We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special, Idyllic & Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Champagne Beach

Champagne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Special, Idyllic & Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Champagne Beach is situated 50 kms from Luganville; turning right off the main road when you get to the village of Hog Harbor & driving about 5 minutes down a mud road (about a one hours drive in total).

You can get local transport from outside Unity Shell petrol station in Luganville, that leave at around 3pm & cost 300 VT pp, or pay the approx. 4,000 VT one way to hire a taxi or private transport.

Being on a two year work contract here, the area is my favourite one in Santo & I must have been there over a dozen times.

Often during the week, I have been the only one there & a crowd is considered over 10 people.

Of course it is different when the tourist boat comes in & disgorges its 100's of people on to the beach ... tip: check that the boat is not around before heading out (approx. once per month)

The sand is fine, white & soft & the water is to die for .... & the beach is surrounded by hills with deep green lush vegetation.

If you forget to bring water with you, on low tide you can walk to the far end of the beach & drink the fresh aquafied water pouring into the sea from the sand ... a first for me.

I am into long distance sea swimming, so I usually stay at Towoc Bungalows (ph: Janeth 678-5636173, which is the closet accommodation to Champagne Beach, which is basic but very clean & friendly & well priced at 2,500 per single bungalow, with breakfast, plus free entry to Champagne Beach) & swim the 1 km to Champagne beach & back again .... the swimming is great, & you get to experience the mix of aquafied water mixing with the warmer sea water as you get close to the beach.

The snorkling from the beach is interesting, but not great; but don't miss Champagne Beach.

Check out accommodation at ni-Vanuatu owned, either Towoc Bungalows (a 5 minute walk from the beach) or the larger & slightly more expensive Lonnoc Beach Resort (a 8 minute walk from the beach). I recommend both of them, to experience local, traditional, friendly accommodation, both set right on the beach (an easy/safe 2.4 km swim from Lonnoc Beach to Champagne Beach, return)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    91
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Champagne Beach is sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

it is in the middle of nowhere, so it is somewhat isolated, but extremely private and quiet,
the locals are just beautiful, and the water is clean and warm...

just remember to stock up on all your necessities BEFORE U leave Luganville...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One the best beaches I have seen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

On the day we visited the beach there were only 6 people there. The bay looked fantastic with white sand and clear blue water. It was set up for cruise ship visits with stalls and bars, it would be a pity to see a thousand or so people wandering around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Enchanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A definitely must see, no photos can capture the true magic of this stunning location; thanks to reviewers, we avoided the cruise ship day and had the beach to ourselves. The water was so warm and the visibility excellent. After a lengthy snorkel and swim we enjoyed a picnic lunch under a beautiful shady tree. It was so tranquil – the sea a lake with barely a ripple. We watched cows meander down onto the grassy area on the beach in the distance – they were coming to drink from a freshwater spring. Totally captivated by the serenity and picturesque scenery of this location.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank happy_vegemite_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid when a cruise ship achors off shore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I heard so much of this beautiful beach but visited on a day when a large cruise ship anchored just off shore and brought thousands of passengers on shore. There was no space to enjoy the beach and the beautiful natural environment of the beach could not be enjoyed due to the many people in the water and on the beach. It provides money to the locals but its certainly a place to avoid on cruise ship days otherwise I am sure that the crystal clear water and powder soft white sea sand can be much more appreciated. The thing for me that I loved about Santo was the unspoilt environment - so little accessible places left on earth to experience the natural environments. Please do not develop this beach it will spoil it for ever and ever.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karin007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne Beach also viewed

Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
 
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 

Been to Champagne Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing