We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it gets no better....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lope Lope Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
1 review
“it gets no better....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

No matter what I write about this place, I can do it no justice....Lope Lope Lodge must be experienced to fully understand all the Lodge and Santo offer..... My wife and I stayed for 6 nights at the lodge....wish it was 6 months...... Facilities are outstanding, no better situated xports bar in the world..... Plenty or as little to do at the lodge as you please; private blue hole an extra bonus.... The tours and guides organised by the lodge, equally amazing....Owners Ritana and Colin have created heaven on earth, and are great company on those late nights at the bar....Donna did a great job accomodating our often last minute requests....the locals who frequent the bar friendly to a fault......the staff......oh....the staff......colin and Ritana have created a family a lope lope that does not stop with the staff, but extends to guests..... Our very special thankyou too mas goes to....Rocky (amazing chef), Megan (runs the ranch), Sam, Walter and Andre (keepin the place beautiful and the rest), and finally the beautiful girls behind the bar......Bisend, Julie, Christine,Jeneane and Ammy......tahwee... We love and miss you..... Cant make it for new years (anyone that can should), be back soon though.... Jo and Paul

Room Tip: All amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hey Hey!

Every now and again you get these guests that not only appreciate what all our staff at Lope Lope do to make guests stay one to remember - they go one step further - these guests become friends... it makes the industry great to be in!!

Thanks a mill for the wonderful review - you had all the staff bouncing off the walls when your review was read to them... and, it makes our job easier as the next guests are treated even better :)

It was fun having you guys & good company just sitting around and chatting... Paul & Jo - you are welcome to enjoy Tuskers, Tequila's and Cocktails at Lope Lope anytime... my shout!

Cheers & enjoy the rest of the year... (maybe still see you a the NY Party)

Thanks again!

The Smiling Team
Ps. Aaahhh - i see you picked up some Bislama "tahwee" - well done!!! Bisend is a naughty girl, but we all love her to bits for her awesome energy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    21
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
113
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Lope Lope was fantastic! From the moment Donna picked us up at the airport we were treated wonderfully, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always friendly and welcoming.
Food was great - we tried nearly everything on Rocky's menu!
Our room was spacious and well laid out, a good king size bed, lovely outdoor garden shower, and water lapping at your doorstep... what more do you need.
If you are brave enough hire a little local taxi for the day (drive yourself) and explore the east coast. The Blue Holes and Champagne Beach are spectacular and not to be missed.
A perfect couples' retreat for those wanting to really relax. We will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hey Chris

Thanks for the review mate - appreciated by all... staff loved you guys, as you two were totally relaxed and so easy to pamper!

And yes - sometimes you have to be a bit brave, hire a small jam-jar and hit the road (albeit on the wrong side of the road for you guys)... it is a great way to explore the island and see more... & you are right - Champagne Beach is a top priority when here - glad you guys took the time to visit it!

Have a great week and once again, all the best with your new venture... you will do awesomely!

Cheers

The Crew at Lope Lope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Ni-Van staff at this resort are fantastic and the food is mouth watering.
Rocky, the chef, makes a mean hamburger and every dish we tasted was delicious.
We were disappointed with the continental breakfast, given the room price. The blue hole, although not a traditional blue hole, was lovely, and probably the highlight of this resort, along with the food and staff.
The coastline here is ho-hum at low tide, compared to Champagne Beach.
It was quiet here during our stay except when a cruise ship docked in Luganville. The rooms are well appointed but you need a torch to look in your luggage at night given the dim "mood" lighting.
But the room and deck were romantic, and if you want to chill out in privacy and eat great food, Lope Lope is for you.
If you prefer swimming in the ocean and great snorkelling, I'd suggest you look for an alternative location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Natora room, which was cheaper than the air conditioned room and close to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi There

Thank you for the review and highlighting a few things for us!

The Ni-Van staff and especially Rocky say thanks for the compliments! Besides using the best organic beef in our restaurant, Rocky uses his own recipe to make those great burgers - all pure beef and his "secret spices" - lol!

Continental Breakfasts... unfortunately we are at the mercy of what the locals bring to the markets to sell, hence at times a lack of one thing and an abundance of another. In saying so, we have already started our own veggie patch and now a small orchid to grow our own... just to keep ahead and make our guests happier.

Lighting in the bungalows was designed to be both Eco-friendly and to create a relaxed and romantic atmosphere. I am not sure why you needed a torch to look into your suitcase, as the spacious clothing cupboards have bright halogen lighting that can also be dimmed... either way, I will look into this - thanks for pointing it out.

Lastly, perhaps you were not pointed in the right direction in terms of snorkeling - our apologies for this & our mistake then. We do have fantastic reefs that have abundant and various fish life and coral where you in all likelihood will see turtles, rays and even dugongs swimming in the pools in front of us.

But, as per usual, we will take your comment and turn it into a great solution - we are now designing and mapping each reef (fish/type of coral, how far a walk/swim etc); printing and laminating for our guests. This will ensure better guest snorkeling experiences in the future.Thanks a mill.

Thanks again for your review, and happy travels!

The Lope Lope Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lope Lope is tucked away on the east side of Santo. It's a quiet little paradise where you can definitely relax and get away from it all!! We enjoyed everything about our stay and couldn't fault it. The staff are great. The food is excellent. You can do as much or as little as you like. We had a fantastic time ... so a very big thank you to all you at Lope Lope ... Rocky, Albertine, Lilian & Lucian – every single meal was delicious!! Christie, Julie, Jenina, Bissent & Susan – you all looked after us so well and made our trip so memorable. Donna - the biggest thank you to you for looking after us and our chats - hopefully our paths will cross again one day :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi There!

Well, rumor has it that you guys were "chilled & relaxed" :)! Thanks for the accurate review!!

The staff loved your review, spoke highly of you... and wish you all the best in your new venture - extending your day spa... mmm - you guys want to move over here and start one at Lope?

All the best in your travels!

Vanuatu Smiles from all our Staff...

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lope Lope Lodge was our favourite place to stay on our 12 day holiday in Vanuatu. Donna was incredibly accommodating, as were all staff during our stay. Christine, Julie, Bissent and Jenina were all so friendly and helpful it felt like we were staying with friends. Not only did they help organise our days for us, they also took the time to provide advice and 'mother' my partner when he became unwell with a stomach bug - who knew green coconuts were the cure! ;)

The room we stayed in was even better Than I had imagined and there are no words to describe the view (you need to see it). Everything in the room was clean and comfortable - a special thanks to the cleaning staff - Susan, Lidia and Nellie for keeping the rooms beautiful and supplying our fresh breakfast every day.

The food at Lope Lope is also amazing - and the poulet fish we had on the last night was unbelievable. Thanks Rocky, Albertine, Lilian and Lucian for keeping us well fed! Not only is the food great - the view and the atmosphere is so relaxing.

The horse riding with Megan was wonderful. It was so much fun to ride through the trees and onto the beach.

Everything about Lope Lope exceeded our expectations. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful stay and beautiful memories. We would love to come back again. Edwina and Brendan X

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Nakatumbul' bungalow - it was amazing. It is so secluded you actually forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Guys

Thanks for the great review - good to see appreciation for what our staff strive for... accurate and encouraging reviews like this certainly help us stay focused and other travelers informed of what to expect!

Lol... was good to see the smiles and laughter from the staff when your review was read out in the meeting with them (followed by hand clapping)... they obviously enjoyed looking after you as you did them (and mentioning their names)!

You guys were great!

And yes - green coconuts are the best - all natural and organic :) - fortunate we are...

Have a great time in India... and Bren - stay out of trouble mate!

Cheers and warm Lope Lope greetings from all our staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and i stayed at Lope Lope in April for approx one week. We loved it! The owners and staff were great. They were all very helpful and hospitable. We were able to find the things we wanted to do -kayakking, go fishing, hire a car and have a look around the island. The bungalows were beautiful and we didnt want for anything-it was already there! Vanuatu is truely a beautiful place and so are the people. Special thanks must go to the chef for cooking the fish we caught, Bissent and Christee for helping us in the right direction and for making us feel at home. J & D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skite81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi You Two!

Thanks a mill for the review... you guys were so relaxed and easy to please - thanks for the kind words to our staff!

Rocky (our chef) reckons you guys were "awesome" (his words) - did you offer him a job as your personal chef back home??? Ha ha...

Enjoy Sydney and see you back soon.

Cheers - from the whole team over here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lope Lope was a sensational place to stay with sweeping panoramic views of the sea and providing an experience which makes it the best pacific island stay near Australia ! we came in a family of four and hired 2 rooms which were absolutely fantastic ! Stayed in Santo for 4 days and 5 nights and it was the best ever time of the year to be there in the month of June with the lowest humidity and the best weather staying around 25 degrees ! Couldn't have asked for anything more...not to mention the friendliness of the staff including Donna, Christy, Jemina, Ronald who were extremely down to earth and helpful to cater to any needs that we have !.. really enjoyed doing sailing and kayaking which were a free amenity to use which staying in Lope which is a great bonus ! Waking upto the sunrays hitting your face and enjoying the sound of the sea waves raving the beach is music to the ears and a visual treat to the eyes in the morning ! Christy organised a friendly driver John for us who went out of his way to show us around Santo which was so very appreciable and fantastic ! Free laundry service and cleaning facilities are only some of the perks.There is even a shower fitted amongst a forest like enclave to take bath outside after coming straight from the beach. Food in the restaurant was good and it would be great to have more variety on a daily basis as specials. Santo is the best place to stay in vanuatu and Lope tops it all !! PERIOD ....IF you aint stayin in Lope, You are missing out BBBBBIG ! Thank you once again to all the staff and the crew behind the scenes for making our stay beyond FUNTABULOUS ! God Bless Lope Lope ! Three Cheers from Melbourne ;) and PS: WE WILL BE BACK SOON ! Ashwin Koshy

Room Tip: In winter months, rooms without AC are great.In summer its vice versa. The first lodge room is the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hey Guys!

How refreshing when our guests post reviews like this... simply "heart felt"!

The staff loved you to bits - and i see by your review you guys loved them too - big Vanuatu smiles as usual this end!

We will certainly see you again... and... passports are always good to have in our safe, but forget them there before you fly out?? Ha ha - you guys were just looking for an excuse not to leave Lope Lope, right?? - LOL!

You guys were fantastic - staff gave you a DTU award... (double thumbs up)!

Enjoy your travels - hope Melbourne was not too cold when you got back?

Cheers - from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.7 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#8 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Property: Lope Lope Lodge
Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 Hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, cultural tours, blue holes etc... All at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing