We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seeking adventure?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tetepare Island Eco-lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Seeking adventure?”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We wanted to visit this island because it was not your usual run of the mill resort, and its remoteness and rustic nature appealed. The boat trips to and from the island were a bit of a challenge (see below) however we were glad we chose to stay there. The island is covered in lovely rainforest, full of birdlife (surprisingly many species the same or similar to Australia), and lizards, while the surrounding waters teem with reef fish, black tip reef sharks, dugongs (though sadly we didn't see any), and turtles. Great snorkelling (despite some damage to the coral from tsunamis). The weather was against us and we only stayed 2 nights so didn't get to see as much as we had hoped. The room was very comfortable with queen sized bed, mosquito net, and covered waterproof deck, we didn't mind the rainwater showers or outdoor toilet, and the food was not bad. If you are after luxury, forget it, but if you like adventure this is the place for you. However DON'T try to go to the Wilderness Lodge directly from here - if the seas are at all rough (as they were for us), you would be in for a 4 hour plus boat ride in rough seas - very very unpleasant in the wooden long boat, sitting on hard wood bench seats. The 2.5 hour boat ride to Tetepare from Munda was long enough (and we are seasoned boaties). Don't recommend taking young kids or elderly people here for that reason. We were not impressed with our travel agent Go Tours as they provided no information whatsoever about the boat trips - had we known we may still have visited both Tetepare and Wilderness but in a different order. Glad we went nevertheless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The island is indeed a true gem and accommodation and staff were above expectations! All said about the beauty of this place is true. 90 minutes transfer with a speedboat. Lush emerald jungle straight into the deep blue. Jumping spinner dolphins next to the boat, a rainbow above Tetepare. Stayed here 4 nights.

Staff is ready for you 24/7. Listening to your preferences, genuinely friendly and service minded. Great local dishes made by cook Lilly. All staff is from the small villages of neighboring island Rendova. They are happy to guide you to there; experience local life in a place kept away from western influence, visit the basic school. Catching tuna on your way back and preparing it for dinner.

Definitely not cheap to go there but worth every penny if you look for a remote adventure. I was the only guest which is a special experience on it's own. Snorkling at a deep blue drop off, in the lagoon with the resident black tip reef sharks (if you set foot on the jetty or beach they will greet you;). The shallow reefs are recovering from the 2007 tsunami, fish are still abundant. All primary rainforest, except for a small patch of secondary rainforest (left plantation 20y ago).

Peddling the dug-out-boat off the lagoon into the blue and sliding into the water; Schooling bumphead parrot fish, turtles, juvenile stingrays in the lagoon, white tips and grey reefs at the drop offs. Walking through the primary rainforest, searching for salt water crocodiles at the 'Crocodile Lake'.

Don't expect a luxury resort. The place is sustainable. Rainwater for showers, working solar electricity including batteries, the mosquito nets are in good order. Contact about booking went smooth, but take some time for it to get everything clear. Internet in Munda in general is quite poor.

What do you need more? I just missed the leatherback turtles, but they are arriving now.... so go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prins8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I were to join our adult daughter on Tetepare for six days. However due to a double booking we spent three days.
The natural wonders of Tetepare Island are clearly wonderful.
Swimming on coral reefs, hopefully coming across a Dugong (as we did). Joining the rangers as they catch and tag turtles. Lush rainforest walks with amazing Flora and Fauna. We did all this and it was great. HOWEVER the staff were difficult. They were hard to engage and had to be "found" when ever we wanted to get something organized. When we did request an activity we found it difficult to relate to the guides. As an example. We wanted to go on a 7km walk which was to end with lunch on the beach provided by the boat which was to rendez-vous with us. We would then travel to a swimming spot and maybe see some dolphins. The three of us were joined by the only other people at the eco lodge. Five young female medical students from London. This walk was to take 3-4 hours. After five and a half hours we made it to the beach. Some of us were pretty mad by now. We really were not prepared for this sort of hike. Not much water or food! Then we were told the boat could not come ashore with any lunch and we had to swim out to the boat. This was about 100 meters through the breakers. Not to mention the rather dicey loose rocks to negotiate before the swim. We did all make it but it could have ended up with serious injury to any of us. We finally made it back to the lodge at 6.oopm for "lunch". This was not the way to run a establishment. Even in the wilderness.
The food was not to bad but disappointing . Can you believe they served canned tuna.
There were holes in the mossy net which was a source of some discomfort. I don't want to come across as to negative but I think my rating of average is accurate.
As I mentioned at the start we spent three days at Tetepare . On the way there we spent three days on the island of Rendova at the Titiru Eco Lodge. This was the complete opposite of Tetepare for service. The staff gave us a 5 star experience.
The layout of the resort is similar to Tetepare with basic huts and toilet /washing facilities.
But it was much cleaner. The bedding was better (no holes) and there was solar lamps at night for our rooms. There was also naked flame lanterns on the walk ways which provided light and a really cool ambiance.
We were able to choose from several activities such as snorkeling on excellent coral reefs.
Much better that Tetepare. (Bring your own mask). Brilliant fish life. Easy access to mangrove lagoon in native dugouts. Visit the nearby village and meet some beautiful people doing there thing. It was quite a treat for the locals to have us visit. They were curious and showed us a rather extensive cave. (plenty of bats). Local freshwater eels. Trees full of flying foxes!
Also had the chance to purchase the best wood carvings that we saw in the Solomons. Direct from the artist. We went fishing with some locals and caught heaps of small sardine sized fish using a fantastic local method. We then ate the fish. Which brings me to the food.
The food was basic but really good. We ate very fresh food. Plenty of fruit and vegetables and plenty of "fresh" fish. People would just show up with freshly caught fish. We also had plenty of water and juice available. But the amazing thing was we were presented with fresh coconut to drink all the time. The heat and humidity can really effect you so the coconut was always welcome.
The other amazing thing about the whole experience was the cost. We payed the same daily rate as at Tetepare for accommodation and food. However all the activities were included.
We only paid a little fuel cost when using a boat on one occasion. There was also just the right amount of helpful staff available to assist you with any issue. My wife and I went swimming with on of the guys and the whole time we were in the water another guy was on shore keeping an eye on us. It was the opposite of the slack behaviour on Tetepare. All the staff made our stay a very special holiday for us.
On two of the nights we were there, the local village people came to the lodge to entertain us. First night we had about a dozen children sing and dance in costume. Second night we had a really amazing group of singers with guitars and a unique bamboo instrument play a concert.
I work in the music industry in Australia and have seen a lot of professional acts in my time.
These guys were really good and totally unexpected.
Anyway I could go on about our short stay with these great people but I need to stop now.
The main point I would make is this.
If you are near Gizo or Munda or intend to travel to Tetepare you simply must vist Titiru Eco Resort on Rendova. They do not have a website but you can get in touch via the following email address. The main Host is Kilo Paza reach him on kilo_paza@yahoo.com.au
OR titiruecoresort@gmail.com OR facebook titiruecolodge. OR I am happy to explain how to book and get there. Contact me at nicsoma@grapevine.com.au

Room Tip: All rooms are the same really. This is the quitest place you will ever stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PHIL M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 7 nighs/8 days. Tetepare is the last primary rainforest (unlogged island) in the Solomons, and with it's marine protected area it is an incredible place for a wild experience. We saw turtles (including leatherbacks laying eggs & their hatchlings), dugongs, crocs, megapodes, monitor lizards, and a plethoro of other terrestrial & aquatic creatures.

Tetepare is run by the local community, with some permanent staff but mostly a rotating roster of guides, cooks, rangers, etc. Being community run, it provides an income for local communities (mostly on the neighboring Rendova island) which protects the island from logging and other destructive activities that would other wise be attractive income sources. Staying here preserves a very rare part of the world.

If you are considering staying here, you should be aware of some things already:

1. Communication with them via email is slow - be patient and book in advance. If you're already in the Solomons, call them instead.

2. It's an eco-lodge, not a resort. Accommodation is simple and comfortable. Toilets and showers are shared and clean, with fresh rainwater (cold- hot is definitely not needed). Solar lighting is only available in the eatery/main building. The website says there is no battery charging available, but it may be possible now.

2. Staff are locals and friendly, not necessarily outgoing. You will be assigned a guide (Nelson was ours - great guy) who can help you organise activities. Read the booklets in your room for details of tour options and local customs. Sometimes it's hard to determine what activities are available and the prices - be prepared to ask questions and listen for the answer. Things can work on island time. Remember that the staff are locally trained - not internationally trained tour specialists. This is intentional, so as to provide an income for locals from the island sustainably, thereby protecting Tetepare from the fate of many other islands. It also makes it unique.

The eatery is a great place to make friends with other guests. It's helpful to exchange stories with those who have stayed longer than you, to learn about what's good to see/do. If you're lucky enough to have Margaret & Salome cook for you you'll be well fed!

We met so many great people there, and had a great time. If wildlife experiences are on your travel list, make sure you visit Tetepare!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank global_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tetpare was interesting though not very comfortable with respect to beds and being bitten by mosquitoes, as the nets all had holes in them. The snorkeling wasn't as good as Wilderness or Uepi.
Be prepared with a torch ( no lights in leaf huts) and walking shoes. We were glad we wern't there for more than 3 days as activity options are fairly limited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Tetepare is not for the feint hearted but if you want a unique experience and are prepared for adventure with clean, basic facilities then Tetepare is definately worth a search. This is an opportunity to help conserve a region while thoroughly enjoying yourself at the same time. Read about it then consider your feelings about a chance to stand up and be counted, to make a difference in the world. The activities are amazing. We swam with turtles,dugongs, hundreds and hundreds of different fish species, we took part in the Coconut Crab monitoring scheme, saw schools of Spinner Dolphins, crocodiles, monitor lizards, megapods, many rare birds, had lunch on a remote island and visited a local village. By sharing all meal times with other guests we made interesting new friends and were fortunate to be a part of an impromptu concert put on by the Staff to celebrate a surprise engagement. One slight hiccup is the food which is extremely basic, next time I will supplement with some nuts, dried fruit, muesli bars. I thought the food was boring, lacking taste and very bland. On the last night lovely Mary (a local) told us about some customs and kept us entertained with old stories and legends, whileToumi her husband was a marvel when explaining local bush medicines. All in all we were sad to leave and hope to return one day. If you have any queries, I am happy to help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jt2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Incredible experience, the two hour boat ride from Munda is an experience in itself! Upon arrival we were helped to our room - basic accommodation with no electricity (however, this was expected). Went out snorkelling, with lots of sharks, turtles, bump-headed parrot fish and pretty much every other underwater sea life you can think of (except dugongs, they proved elusive). The walk to Crocodile Lake is well worth it, as is the visit to the Bat Cave (thought not if you're claustrophobic!) . The food is basic, whatever they can get at the markets, but very nice. Need a minimum of 4 days to really enjoy it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trueman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munda
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tetepare Island Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tetepare Island Eco-lodge

Property: Tetepare Island Eco-lodge
Address: P.O.Box 131, Munda, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Munda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tetepare Island Eco-Lodge Solomon Islands/Munda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing