We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and pretty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lonnoc Beach Bungalows
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet and pretty”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were the only guests at the time, so we had the whole place to ourselves and the staff were specifically catering for us.

How my boyfriend referred to this place was "luxury camping". If a luxury stay is your thing, this place isn't for you, but if "roughing it" for a bit is something you like, and you want a more local life experience, then this is it.

IN SHORT
------------
The good:
- Quiet and a good escape
- Friendly staff
- Nice beach
- Close to Champagne beach (5-10 min walk down the road or a short kyak around the point)
- Kyaks to use whenever and go wherever
- Restaurant food was made fresh and includes tasty, local cuisine

The bad:
- takes a while to get to from the airport
- hot water system wasn't working
- not bug proof
- bed not very comfortable. It had 3 foam mattresses on top of one another which made it too squishy. Removing a mattress helped a lot.
- restaurant menu choice can be a bit limiting when staying longer.


DETAILS
-------------
We originally booked their luxury suite, but as they are in the middle of upgrading, it wasn't finished on time, so we got a free fruit platter, wine and 20% off a tour to the blue hole - which we took them up on, and put up in their next best bungalow.

The staff were really friendly and Bob, who is the main transport man for tours and transfers, was very nice and would sit and chat to us during breakfast. He was awesome to us and very friendly. We liked him very much and recommend his services. He's happy to answer your questions and knows the nice places to show you. He even came for a swim in the blue hole with us. That was a fun day.

The bungalows are quite simple, though I did like their outdoor shower garden - it has a stone wall around it for your privacy. It was quite novel. A down side, their new hot water systems weren't working and they tried to get them fixed for us. But we didn't mind too much. It started working on our last day which was nice, but Wendy (night manager) did give us a discount for the lack of hot water.

They are working with NZ aid torurism to bring the standard of their facilities up, but that's still in works. As a result, the bungalows aren't bug proof yet, the back door way to the shower area has no door or screen. Mosquito nets are a MUST. We had brought out own to ensure it was hole-free though they do have them in the bungalows for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizsterine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The location is fantasic - Lonnoc Beach with Champagne Beach a 15 minute walk away. Don't expect luxury accommodation. We booked a family bungalow and were used to roughing it and had stayed in the Friendly Bungalows on Tanna previously. The family bunngalow was huge but lacking any character - it felt like a concrete toilet block with rooms partitioned off and a large central concrete floor . The mattresses were VERY thin with bed bugs, the mosquito nets had a lot of holes in, and the bungalow was very hot to sleep in with no fans or breeze. Even aftre totally covering ourselves with insext repellant we were all bitten a lot by Mosquitos whilst trying to sleep. Unfortunately, we arrived to find a large wedding group in the restaurant and pouring rain outside so we were confined to the bungalow. Wendy the manager was very friendly and the food was excellent, but we left after 2 nights rather than staying a 3rd - particularly as it was still pouring with rain. I think the singlel room bungalows may have a lot more character and if the sun was out we would have been happier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizWHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Me and my sister stayed 10 days at lonnoc beach bungalows and it was great, just relax and enjoy. The location is wonderful, the bungalows simpel but nobody need more! the beach is clean and calm. The food was very good, the staff lovely and Wendy the manger become to a sister of us. she always looked very good for us and want to make us happy all the time and she can organize everything. thanks for the good time wendy

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights at Lonnoc Beach Bungalows in December 2011, and it we couldn’t be happier with the choice.

Having read mixed reviews online, we were a little unsure of what to expect, but we quickly forgot about these fears when we arrived at Lonnoc.

It should go without saying that the first thing you notice when you arrive at Lonnoc is the beach. With it’s beautiful white sand, amazingly calm (it’s in a bay) clear blue waters, it is up there with one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen. You simply don’t get tired of looking at it. Thankfully each of the bungalows faces the beach and you’re never more than a 30 metre walk to the water’s edge, so it’s very easy to spend a lot of time admiring it.

In addition to the beach at Lonnoc, it’s a very short walk (10 mins maximum) to Champagne Beach which is another contender for best beach in the world. We spent a morning there lying in the perfectly blue water, the only ones on the beach (apart from a herd of cows and some pigs).

The second thing that really sticks about Lonnoc is the attentiveness of the hosts. The bungalows are run by a family from the local village and they all go out of their way to help out their guests. For us, this included making a bonfire for our dinner on the beach, taking us on a guided kayak tour around the bay to visit their family in the local village, making a necklace from one of the sea shells we found, and upgrading us to the newly-built honeymoon suite for no extra charge. In the words of one of our hosts, Daniel, they just want to you to be happy. It’s hard to no overstate it, but we were blown away every day by the kindness and graciousness of the locals – not just in Lonnoc, but everywhere on Santo.

We were also quite impressed with the food served at Lonnoc. While the menu wasn’t huge, the quality of the seafood was great and it’s hard to get sick of eating fresh lobster and coconut crab…If you do get sick of the food, there is another small restaurant on the way to Champagne Beach (it’s hard to miss, as it’s the only building on the way).

In terms of the accommodation, it’s true that Lonnoc does not offer the same as you will find in Western hotels. The mattresses aren’t great and the fly screens don’t stop everything getting through, but it’s hardly ‘roughing it’. We quite enjoyed sleeping somewhere a little different, but if you sleep under the mosquito net and light the mosquito coils you won’t have any issues.

There are also plenty of activities to do at Lonnoc, and we enjoyed snorkelling (you should bring your own gear), swimming, kayaking and even had a boat trip and picnic at the nearby Elephant Island.

Overall, our stay at Lonnoc was a great experience and we could have easily stayed longer. We thoroughly enjoyed going slightly off the beaten track and learning about the local culture. It’s a very relaxing place and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to escape for a few days.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the honeymoon suite - it has hot water and a nice outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beees255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

After staying 3 nights in Luganville ( for diving and visiting around ) we've decided to spend time in the north-west part. Lonnoc is really an IDYLLIC beach, much more pleasant - we thing- than Champagne Beach which one is smaller and absolutely isolated of all kind of businesses, Very friendly people in Lonnoc Beach Bungalows. So peaceful place and great food ( I'll remember this fish in coconut sauce for a while ! ). If you want, they can catch you directly from the airport. There is a new road for less than one year and the way is now about 30 mn; A really good address to relax yourself !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudineBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had called into Lonnoc in 2010 on our way to Champagne Beach (the neighbouring beach) – we had at the time what a neat place to stay. So 2011 came around and we booked in for 3 nights. Mum, Dad and 2 children 10 & 12. We were expecting no electricity in the bungalows – but delighted to have a fluro light at night from about 6pm til 9pm and then early morning – so good for re-charging batteries. We were fortunate to get a large family bungalow (currently there are 9 bungalows of varying sizes, with a honeymoon bungalow and more up market one ready for hire soon). This family run long standing bungalow is a great example of what can be done to increase tourism and income into the local economy. Daniel, one of the family and driver for the days we visited was excellent. Always happy to help out and was most accommodating to all the various groups who were staying at the time.

Snorkelling was very good in the bay – and kayaks available for hire to explore further. We saw one turtle. 2 of us went out with Paul (another family member) fishing in a group – really enjoyed by our 2. Over to Elephant island. Paul and another guest were spearfishing and the others tried handlines.

I had wanted to visit Port Orly and was definitely not disappointed. A must ½ day visit at a minimum. Now that the sealing of the road has been completed between Luganville and Port Orly, most tourists will visit I am sure. Now, I have that on my list of places to visit next time. Our son was keen to re-visit Matavulu, but we thought we’d run out of time for the day, but Daniel suggested we head to the closer blue hole – Nanda or Jackies Blue Hole – well worth the diversion back to Lonnoc. (We’d headed north to Orly, but ended up going south quite a way to get to the blue hole). See my separate review for this outstanding local attraction.

We had been warned by an ex-pat to take some nibbles, bottled water and coils for mosquitos. So we did. There are food storage boxes in the restaurant - just ask the owners (Wendy was in charge when we were there, and nothing was a bother for her to help us with). It is imperative that food is in a sealed box as there are rodents there. We didn’t find it a problem – you are afterall in a remote location. We used the bottle water, but all the water served in the restaurant is rainwater, and would have been just fine. We did use the mossie coils, as one of our lot is prone to getting eaten.

We usually like to donate school equipment when we travel to the pacific, so had supplies for a school. We asked if Daniel would call into a nearby school so we could make our donation. He obliged and the school principal was delighted to receive the stationery items. The visitors register indicated a lot of people (and governments from around the pacific, do the same as us). Library books were on their wish list – so if you are thinking about making a donation – that might be worth noting.

Breakfast was included in our nightly rate (we paid $520NZD for 3 nights for the 4 of us). Always plenty on the buffet. Lunches, dinners and a few tuskers for the 3 nights cost around 35,000 vatu. See photo of menu for idea on costs.

If buying a sim card – try Digicel as they seem to have better coverage across the islands we visited (Santo & Pele).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kiwilanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My family and I didn't stay here, but we spent 1/2 a day here including a lunch meal of coconut crab and really enjoyed the atmosphere, people, food and beach! What a location, being right next door to Champagne Beach. The Lonnoc Beach Bungalows themselves are on the grassed area just before lonnoc beach so it's only a short 10 - 20m walk and you're on the beach. We were shown through one of the rooms, with it's open air bathroom and beautiful main room it looked like a top place to stay and relax. The beach and water is amazing and appeared to have a bit of coral that would be great for snorkelling. The coconut crab was delicious. The only challenge at the time were the flies and keeping them from the crab. We managed and had a great meal. The bungalows are owned and run by the locals too and it seemed like a real family atmosphere.
My kids and I walked up the beach to see the natural spring water bubbling up from the sand at one end of the beach. Amazing!
Will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Santo. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.0 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 14 in Luganville
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lonnoc Beach Lodge
Lonnoc Beach Lodge
#9 of 16 in Espiritu Santo
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Paradise Bungalow
Little Paradise Bungalow
#2 of 14 in Luganville
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 10 in Luganville
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonnoc Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonnoc Beach Bungalows

Property: Lonnoc Beach Bungalows
Address: Lonnoc Beach | P.O. Box 190, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful North-East coast of Santo and surrounded by acres of rain forest, Lonnoc Beach Bungalows are a retreat into paradise. Whether you wish to relax on our perfect white beaches, snorkel reefs or tour local sites, Lonnoc will be a hard place to leave.- Voted 'Vanuatu's Best Island Bungalow' in 2007- Canoeing, snorkeling, turtle spotting- Tours to blue holes, villages, family farms and cultural activities- Restaurant and Bar overlooking beach- 6 Ocean View Bungalows; 2 Family Bungalows, 1 Dormitory, plus 2 Seafront Bungalows including a new Honeymoon Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lonnoc Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonnoc Beach Bungalows Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lonnoc Beach Bungalows Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing