We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tanna Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanna Tree Top Lodge
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wow this was a top find on Tanna, esp. the view at night falling asleep with the red volcano visible and audible. Would definitely stay there again, the hosts were fab, and good to support locals. It is def. well worth a night's stay at the very least!

Room Tip: Only one treetop hut when I visited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 51 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

This isn't for most people but for those who like something different - this is it!!

After an action packed day visiting Yasur Volcano and Tanna Island, we were dropped off in what felt like the middle of the jungle. After a few minutes, we were met and escorted to the bottom of the very long and steep ladder to our tree house. Two flickering candles were waiting for us at the top and so up we went by the light of a mobile phone.

The tree house itself is basic but comfortable. Really it's like camping in a tree but the view and experience were absolutely worth it. All night long, we could hear and see the volcano erupting through the glassless window. It was really something special and my children loved every minute of it.

Fred and his family were lovely hosts we were fed simple but village tasty food.

The amenities were also rather memorable: the shower being a bucket and cup and the toilet a very special pit toilet made from a tree stump.

I would love to do this trip again.

Room Tip: Take a torch for each person as candles are not very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This is something that I look back on and am glad that I did it, but will never do it again! The treehouse is like the Magic Faraway tree that you will never be able to find anywhere else. Fred has done an amazing job to build this and the view is spectacular especially when you can see lava spurt from the volcano at night and the rumbling. I would highly recommend this, with a few clauses! Those being that you have to be prepared for what you are getting yourself into. First of all, the weather had been quite bad, and when we were picked up from the airport we had to go the back way which took close to 6 hours to the treetop! It would normally take 2 hours. We stayed 3 nights. I would say that this is definitely long enough but you want to make sure that you get to see the volcano and depending on the weather, you may have to wait a day or two. We were lucky with the weather and we got to go up at night, at sunrise and at sunset so we got to see it 3 times. Fred and Nancy are lovely and accommodating. Beware of island time though because we were told to get up at 3am to see the volcano at sunrise and then no one appeared until 4:30am to pick us up! Also, if they say something is a kilometer down the road, maybe just clarify how many minutes, since when I questioned one of the locals after I was walking for over half an hour, he told me that it may be a kilometer but it depends on how fast I walk...if I walk slow, it might be more than a km!! The meals that Nancy cooked are nice, simple and huge! The breakfasts are basic and I cannot comment on lunches as we did not have these. The treehouse has two double beds. It is quite damp due to the humidity, and although they clean it, it is hard to get very clean as it is in a tree! I am very pedantic about cleanliness and I survived without a shower! However, there are a few things that are absolutely essential to take if you are staying there:

- torch and small battery powered lamp: if Fred does not turn on the generator, you will have no power; you will also need a torch for many things as there are barely any lights around the villages
- snacks: there are no shops close by and if Fred and Nancy are out, they cannot cook you food, so bring lots of snacks, incase you miss breakfast or lunch, otherwise you will have to find a nice mango tree!
- face wipes/hand sanitiser: it gets so humid and these are refreshing to have
- clean pillow case and sleeping sheet: The sheets on the bed may be clean but they don't feel clean and can be damp; it's best to have your own
- bottle of red/plastic cups: at least red wine doesn't have to be kept cold and it's so relaxing to sit on the balcony watching the volcano whilst having a nice red
- presents: it's really nice to bring the locals some small gifts from home as they really do not have much there. We brought some chocolates and lollies for the kids which we would throw to the out of the truck window and they loved this!

Other tips would be to not bring too much luggage as the steps up to the treehouse are very steep, bring fresh water (they do have a tank there with rainwater that you can drink too), and be prepared to be charged for every tour that you do even if you think they are just wanting to show you something for free - it's always best to find out how much things are beforehand because otherwise they will say they will just add it to the bill and present you with a big shock at the end!

Tanna has no sealed roads....so be prepared!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Naccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We are a french family with 2 children (13 and 11). We flow from France and stayed with Fred George and family for four nights because this place is unique and perfect to live with the volcano night and day : entrance is nearby (we climbed 3 times !), you hear the volcano rumbling better than any place, you see the smoke, explosions and the orange glow better than anywhere : if you are lucky to obtain the upperlevel treetop bungalow, you can enjoy the show from your bed and from the veranda.
Nancy is a good cooker and meal are gorgeous ! Fred is very helpful and available. To avoid any misunderstanding regarding the content and price of services or activities, always have a sincere and honest discussion before each service and activity. And Tanna Treetop lodge will be a stairway to heaven !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnatna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed with Fred George and family for one night and rate this stay and experience very highly. The Top Treehouse is basic but well built and gives you an "Avatar" type feeling perched very high above the ground with a stunning view up to Mt Yasur and the volcanoe's performance in sight and sound at night. The best place to stay on Tanna if the volcano experience is what you are coming for because you have the option of several attempts to visit the explosions at the crater several times a day, or a night. Fred was very accommodating and when we decided not to visit at dusk (too much cloud to see the crater according to others who had just come down from the mountain very dissapointed) Fred suggested we get up at 3.00am and he would take us up. We did this and had our best ever volvano experience. A must stay if you do n ot need a bath or shower in Tanna!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandTracy_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

If you are given the chance to stay near the volcano on Tanna Island, make sure you ask for the top tree house as it has a wonderful view of the volcano from the balcony. we can ever hear the volcano and see the red lava shooting from the volcano at night !
the cabin is high up !! that's pretty unique. it is simple and quite. be aware though; the commodities are shared and bare (a piece of trunk to sit on for the toilets and a bucket of water for the shower). it is clean and fine and it is part of the charm of this great place ! locals practice singing together every evening; make sure you ask to see them; it is great!
finally, beware of the bad roads (if you have a bad back sitting at the back of those Utes) and of the ashes of the volcano; if the wind blows in the wrong direction, it "rains" ashes!
Fred and Nancy are lovely and Nancy is a good cook.
as long as you are aware this destination is a little bit "off the beaten track" and simple, you will absolutely love it! Go there before too many tourists do !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julyp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed overnight in the treetop lodge recently and we were very impressed. From the very adventurous trip there, to the volcano itself to the wonderful accommodation.
The tree house is fantastic and view of the volcano from the balcony is not to be missed.
We will be going back for sure to visit Fred & Nancy and the others in their local village.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanna Island hotels
0 mi away
Volcano Island Paradise Bungalow
Volcano Island Paradise Bungalow
#4 of 30 in Tanna Island
43 reviews
0 mi away
Yasur View Bungalows
Yasur View Bungalows
#1 of 9 in Tanna Island
59 reviews
0 mi away
White Grass Ocean Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Friendly Beach
Friendly Beach
#3 of 4 in Tanna Island
30 reviews
0 mi away
Alofa Beach Bungalows
Alofa Beach Bungalows
#5 of 30 in Tanna Island
30 reviews
0 mi away
Tanna Lava View Bungalows
Tanna Lava View Bungalows
#13 of 30 in Tanna Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanna Tree Top Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanna Tree Top Lodge

Address: Loanengo Rd | Loanengo, Tanna Island, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Tanna Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Tanna Island
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing