We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“....it really is a hidden treasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Treasure Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tanna Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Treasure Bungalows
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“....it really is a hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We arrived New Years eve and stayed at Hidden Treasures for 2 nights (wish it was longer). Martha and Tom were great hosts – Martha is an excellent cook, and Tom is a humorous and informative tour guide (Both speak very good English). Nothing was too much trouble, and we were excited when they offered to take us to their village on NYEve night to watch the local church celebrations – this was one of the highlights of the trip, the children singing and dancing were delightful, and we were made to feel very welcome. This did cost us 1500vatu (AUD $15.00) which we were not of told at the time, but it was a great experience and definitely worth the money.

Hidden Treasures is a well-run property with good quality bungalows and a beautiful setting. When you stay here it feels like there is no one else around as it is off the main road, but close enough to the small town (20 minute amble) for supplies, or just to go for a walk. The food was better than expected – with Tom catching lobster for dinner on our first night!!! Incredible and reasonable priced, and breakfasts are a real treat – fresh fruit and juice and homemade ‘french toast’. Tom was also our tour guide up to the volcano, Mt Yasur, and he was very accommodating, taking us to unexplored places and a beautiful white sand beach near Port Resolution.

The accommodation is of a very good quality with good bedding; an attached bathroom (shower only has cold water) and a quaint front veranda. There is a constant electricity supply so you can still charge the camera etc. One thing to be aware of is that the window frames are covered with shading cloth (no glass) so this lets in the sea breeze, but it is not very secure – that being said there is always someone on site, even at night, and the door is lockable. The restaurant looks out over the sea and is always clean and tidy. Make sure you have a go at snorkelling off their reef, it is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 66Travel-to-Learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

If you make it all the way to Tanna, its safe to say you are not there by accident. It took me three days traveling to go from New York City to Tanna. The day before I emailed Tom & Margret to let them know when my flight arrival. Tom was there to pick me up from the airport and Margret met us at Hidden Treasure Bungalow with a welcome drink.

I spent two weeks at Hidden Treasure on a recommendation from a friend. Each bungalow is properly equipped with one or two comfortable beds, a private bathroom with shower (cold water only), and a patio with a table and chairs. As a professional photographer the patio served as my digital studio for the two weeks. For that reason electricity was key. Each bungalow has dedicated power that never failed.

The surrounding coastline was a refreshing break from most beach towns. There are no hotel, mansions, or commercial shops. Its pure nature, untouched for miles on end. The only sign of modernity are the tire tracks from the occasional passing truck.

Coming from New York, I wondered how well I would sleep and eat on Tanna. Margret and her staff fixed me home cooked meals of curried fish, stewed beef and the most amazing fresh veg and fruit from the garden. The morning papaya came straight from the tree and the coffee was grown a few miles up the road. Tanna defines green living.

When I was in need to a car or travel advice Tom and Margret doubled as tour guides. They helped me navigate the local villages, took me for internet when needed, and introduced me to many of their friends and family during the end of the Tannese Independence Celebration. After two days it was like being part of the family. Tom and Margret go above and beyond has hosts for all of their guests. And Tom is working on the hot water heater, which should be running by the time I return in 2012.

For anyone looking for an authentic local experience, away from the tourist path, Hidden Treasure is the way to go. Its absolutely shocking to find such a quiet retreat with just enough of the modern conveniences, which has hardly been touched by the negative aspects of wester culture.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

you can really feel welcome and at your ease. All the family is here for helping you to discover the island and the inhabitants. And when you come back for dinner, you are delighted to see your plates arriving : organic, tasteful.... yam yam ! Never hesitate !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terre, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was wonderful experience. Room was clean and the food was delicious... Each meal was prepared by Martha (the host) and the vegetables were picked fresh from her garden...if you stay here, make sure you inform the host if you're not having lunch/ dinner in their restaurant because they will be included in your final bill even if you did not take them...anyhow, the food was reasonably priced and yummy.. Martha was such a great cook...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wila98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We came to stay there for 1-2 days, but we love it so much so we stay for 4 days.
quiet place, beautiful area with many colorful plants and fruits trees, very clean, near by the sea, friendly owners that share with us from their own fruits and vegetables. they also help and advice us about our travel in Tanna and about the volcano.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank shayh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanna Island hotels
0.0 mi away
White Grass Ocean Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tanna Yasur View Bungalows
Tanna Yasur View Bungalows
#1 of 6 in Tanna Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alofa Beach Bungalows
Alofa Beach Bungalows
#5 of 30 in Tanna Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tanna Lodge
Tanna Lodge
#3 of 4 in Tanna Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friendly Beach
Friendly Beach
#4 of 4 in Tanna Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanna Lava View Bungalows
Tanna Lava View Bungalows
#10 of 30 in Tanna Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Treasure Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Treasure Bungalows

Property: Hidden Treasure Bungalows
Address: Lenekal, Tanna Island, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Tanna Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Tanna Island
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Treasure Bungalows resort on Tanna island is set amongst lush vegetation in secluded tranquility, and takes in spectacular views of the ocean, stunning sunsets and white sandy beaches. Close to the beach amazing rock pools can be found which make beautiful swim sites, perfect for snorkeling. Hidden Treasure has four bungalows, all built Melanesian-style with private facilities catering for the comfort of both single/independent travellers and couples. The resort is located on the west coast of Tanna island, not far from the main commercial town area of Lenekal. Tours on offer include an adventure trip to Yasur Volcano, Yakel Custom Village, the Tanna Magic Tour and more. Return airport transfers can be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing