We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average - much better food next door at the Evergreen Resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Grass Ocean Resort Restaurant

White Grass Ocean Resort Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average - much better food next door at the Evergreen Resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm surprised to see this restaurant get such good reviews, although many of the reviews were some time ago.

The place is recently under new management.

We stayed here for four nights. The breakfasts were fine, but we were really disappointed with our first dinner experience. I'm a pretty light eater and the meal portion was definitely small - even for me. Not worth the $30 odd dollars. My husband had an absolutely terrible steak. As tough as a leather shoe and half grissle. In the manager's defence he did refund us the steak meal after 2 complaints.

Disappointed by this meal, we went next door to Evergreen Resort and were blown away by the meals. Huge menu at Evergreen, loads of fresh fish, delicious 'island' curry, bolognese, the list goes on. We never looked back after discovering this place.

I'd say White Grass have some serious competition on their hands. Also, the staff an owners at Evergreen are super friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

i accidently arrived at this resort after getting off a flight to Tanna and talking to the only driver outside, who was there to pick up booked guests... i hitched a ride with him and arrived at the reception... i almost had a heart attack when quoted about $300 per nite, but was amazed when the manager offered me to stay 3 nites for virtually the same ammount... it was awesome... the food was surprising good and the local sights are just beautiful... careful around the coral though...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FRESH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I must say one of my favourite things at White Grass was the food. Everyday was something different and although only usually a choice of 3 or 4 the meals they were a great size and so fresh. I would go back and visit just for the food, we didnt bother to eat anywhere else. You also cant beat the view.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0le96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Free snorkelling at their private beach was amazing! Great food and reasonable tour prices. Friendly staff and Australian managers on-site who are easy to talk to and understand you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelled31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food at White Grass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Beautiful cuisine. It is summer in your mouth. Nice subtle flavours and fresh ingredients. Must try their coconut crab. Cheaper than in Vila.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Grass Ocean Resort Restaurant also viewed

Been to White Grass Ocean Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing