We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just relax”
Review of Champagne Beach

Champagne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just relax”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Grab a bottle of bubbly (or a couple of Tuskers) from the beach bar, sit in the water and pinch yourself. There is no better place to relax as far as my wife, kids and I are concerned. We absolutely loved Champagne Bay (Beach) and would go back in a heartbeat. The only problem I have with Champagne Bay is trying to explain the sand!!! On a blue sky day... Incredible.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    91
    24
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunburn revisited”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pristine sand and enough room for a private beach experience made this a fantastic day. Add to this crystal clear water and the opportunity to 'snorkel' the wonderfully colourful reef life through, this was a fantastic day. Only thing that stopped this being an excellent experience was the large piles of rubbish (burnt) and aluminium cans just back from the beach left by previous visitors. Rubbish disposal would appear to be an issue that Vanuatu hasn't quite come to grips with yet...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterview, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Champagne Beach - a must see”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were so impressed by Champagne beach, and nearby Tuwok bungalows, that we stayed for 10 days, and we were sad to leave. Champagne beach lives up to its reputation, and I would return in a flash. The snorkelling was good, and friends that we met were able to swim with several friendly turtles.

We have heard that there is a bat cave to the far right of the beach, which sounds amazing, however no one mentioned it to us during our stay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Stunning & isolated beautiful beach”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After landing in Espiritu Santo Island,the little hotel where i stayed near the main local market,arranged a nice van with a funny driver guide so me and my master diver buddy & traveling fellow started our way up to the most famous beach on this country...we stop so many times and the guide showed to us many small old bunkers and vestiges of warplanes...we had some lunch in a nice bungalows restaurant with a sandy beach in front.
We arrived to champagne beach and not one was there,empty!
So nice white sandy beach so we were swiming and the driver was taking a long siesta & suddenly few army trucks and one black car showed up after that we ended up swiming and talking with this friendly Big Old Man.
Driver waked up,we say good bye and we continue our way back to Luganville but we stop for a super fresh dive at the Blue Hole....amazing day we had!!
Before say good bye and thanks so much to the driver...i asked him Who was the old man we were swiming with? he said smilingly the President of Vanuatu (2010)
You should try this Island too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever visited. A bit of a taxi drive there (45 minutes and no sign posts) but definitely worth it. A visit to Santo isn't complete until Champagne beach has been snorkelled.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne Beach also viewed

Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
 
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 

Been to Champagne Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing