We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall not bad, I enjoyed my stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overall not bad, I enjoyed my stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Lovely location under a series of rainforest trees and well kept gardens. Location pleasant and convenient enough but a way out of town. Bungalows passable but not that great, our flyscreen door didn't shut quite flush and the fan had 2 speeds, off and flat out. Pool colour varied from aqua to off-green. Food portions below average, slow serice and truly Australian prices, tried the swordfish one night and chewed by way through the overcooked piece. So much great local produce but not really taken advantage of. Drink prices ok. The fishing tour prices were wild, you can do better in town. The local tour companies all rip you off blind so get a hire car or a taxi/van if you can to see the island. 5% credit card fee a bit steep to end it all off. Passable but I'll check out somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philbert83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
This was a group of 12 persons travelling as a dive group along with non divers, our bungalows for a group booking include triple share single beds which are a different price point to our air conditioned bungalows. Noted the fan and screen door. The pool was closed at 9pm for cleaning process and the group swam in the pool once resort was closed on that night hence cleaning process did not work so the next day the pool did turn green until we could do the process again the follwoing night. For the meal prices are same as most cost at resorts in Vanuatu, are menu includes the local organic produce available in Santo. The tour operator are local run companies cost of overheads are be high on the islands, Our fishing charters are fully run with new and well maintained proffesional equipment, Shimano gear and we have a half day or fully day charters, and 2 different size vessels to catering for different groups sizes, thank ypu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
50
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

One of the four places we stayed at on Santo. Bungalows are small and below-average standard, food was average too. They organize diving trips but charge significantly more than diving companies in town (at least the one that we ended up using). All in all, would not recommend for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Our diving is more expensive to go to exclusive reefs or for boat dives and our shiore dives to Coolidge and million dollare point are the same cost as the other operators in town, The bungalows are standard size for a double / twin share . Our resturant has a good reputation for food and service not sure what happened here thank you for your commenta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a very comfortable place to stay in individual cottages with no TV but everything else you might want. Diving is very well catered for as is fishing. General tourism will get you out and about. People are friendly and interesting. Vanuatu is a rapidly developing country. Santos has so far escaped the concrete 'resorts' which mar places nearer to the international airport. Half an hour in a smallish plane will get you to Santos. The food is great and often the latest catch from a fishing trip. We loved it and will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwideva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with Coral Quays Resort, fresh fish ,ocean to plate the best if your catch of the day , hope to see you back again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A mate and I spent nine nights at Coral Quays on a recent bucket-list trip to Santo and could not speak highly enough of the hospitality we found there. By the end of our stay we began to feel like part of the furniture (in the best way possible). Phil and Charmaine are fantastic hosts and their staff were warm, polite and helpful. I had wondered about whether staying that far out of town would be a problem and I would say now categorically that it was not. If the bright lights of Luganville are your thing, then 300 VUV in a taxi should just about get you there.

The rooms are simple, spacious and well set-up for an island holiday. There are tea and coffee making facilities, the towels were changed daily and the linen was good. If you can, ask for a room with a view over the canal which we never got tired of.

The restaurant serves a wide range of carefully prepared dishes and has more than enough variety to suit almost every taste. There is a good supply of cold Tusker and Australian wines. A note on duty free - if you are on the international flight from SYD you can bring alcohol into Vanuatu - you just need to leave it airside as you pass through security in Vila.

Finally, a word about Michael and the fantastic operation at Absolute Adventures. There are larger, more established operators to dive with on Santo but I think you would be hard pressed to find a better level of service anywhere. Michael and his team came recommended to us and we would endorse that recommendation 100%. He and Vuti were knowledgeable and personable and offered a very bespoke level of service for the discerning diver. They are continuing to invest in facilities that will only get better with time. Perhaps the highlight of the diving was Michael's signature blue light tour of the wreck which was simply epic. Would also strongly recommend diving some of the reefs and wrecks that are on (and off) the list - you will not be disappointed. The Tui Tawaite in particular is a treat.

So to our new friends at Coral Quays, we would say tank yu tumas for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Get one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our dive operation and Micheal & the team along with the growth & standards we are achieving. hope to see you over in Santo again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went back to Santo to stay after visiting the Island on a cruise, we could not be happier with the choice of resort. Phil and Charmaine are the perfect hosts and their staff a credit to them, there was not a time where anything was any trouble. Although we didn't stay for the diving experience we understand this service is second to none. Santo will become a regular holiday destination for us and Coral Quays will be the only place we will stay. Cheers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at Coral Quays during a dive holiday. I was with a friend as part of a larger group. We booked this trip with Dive Adventures. A group of 8 divers and 2 non divers. 3 couples and 4 single guys.
On arrival we were greeted by Charmaine the owner and some of the staff. Keys and rooms were sorted while we sipped on fresh chilled coconut juice straight from the coconuts.
Rooms were individual huts screened from each other by gardens. Easy walking paths lead from the main areas to each hut. There was a lush tropical look and feel to the whole resort and it was quiet except for the early morning roosters.
Our room had 3 single beds and a shower facility. The beds were comfortable (but my pillows were a bit lumpy) and the room was cleaned daily.
Our room did not have air conditioning but we found that the large ceiling fan kept the room cool enough to allow us to sleep.
The lighting was minimal but considering how little time we spent in the rooms this proved not to be much of an issue. There were adequate power points which in this day and age with so many things to recharge is a lovely surprise. Not to have to go scrambling under beds and behind heavy things to find the single powerpoint was a big plus in our eyes.
Drying space for towels and swimmers outside the room was limited to a few hooks on the beam surrounding the roof. This was no use to me at all as I was unable to reach the hooks. My dive buddy made use of them though as at 6ft he was able to reach. ;-)
The pool was small but seeing we spent most of our day under the ocean diving this was not an issue. It was surrounded by a large deck with sun lounges and tables for those who wanted to lay by the pool and soak up the sun. Our 2 non diving members found heaps to fill in the time while we were diving.
Our group of 10 was given a large table in the dining area (outside but under cover) which was where we sat for all our meals.
Meals were delicious. The menu was extensive and I didn't have the same thing twice as there was so much to try. We ate out one night at another resort but the menu there was so limited that none of our group were impressed.
The meals were cooked to order and this was a little slow. Not normally an issue but when time between morning and afternoon dives was limited it was a minor problem.
Most of our diving was done with Allan Power Dive on the Coolidge but we did do an additional dive with Coral Quays dive and enjoyed the relaxing dive over the reef right out the front of the resort.
For a dive group we found that the drying facilities available were not really satisfactory as there was not enough room for us to hang all our gear to dry between dives or overnight. Perhaps if we had been using Coral Quays as the dive provider this would have been different. On the last day we were able to hang our gear individually and it was moved out into the sun to dry. So we packed dry gear for our trip home.
I had an enjoyable stay and would stay again when I visit Vanuatu in future. Charmaine made us all feel welcome and ensured that we had a wonderful stay at Coral Quays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have nothing to fault with Coral Quays & highly recommend it to anyone wanting a fantastic place to stay! Our hosts Charmaine & Phil have everything covered at their beautiful resort.
Only a short bus ride into the town of Luganville & we had no problems waiting for a bus to town.
The staff are very friendly & nothing was a problem. The food was amazing & we had no reason to leave the resort & eat elsewhere.We were very impressed with the diving & the team went above & beyond catering to our needs with high safety standards we didn't see elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
8.3 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
2.1 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort

Property: Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Address: Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Hotel Espiritu Santo
Coral Quays Fish And Dive Resort
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing