We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mount Yasur
from $235.00
More Info
from $329.52
More Info
from $329.52
More Info
from $329.52
More Info
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
852
87
16
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
852
87
16
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews once in a lifetime unity airlines few minutes wheel drive safety briefing white grass resort port resolution hot springs whitegrass resort lava rim ash sunset edge fireworks wow clouds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 977 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2019

My family (2 adults & 2 children) experienced the amazing Mt Yasur volcano at sunset and it didn't disappoint.
Our friendly & competent pilot, Olivia, flew us from Vila to Tanna, with a great scenic flight over the top of Mt Yasur. After landing at the airport we were driven across the island to Mt Yasur.
A couple of stops along the way for photo opportunities of the volcano, then we swapped vehicles into a 4WD ute (fun sitting in the back) & were driven up to the volcano. Led by local guides, we had a short but quite steep walk up the volcano which then brought into view the awesome crater. Standing right on the edge of the crater rim, watching exploding molten magma was incredible - most impressive as the sun went down & we watched the natural fireworks display in the darkness - complete with sulphur smell & the taste of ash in your mouth! Then a short walk back down (head torches necessary as it is very dark & the ground a bit slippery) to return to the vehicles, to be driven. back across the island to our organised accommodation at Rockwater Resort. Highly recommended volcano tour - a great experience!

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Sal-iva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

The volcano is spectacular once in a lifetime stuff and not to be missed. If you're feeling very energetic (VERY!) you can arrange to walk from Friendly Beach to the volcano and up the ash plain to the top. We did this and it was very rewarding, but be warned that climbing the ash / sand is extremely tiring! We hike a lot and it was definitely the hardest thing we've done! Make sure you take glasses / sunglasses to protect your eyes from the ash, and something to wrap around your face (a scarf or similar). Take a bottle of water (more if your hiking!) and an extra layer as it can get cold up there after dark.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank ViolaEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

Mt. Yasur is an incredible place. I am confident that there is no where else quite like it in the world. It takes a lot of mismanagement to meaningfully take away from such an experience.

Sadly, the greedy private company that has set up shop as the volcano gatekeeper is doing its very best to do just that. They have persistently raised prices to absurd levels. It now costs $90 USD for a single entrance to the mountain (NOT a day pass. If you want to come for sunset and sunrise, you pay this fee twice with a small discount). For reference, an entire year’s pass for every national park in the US is just $70, and for that price you get to access well-maintained parks with paved roads. This company hasn’t built any roads or made any improvements to the mountain. Rather they, have kept the bumpy mud roads and pocketed the money. Further, once you pay their toll, you are forced into a huge group, made to participate in a bunch of extremely touristy activities, and then are hoarded up the not-very-high mountain (would be a hike with an elevation change of just 800 feet) in the backs of trucks. At the summit, everyone is crowded into the same spot and the guides rush you to “take your picture and leave”. The whole thing feels more like a Disney land ride than nature.

I would much prefer to hike up the mountain by myself and experience this place on my own. Nothing the company does to “earn” it’s ridiculous fee adds any value. Rather, it cheapens what has the potential to be a truly world-class experience. It’s one thing to have a tourism industry operating on the mountain for people who are into this type of thing and/or aren’t able to access the volcano on their own. It’s another to force everyone into unwanted and expensive one-size-fits-all tours, ostensibly done in the name of safety but actually to scale their business and increase profitability. I urge the company, as well as the locals who rent the company their land and are far more reasonable and respectful, to change this despicable practice and allow experienced hikers to experience this natural wonder in their own way, or at least to simply hire their own local guide and walk up. There is more money in catering to all types of travelers, rather than pricing things just for rich vacationers who are making a day trip from villa (I would have stayed for a week if the fee wasn’t so prohibitively expensive and I could explore the volcano by myself).

Date of experience: May 2019
12  Thank joeorsi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

My hotel was fairly near the airport, so to get to the volcano it took close to two hours by a four wheel car to get there, and part of the road was very rough. Once at the entrance to the volcano park, you change to the park's own vehicles and drive up the side of the volcano through lush fern forests to a parking area. From there it is a steep 15 minutes walk to the crater rim. But it was well worth it, because the volcano meets you with an ominous rumbling and occasional small explosions. I have been to many volcanoes, but this was different. As it gets darker it is quite spectacular with its fairly regular explosions throwing lava high into the air.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank 283arned
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

We travelled 90 mins from Whitegrass resort to the Volcano. It was raining/cloudy and windy. Understandably we couldn’t go up the mountain.
I would recommend getting your host/resort to ring ahead first to ensure it is open.
The ash plains were amazing to see though!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank KylieanneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews