We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mt Yasur Volcano Afternoon Guided Tour Tanna Island
7

Book in advance
from
$235.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Mount Yasur
from $235.00
More Info
from $329.52
More Info
from $329.52
More Info
from $329.52
More Info
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
852
87
16
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
852
87
16
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews once in a lifetime unity airlines few minutes wheel drive safety briefing white grass resort port resolution hot springs whitegrass resort lava rim ash sunset edge fireworks wow clouds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 977 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2019

Felt like we were walking on another planet & then looking into what I would image hell looks like! Highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Joey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

professional guides amazing experience take the coats on offer it may rain go in the late afternoon for most spectacular photos

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

This is an absolute must do if you go to Vanuatu and your budget allows for return airfare from Port Vila and at least 1 nights accomadation. I would doubt you’d ever see anything like this anywhere in the world. On arrival at the base of Mt. Yasur you’re greeted by the local tour guides, they introduce themselves and explain the indemnity form. Then there is a short ceremony; you are welcomed by the village chief, you ask him to keep you safe when you visit the volcano, and this is followed by some custom dances. Then the guides explain the health and safety and you take a short 10 minute ride in a 4wd to the plateau. From here you walk up the a track to the viewing point approx 5 minutes. You get to stand so close to this active volcano you hear the thunderous roar and feel the ground shake beneath your feet when the volcano erupts, and then the red hot lava spurts into air with a plume of smoke right in front of you. It is totally amazing and although a little disconcerting at the beginning you soon relax and enjoy. You are not rushed and stay up there until darkness falls to maximise the experience. A jacket, decent shoes and a camera are essential items, maybe long pants and a warm layer would be handy as it does get cold up there and often it is windy. I totally recommend this once in a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: March 2019
4  Thank Dreamcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We were staying at White Grass Ocean Resort and Spa, swimming daily over the turtle reef. Jack one knows exactly where to go to see them. One afternoon we set of to see Mt Yasur. The drive is much faster and smoother now than five years ago as most of the road is sealed. The volcano does not disappoint and the local village puts on a welcoming show for the tourists on arrival.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank RussJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic, once in a lifetime experience. We are so glad we took this tour we went twice in 3 days. Reduced price for second time, third visit is free. There is hiking/ climbing involved but the air quality, due to erupting volcano is questionable.
Make sure you have lots of battery power for pics/ vids.
Be careful if you want to bring your kids.

Pros- amazing to see the wonders of Mother Nature, up front/ close views of lava pools and explosions. NOTE. We found the 4:30pm evening tour the best as you get views and picture opportunities when dark, after sunset.

Cons - it appears to us that Tanna Island/ Vanuatu is not heavily regulated. The safety measures are very questionable. The railing at the Volcano edge is just one rail of bamboo. Once you get to the part of the edge to see lava pools, no railings. On the second day, there is supposed to be one guide and front of tour and one guide at the back to keep us all together. When it got dark, the tour guide at back was gone. We had to ensure we got down the mountainside, back to the vehicles safely ourselves.

We would definitely recommend this to anyone that wants to see this fantastic epic tour, to do it soon. We both agreed afterwards that we can't see this tour continuing in this way indefinitely, as in most other countries in this world, we would never be able to get this close.

We recommend good shoes, long pants and something to cover nose and mouth at times.

We hope no one ever slips where there are no fences !
Be careful !!

Date of experience: February 2019
5  Thank shhhmototravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews