We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think we could be more relaxed!!”
Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lope Lope Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I don't think we could be more relaxed!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lope Lope is tucked away on the east side of Santo. It's a quiet little paradise where you can definitely relax and get away from it all!! We enjoyed everything about our stay and couldn't fault it. The staff are great. The food is excellent. You can do as much or as little as you like. We had a fantastic time ... so a very big thank you to all you at Lope Lope ... Rocky, Albertine, Lilian & Lucian – every single meal was delicious!! Christie, Julie, Jenina, Bissent & Susan – you all looked after us so well and made our trip so memorable. Donna - the biggest thank you to you for looking after us and our chats - hopefully our paths will cross again one day :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi There!

Well, rumor has it that you guys were "chilled & relaxed" :)! Thanks for the accurate review!!

The staff loved your review, spoke highly of you... and wish you all the best in your new venture - extending your day spa... mmm - you guys want to move over here and start one at Lope?

All the best in your travels!

Vanuatu Smiles from all our Staff...

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    21
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Young, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lope Lope Lodge was our favourite place to stay on our 12 day holiday in Vanuatu. Donna was incredibly accommodating, as were all staff during our stay. Christine, Julie, Bissent and Jenina were all so friendly and helpful it felt like we were staying with friends. Not only did they help organise our days for us, they also took the time to provide advice and 'mother' my partner when he became unwell with a stomach bug - who knew green coconuts were the cure! ;)

The room we stayed in was even better Than I had imagined and there are no words to describe the view (you need to see it). Everything in the room was clean and comfortable - a special thanks to the cleaning staff - Susan, Lidia and Nellie for keeping the rooms beautiful and supplying our fresh breakfast every day.

The food at Lope Lope is also amazing - and the poulet fish we had on the last night was unbelievable. Thanks Rocky, Albertine, Lilian and Lucian for keeping us well fed! Not only is the food great - the view and the atmosphere is so relaxing.

The horse riding with Megan was wonderful. It was so much fun to ride through the trees and onto the beach.

Everything about Lope Lope exceeded our expectations. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful stay and beautiful memories. We would love to come back again. Edwina and Brendan X

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Nakatumbul' bungalow - it was amazing. It is so secluded you actually forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Guys

Thanks for the great review - good to see appreciation for what our staff strive for... accurate and encouraging reviews like this certainly help us stay focused and other travelers informed of what to expect!

Lol... was good to see the smiles and laughter from the staff when your review was read out in the meeting with them (followed by hand clapping)... they obviously enjoyed looking after you as you did them (and mentioning their names)!

You guys were great!

And yes - green coconuts are the best - all natural and organic :) - fortunate we are...

Have a great time in India... and Bren - stay out of trouble mate!

Cheers and warm Lope Lope greetings from all our staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and i stayed at Lope Lope in April for approx one week. We loved it! The owners and staff were great. They were all very helpful and hospitable. We were able to find the things we wanted to do -kayakking, go fishing, hire a car and have a look around the island. The bungalows were beautiful and we didnt want for anything-it was already there! Vanuatu is truely a beautiful place and so are the people. Special thanks must go to the chef for cooking the fish we caught, Bissent and Christee for helping us in the right direction and for making us feel at home. J & D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skite81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi You Two!

Thanks a mill for the review... you guys were so relaxed and easy to please - thanks for the kind words to our staff!

Rocky (our chef) reckons you guys were "awesome" (his words) - did you offer him a job as your personal chef back home??? Ha ha...

Enjoy Sydney and see you back soon.

Cheers - from the whole team over here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lope Lope was a sensational place to stay with sweeping panoramic views of the sea and providing an experience which makes it the best pacific island stay near Australia ! we came in a family of four and hired 2 rooms which were absolutely fantastic ! Stayed in Santo for 4 days and 5 nights and it was the best ever time of the year to be there in the month of June with the lowest humidity and the best weather staying around 25 degrees ! Couldn't have asked for anything more...not to mention the friendliness of the staff including Donna, Christy, Jemina, Ronald who were extremely down to earth and helpful to cater to any needs that we have !.. really enjoyed doing sailing and kayaking which were a free amenity to use which staying in Lope which is a great bonus ! Waking upto the sunrays hitting your face and enjoying the sound of the sea waves raving the beach is music to the ears and a visual treat to the eyes in the morning ! Christy organised a friendly driver John for us who went out of his way to show us around Santo which was so very appreciable and fantastic ! Free laundry service and cleaning facilities are only some of the perks.There is even a shower fitted amongst a forest like enclave to take bath outside after coming straight from the beach. Food in the restaurant was good and it would be great to have more variety on a daily basis as specials. Santo is the best place to stay in vanuatu and Lope tops it all !! PERIOD ....IF you aint stayin in Lope, You are missing out BBBBBIG ! Thank you once again to all the staff and the crew behind the scenes for making our stay beyond FUNTABULOUS ! God Bless Lope Lope ! Three Cheers from Melbourne ;) and PS: WE WILL BE BACK SOON ! Ashwin Koshy

Room Tip: In winter months, rooms without AC are great.In summer its vice versa. The first lodge room is the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hey Guys!

How refreshing when our guests post reviews like this... simply "heart felt"!

The staff loved you to bits - and i see by your review you guys loved them too - big Vanuatu smiles as usual this end!

We will certainly see you again... and... passports are always good to have in our safe, but forget them there before you fly out?? Ha ha - you guys were just looking for an excuse not to leave Lope Lope, right?? - LOL!

You guys were fantastic - staff gave you a DTU award... (double thumbs up)!

Enjoy your travels - hope Melbourne was not too cold when you got back?

Cheers - from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lope Lope was our answered prayer. We had booked at Ratua Private Island and decided that after spending 5 mins there that the Island was not for us. Late at night with little reception or Internet functions we sent an SOS txt to friend back home for help in finding accommodation in Santo for the 3 nights that we had left on out honeymoon. All 4 of them came back with Lope Lope. After some txt communication with the manager in the morning ( On her DAY OFF mind you) we were able to secure a room and transfers all at short notice. Thank you Donna, you saved our honeymoon.
After what was a pretty stressful experience getting to Lope Lope was a god sent. The staff are amazing, the food devine, the Of your coconut buckets lethal, and the view breathtaking.

Lope Lope is situated about a 15-20 drive out of town on a sealed road. The resort has 4 bunglows that have their own private entrance and private beach. I cried when we saw our rooms, as this was what we thought we were booking at Ratua. It was everything we could have hoped for and so so so much more.

The room was MASSIVE with a beautiful big living room. The king bed looks out to the ocean which is beautiful to wake up to. There is so much storage space for all your things. A safe and access to Wifi etc. The bathroom is also massive with a lovely bathroom and amazing outdoor shower. The best part is that the rooms at 100% mossie free!! BONUS!!

The deck out the front of the room leads straight onto you private beach. My husband and I took great delight in sitting of an evening and watching the crabs fight for territory. We called it crab hour and we laugh about it all the time.

Breakfast is given to you the night before and consists of toast, jams, spreads, OJ, Milk, coffee and fresh fruit with you can eat in your room and then if you choose hot brekkie is served in the bar from 10am. The girls will bring it in at night while you are at dinner and Susan ( house keeper) will come and tidy it all up for you in the morning. Thanks Susan :)

Bisend, Julie, Chrissy and Jenina ( the lovely and ever helpful bar staff) will help you organise and tours or transfer that you may wish to do. And im our cases most of the time at short notice. I MASSIVE thankyou to Beesy for all your help organinsg our Champagne beach tour, and our diving tour. You are truly amazing and you made our holiday so special. Something that we will never forget.

The Slipway inn is a local nightspot on Friday which goes off with Ex pats. Quite the place to be.
We loved the food that we ate. The kitchen staff were amazing. Thanks to the chef Rocky and cooks Lilian, Albertine and Lucy for the amazing food. Im pretty sure this is where I may have picked up the sneaky 5kgs I put on :)

Massive thanks to Megan for the amazing horse riding experience. Megan took me on a wonderful horse ride up the mountain and through the forest and onto the beach right in front of our room. Was unforgettable. Megan is such a lovely and warm person that we found ourselves chit chatting like old school buddies in no time! The horses live on the property and are allowed to roam around at will. On our very last day as we were laying in bed watching the sun rise they all ran past and played in the water in front of room, and we were in awe of the beautiful place that we were very privileged to have stayed.

The Team at Lope Lope certainly made Chris and I feel extremely welcome and nothing was EVER an trouble at all. We had the most amazing time and really felt that when we said goodbye that we were saying good by to family. We will absolutely be back.. and maybe next time with a little bambino ( beesy - that should make you laugh :))

Room Tip: Any ! They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Guys!

What a "true reflection" review you guys have posted... thanks a mill!

Reviews are what inform other travelers as to what expect, and yours was 10/10... lol - you should consider writing "critic reports" - well said!

Thanks for mentioning all the staff names in what they did and how they made your stay special... as I have said before - they absolutely thrive on it - in this country, their job at Lope Lope is their ultimate pride!

Donna has shown your guys review to them all, and you would have been bowled over by their responsive smiles and tears of joy - they have succeeded and because of your review, acknowledged online - something they so so so enjoy and love!

A special note on Bissy - "she is beaming!"

It was an absolute pleasure to make your honeymoon special... now can you get on with it and bring the bambino back for a visit?!

Cheers - safe and lovely travels to you two...

From all of us here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Thanks Megan for a wonderful horse riding experience. Loved every minute of it and would do it again. I came with my husband and 2 friends and we did the experienced track. And what a diverse track it was. From the farms, to the gorgeous views, through the trees and crystal clear stream, then out to the beach. I didn't want it to end and could have gone longer. My horse Whiskey was wonderful. I'd recommend doing this for everyone who wants to go horse riding on Santo. I'm not an experienced rider, but felt safe as Megan will give you a horse suited to you, so it's all good.

The only tip I'd give is to take cash as there is no credit card facility.

Thanks again Megan. Had a great time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pandagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Christine,

Thank you for the fantastic review, it was a pleasure to have 4 confident horse riders for a change (even thou you guys under estimated your ability lol)!

It is always refreshing to hear feedback on my horse trails and know that all the boxes were ticked ,Thank you for that.... I hope you got the most out of the rest of your holiday in Santo ,and look forward to our paths crossing again....

Cheers
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Lope Lope Adventure Lodge very much. Especially the location of this lovely little resort is very beautiful. The horses coming to graze next to our bungalow were amazing and the proximity of the beautiful blue hole was also fantastic. The staff were very friendly with authentic Vanuatu smiles - thankyou for looking after us - we had a great time!

Room Tip: Bungalow on the edge of the resort, closest to the Blue Hole - quiet, peaceful and just lovely
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Guys

Was great having you... thanks a mill for the review!

As per usual we have shown our staff and it created many (as you put it) "Big Authentic Vanuatu Smiles" - they love the feedback from guests!

As per your room tip - yes that is a special bungalow... and for any other guests looking to book it, especially honeymooners, it is called the "Nakatambul"; a name derived from the beautiful local timber used in all our bungalows.

Safe travels and see you guys back some day!

Cheers

From all of us here in paradise - one we call our own!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.7 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
168 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Luganville
112 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Property: Lope Lope Lodge
Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 Hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, cultural tours, blue holes etc... All at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing