We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tanna Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanna Adventures - Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights with Rachel and Esso as part of our honeymoon on Vanuatu. This was a real opportunity to experience island life running on island time. Esso said one day "the probem is, I know too many people." As you drive along the road we stopped to talk to cousins, picked up uncles and even perfect strangers. Uncle George stuck around for two days leading us on many of our adventures. Esso and Rachel have invested greatly in their tourism venture to not only improve the position and education of their family, but lead the way for smaller tourism ventures across the island- away from resorts. Esso is a strong, prominant leader in the community and his determination and commitent to his guests and to the development of tourism on Tanna is unsurpassed. The accomodation is comfortable and you will be thankful for Rachels efforts in the kitchen- only one serve of tapioca the entire stay! The views are amazing and we were treated to a special performance from Esso's daughter and their friends. Not a resort holiday but an eperience that is not to be missed if you have the time to experience Tanna from the people's perspective.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed 10 nights at our host's Esso's and Rachel's island Nima which is nestled in a lush tropical garden, the verandah affording stunning views across lush ridges to the very active and vocal Yasur Volcano and the east coast. We wanted to be able to experience the local Tanna Island way of life, to meet local people and to be able to visit areas of the island generally by-passed or not generally accessible to visitors. Esso and Rachel made us feel very welcome as soon as we met and by the time we said our Goodbyes (for now) we felt very much part of their family. Our Nima or bungalow was very comfortable and clean, Rachel is a wonderful cook and our daily outings with Rachel and Esso, more often than not, accompanied by friends and relatives needing lifts to town or down the road or to church or to find petrol or to a village...resulted in lovely and unexpected people/scenery experiences. Esso is well known and respected and in turn, knows the treasures the island has to offer. We are both well travelled and agree our choice of hosts and location more than met any expectations we had! Would we go back?? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngaire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have really enjoyed our time with Esso and Rachel ! Our stay with them was one of the highlight of our trip to Vanuatu.
The view from the bungalow is wonderful, especially at sunset, with the Mt Yasur. We also enjoyed a lot the Black Magic Tour, the visit of Lenakel and of course the discussions with Esso in the evenings !
We have been very happy to visit Tanna: it's a beautiful island completely unspoiled by tourism. People take pleasure in sharing their customs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klaiment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visited Tanna Island because I was envolved in buying coffee from the INIK COOP and wanted to meet them,so I booked a stay with Esso & Rachel which is right in the middle of the growing region on Tanna.
The wooden bungalow had a fantastic view over the Island with Mount Yasur volcano rested in the background. I spend most of my time there meeting with local growers but did get time to do the big day tour of the island, which was great, especially the climb to the top of the vulcano and experience the roar of the eruptions sending lava and ash high into the sky.
Every evening after meetings I sat and enjoyed Esso's company over a nice homecooked meal chatting and discussing local issues and the future of Tanna Island and in the mornings we shared the coffee I had brought with me from NZ over a great island breakfast. Fund memories.
Esso and Rachel really looked after me and I can fully recommed this to every one who is interested in enjoying a somewhat more authentic experience on their trip. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed four nights with Esso and Rachel and will certainly try to get back there again. They were genuine and very welcoming hosts. If Esso wasn't able to take us he would get family to take us out on our visits and walks.

Mt Yasur was the highlight of natural wonder on the island but the scenery and other places we visited all came a very close second. We had valued packed tours each day including village visits. We were also included in any family outings that were going on while we there. We felt very privileged to be asked along to these.

The food cooked by Rachel, their wonderful family and extended family, the friendliness of staff they employed, they were always willing to help and make us feel welcome and at home. They were always accommodating. Our room was serviced every day with fresh flowers on the bed and that made it even more special.

Hubby now has a hard time drinking any other coffee except for the Tanna coffee that we bought home with us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights with Esso and Rachel in a ‘Nima’ on their property. It's an authentic local experience which is what we really wanted. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there but that didn’t stop us having experiences we will never forget . Our flight was delayed but Esso was flexible and picked us up when the plane eventually landed. Despite the limited supplies and facilities on the island, Rachel cooked us fantastic food. Mt Yasur was obviously a highlight as was the Kastom walk through the villages. We loved our time getting to know Esso, Rachel and meeting people throughout the villages we traveled. Esso is a great guide - very knowledgeable with everything about Tanna and highly respected by all the people we came in contact with along the way.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Mt Yasur is why we went to Tanna - but soon discovered there is so much more to this beautiful unspoilt island. To get a sense of island life we chose to stay with Esso & Rachel for 3 days. We did the Big Day Out with Esso which was definitely the highlight for us. We also experienced the Bush, Waterfall, Beach Walk and Kastom Walk. Each experience added something unique to our overall impression of Tanna. Esso ensured our areas of interest were covered by the various tours - my husband is a geologist and we're both interested in coffee. He also arranged some surprises that gave us a real sense of tribal life. This is a no frills but lotsa thrills experience. You definitely come away with a sense of what island life is like.

Room Tip: You sleep in a bungalow overlooking the south/east coast of Tanna with Mt Yasur in the distance. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tascino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanna Island hotels
0 mi away
Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours
0 mi away
Port Resolution Yacht Club
0 mi away
White Grass Ocean Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Yasur View Bungalows
Yasur View Bungalows
#1 of 8 in Tanna Island
57 reviews
0 mi away
Friendly Beach
Friendly Beach
#3 of 4 in Tanna Island
30 reviews
0 mi away
Volcano Island Paradise Bungalow
Volcano Island Paradise Bungalow
#5 of 30 in Tanna Island
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanna Adventures - Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanna Adventures - Accommodation

Address: Louniel | Middlebush, Tanna Island Z37T7 CQV8Z, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Tanna Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Tanna Island
Price Range: $39 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows are situated in the unique central Middlebush area of Tanna, the main coffee growing region of the island, & in close proximity to everything. Located on a small plateau close to & overlooking the fantastic eastern coast of Tanna, providing amazing views, including Mt Yasur Volcano, the 'Nima' is a superior island style bungalow, while our standard bungalow is typical of Tanna. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing