playing really loud music in the early hours, over and above the legal time. otherwise, i always enjoy camping here, the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a free wireless connection in reception. if you don't have your own laptop/phone, you can use their computer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank johnnathan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have been staying at this hotel many times over the past years while on tour towards the Okavango Delta. This hotel has always been expensive for nothing but with the 2010 rates the Cresta management got greedy. At Pula plus 1,000 (about US$ 170) you'll get a standard room only, no breakfast included. One feels ripped off badly, as there is no value offered for the price charged. The rooms are clean, staff members very friendly, and the food quality and taste seems an ongoing challenge. We will not stay here anymore. Should you, don't attempt to make a phone call from your room - they will charge you for a phone call even if you didn't get an answer from the number called.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SATravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francistown
1.8 mi away
Cresta Thapama Hotel
Cresta Thapama Hotel
#2 of 5 in Francistown
43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Diggers Inn
Diggers Inn
#3 of 5 in Francistown
63 reviews
0 mi away
Adansonia Hotel
Adansonia Hotel
#4 of 5 in Francistown
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cresta Jwaneng Hotel
Cresta Jwaneng Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jwaneng
58 reviews
0 mi away
Cresta Botsalo Hotel
Cresta Botsalo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Palapye
27 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Francistown
Peermont Metcourt Francistown
#1 of 21 in Francistown
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Marang And Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Marang And Residency

Address: Old Gaborone Road, Francistown 00000, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-East District > Francistown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Francistown
Price Range: $150 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Marang And Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cresta Marang And Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresta Marang And Residency Hotel Francistown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing