We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“steve s you are kidding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bokissa Private Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“steve s you are kidding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

After seven hectic days in Port Vila ,what a perfect way to wind down.Spent three of the most relaxing days ever.Communal dining, while different allowed us to meet some wonderful people.Drinks were at resort prices 500 vatu( $5 ) for a house wine,750 for a spirit.Meals were superb, Lobster mornay ( on steroids ) Santos Beef melted in the mouth ,freshest of fish ,tenderest of calamari , home made soup ,should I stop ???
I couldn't tell the difference between staff and owners as they looked like one big happy family .
Acommodation was basic ,but we spent too much time swimming, snorkelling ,fishing ,walking or sleeping on the hammocks ,dreading the next meal wondering how we would fit in such fine food.just a tip you need to take a torch can be dark making your way back to your room on a moonless night
Richard M

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    41
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
31
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently purchased a Holiday to Bokissa Island Resort and stayed there last week, I don't know where to start but it was not a luxury resort as they advertised and defiantly not in the top 50 as Getaway said 7-8 years ago more like the opposite, the food was sub average and the owners walk around dressed like the maintenance staff (except Dave)
the place was dirty, painted toilet seats in our room when you used the toilet pieces of paint would come off and stick to your skin not very hygienic at all, when the room was serviced they just rinsed our used glasses in the bathroom vanity and put them back in the fridge all the glasses in the bar were so dirty they haven't been washed for years, every thing you want to do is so expensive (drinks cost more than Crown Casino) the meals are when they tell you to eat not when you are hungry, and its communal dinning, we had a sleep as you do when on holiday and missed the lunch bell when we went to eat we had reheated leftovers. We got food poisoning and was so discussed in the place we paid $880 to the airline to get out on day 3.
So if you are into being told when to eat and outrages pricing this is for you.
on a good note the beach and water was beautiful

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travreps, Public Relations Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Steve, we are completely shocked at your review as at no time during your stay with us did you indicate there was any problems - to the contrary, you and your partner seemed happy and enjoying your stay. If the problems you are now mentioning had of been addressed at the time we may have been able to assist but you said nothing. We are very sorry you have returned with this opinion of our resort as you can see from other comments that it is the opposite to what you are describing. But we still provide our sincere apologies that your experience at Bokissa did not live up to your expectations.
Julie Ingles
Bokissa Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have spent 8 days at Bokissa and can strongly recommend this place for those who are looking for secluded, non-commercial place to relax and enjoy.
Accommodation – clean, proper, close to the beach and sea, simply - fully corresponds to your needs.
Owners and staff are very friendly, pleasant and helpful. Bokissa became our Home for this short time and very comfortable one.
Food was great, always fresh and tasty with the choice between fish or meat as a main course (next time it will be a dilemma – Santo beef or Bokissa Lobster – both are great)! Even if one would make a choice in blind without reading menu – there will be no regrets.
Sea is also great – no strong currents, plenty of water on low tide (which is not the case in many places with sallow banks). Bokissa is definitely perfect place for snorkeling (sometimes in a company of curious but shy dugongs) or scuba-diving. Time spend with a head in the water keeps you far away from working life troubles. Reef with colorful corals and all kinds of marine life is in a very good condition.
Definitely, very attractive place to come again and again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed one week in resort on this beutiful island were really satisfied by diving and relax on tropic nature. Villas of resort have nice design and terraces close to beach where you can seat at evening time look at sunset and a few to feed mosquitoes -). Selection in restaurant is not too big but everything has good quality and tasty. There is good pool and easy entrance to sea for swimming ans snoorkling.
Each day we had two or three dives and first dive was always to " President CC Colidge" wreck with deph up to 60 m. There are a lot of different world-famous wreck dive sites like "Million Dollars Point", "President CC Collige" and "Henry Bonneud" and nice reef.
Each Saturday staff organized Kava ceremony which was also interesting experiment.

Room Tip: All villas have a nice location and entrance to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Igor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was about our 8th trip to Bokissa Island in Vanuatu, and it was even better than before. It is the place to go to for complete unwinding and relaxation. Accommodation is great, food is fantastic, and the staff are friendly and accommodating. The water around the island is always crystal clear, but this time (maybe the time of year - April?) it was the clearest ever. The swimming pool is big enough for swimming laps if you want the exercise. We snorkeled a lot, directly out from our accommodation. It's fantastic to snorkel in these waters, watching beautiful tropical fish swimming in and out the colourful coral. The grounds of the island are beautifully maintained, and the rainforest walk is wonderful too. The photos tell the stories.

Room Tip: All accommodation is in the form of stand-alone fares (pronounced far-a) which is the Vanuatu name f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We went in Feb 2006 and again last April/May so this is well overdue. All the good things everyone else said + more. You end up forgetting what day it is. You are able to eat seperately or join your tables if you want to. Our previous trip we were all made to sit together which we weren't into so it is much better now. The food is great - lobster at 3 meals! Breakfast needs some tarting up. For my next trip I will pack some jams and my marmite. Drinks in the afternoon & evening. You can BYO at your rorm so don't forget your duty free. Take some extra pegs and washing powder etc if you want to wash your smalls. Kayaks are great, take steralising tablets for your snorkeling gear, in date sunscreen and reef shoes. We are planning our 3rd trip and if I could have my dream I would spend every holiday here. Sunday from Sydney you can get direct flights, Thursday goes via Melbourne so avoid that. No TV, no radio, no phones, no noise. BLISS! Jan, Dave, Alan and all their staff are great.

Room Tip: A room not too far from the main area. It gets very dark at night here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Spent 8 nights at Bokissa and was sad to leave. The place is sensational, very private with only a few other couples there. Fare was quite nice, nothing too special however had all that was needed. Location fantastic, only a few steps to the beach and then the most amazing snorkelling just off the beach, Food was amazing and very generous. Every meal was super delicious. Staff were lovely and very efficient. Would have been nice to see more Vanuatu culture as in tradditional meals and maybe entertainment/music instead of constant playing and replaying of the Eagles though! Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smallbyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espiritu Santo
0.0 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bokissa Private Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bokissa Private Island Resort

Property: Bokissa Private Island Resort
Address: PO Box 261 | Bokissa Island, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokissa Private Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bokissa Private Island Resort is a 30 minute fast boat ride from Luganville which is the main town in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. Bokissa is 16 absolute beachfront bungalows on a beautiful island of 175 acres of pristine beaches and tropical rainforest. Walk out of your bungalow onto the sand and into the water - straight off the beach snorkelling and just 10-20 minutes from world famous wreck and reef diving. Bokissa's tariff includes return airport transfers and all meals during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Bokissa Private Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bokissa Eco Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Bokissa Eco Island Santo
Bokissa Private Island Resort Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing