We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison d'Hote de Beni-isugen
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Gite Tarist(Ghardaia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
30
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy friendfew daysculturehostarchitecturetraditionfireplacemarvelmaisonhousemealsaccommodationvalleytravelwatchcitycook
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 37 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent two nights staying with Rostom and co. in Ghardaia, and received a wonderful introduction to the culture and history of the M'Zab. I ate couscous, drank water from clay jugs lined with charcoal oil, and slept on the roof under the stars. A pleasure, all the way through!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank HankSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We went to Beni-isugen in the middle of Ramadan so wasn't expecting much to do or be going on. We were happy to while away the hours with a book in the shade, protected from the Saharan sun. But we got much more than this - our host Rostom knew exactly the best times of day to visit the city of Ghardaia and drove us to the market, the old city and to the edges of the desert to go Camel riding. In the evening he included us in his meals which were a great assortment of Chorba, deep fried vegetable parcels and lots of sweets from deserts. As we lay back and watched the incredible shooting stars above us, Rostom made green-mint tea with lots of sugar. This was a truly amazing stay in an incredible city in Algeria. I would love to visit again sometime. Cheers Rostom.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet and cool due to the design of the building. I believe all the floors have air conditioning as the owner works for an air conditioning company.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henrylongden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Before we stayed in this guesthouse we had a room in the more luxurious hotel Two Towers, just next doors. Because we wanted to stay a little longer in Ghardaia and there was no room available in Two Towers we moved to this guesthouse. Best decision of our holiday!
Although there is less comfort than in our previous hotel, we liked it more!! It was like if you were in your own house! You can do whatever you like, even if you feel free to enter the kitchen you can go ahead! No specific rules in this house, just feel free, enjoy and be at ease! If you really want to discover the authentic and traditional life in Ghardaia, you must stay in this hotel.
The manager of the house is all day and night at your disposal if you have some questions or requests. He is the owner aswell of a touristic agency in the city and can organize touristic and adventurous trips nearby Ghardaia and in the desert. I would also recommend to dine in the evening in this house. The meals are traditionally prepared by the manager’s wife and family.
If you are not in an adventurous mood and fond of comfort and luxury, I would highly recommend not to stay in this guesthouse.

Room Tip: if you travel with a family or sevral couples I would recommend the rooms upstairs. There are 3 rooms who share 1 bathroom and 2 huge terraces on the first floor for these 3 rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirstme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This village is something special in M'Zab valley. There is just a few place where you can stay. This place is totally isolated, they have special religion tradition, so you have to behave properly. This guesthouse is very simple, but it is worth to go there and feel special atmosphere of this place, relax and make calm, close to nature.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews