We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended when staying in Tonga”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We came to Tonga to swim with whales and discovered a hidden gem, Reef Resort. We absolutely loved everything about this Resort! Josef and Renate took care of all our needs. Our fale was beautiful with fabulous views, a spacious bathroom and mosquitoes were not a problem. And.... the food was to die for! Absolutely the Best lobster we ever had and really EVERYTHING he made was amazing! Really wish we could have stayed longer. The other resort we stayed had beautiful views but could not compare with all that Reef Resort has to offer. We most definitely want to return! Best trip ever!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I came to stay at The Reef for six nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. Josef and Renate run a wonderful small intimate resort nestled on the edge of an aquamarine bay. The weather was pretty awful but we were so well looked after that we didn't care! These two ultra professionals know how to make your holiday memorable. The hospitality makes you feel like royalty and the food is sublime. It is like being in a little European oasis in the middle of the Pacific. We dined of lobster, bugs, fish and beef plus other gorgeous morsels over the week. Josef, an ex Hilton chef is adept at marrying local cuisine with a classical flair. You will not be disappointed! Our fale was perched on the hilltop with fabulous views, a four poster bed, huge bathroom and lovely touches like fresh flowers, ground coffee and a stocked bar. While here we did get to do a whale swim with Phil Smith's Whales in the wild and had the most incredible day getting up close and personal with a mum and calf. The lunch on a wee deserted island and snorkelling at a couple of reefs made the day perfect all round. They also pick up from the Reef so it was very easy. I hope we can come back one day... Tonga has surprised us yet again. What a hidden gem in the middle of the Pacific.

Room Tip: They all look fabulous... We were privileged to be in the newest fale on the top of the hill... It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

In fact, there is hardly anything to add to the reviews of the other guests. It's simply great there. If you are looking for a quiet place with a top standard accommodation (not to forget, it's located on a remote island!) and great food, than this is the right place to stay! If you miss bars and permanent internet access, then look somewhere else. Renate and Josef are perfect hosts and take individual care for their guests. The island is lovely, nice and calm beaches, small village nearby with very friendly people. Don't miss the Sunday morning mess in one of the churches or one of the evening entertainments in the village. The local people are happy to welcome guests to their events and it's also a great intercultural experience. Canoes are available in the resort for individual trips and Renate and Josef have all the tips available to guarantee an enjoyable stay. Of course whale watching, diving, fishing can also be arranged, pick up directly at the resort. Also the whole organization of the airport transfers has just been perfect. Hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Josef and Renate are truly perfect hosts. From their greeting your arrival at the wharf through to making sure everything is perfect for your stay. The resort is nicely appointed with comfortable fales that are clean and modern. Reef Resort will not disappoint. It doesn't have as nicer beach on its doorstep compared to other beach resorts but the snorkelling out front is fantastic. There is a nice beach about 10-15 minutes walk from the resort. Mosquitos weren't a big issue while we stayed. Josef is a brilliant chef and the food is beautiful. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Knowing about Josef and Renate's background and link with Fafa Island, we were confident we would be in for a great 7 nights stay at the Reef. However, we underestimated how amazing and simply sensational our time on Kapa Island would be. Josef and Renate are the perfect hosts and catered to our every need. With the luxury of having the place to just ourselves and the family we were travelling with, we made the most of the spacious dining/lounge area, huge deck to relax on and the staff's undivided attention. The food was exquisite and Josef's passion and talent for cooking showed through in the flavours and presentation of every meal. Thanks Josef, Renate and Leti for a more than memorable time with you. The memories we will take from our stay with you will be with us forever and we look forward to returning again to your piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our stay at Reef was honestly amazing I was lucky enough for my boyfriend to propose to me on our first night there and it was a magical place to do it!
Josef and Renate are the nicest most accommodating people you could imagine! The food was fantastic, the rooms gorgeous and clean and modern (hard to come by in Tonga sometimes) and the location truly gorgeous. Waking up on a Sunday morning to the sound of the church bells and singing was blissful.
I couldn't praise it more and we will definitely be coming back. Word of advise book a whale swim while you are there it was the most thrilling experience of my life being in the water with wild humpback whales, speak to Phil Smith from Whales in the Wild!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I really can't put into words how fantastic this place is. If you take the time to travel to Vavau, which can be no small feat, then Reef Resort is a must. It is only a 10 minute boat ride from the mainland and a 15 minute drive from town and Josef and Renate have are reliable driver who will meet you off the boat and take you where ever you want to go. Once on Kapa Island and at the resort you won't want to leave. There are only 4 fales which are superbly appointed so you feel immediately special because it is quiet. The resort is right next to the Otea village and staff from the village assist Josef and Renate and are all worth their weight in gold. Josef and Renate are hosts that you dream about but never find. Each day they would design the menu for the evening for the adults...3 stunning courses and also plan for the children taking into account their specific needs. We were even able to take our own wine. I thoroughly recommend the meal plan which you can pay in advance before you go. Honestly I could carry on for ever raving about Reef and Josef and Renate. Please put them on your MUST VISIT list but book early

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neiafu hotels
5 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
112 reviews
3.1 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
64 reviews
2 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Neiafu
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 10 in Neiafu
253 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Flying Annie Moa
#4 of 7 in Neiafu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Address: Kapa Island | Private Bag 11, Neiafu, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Neiafu
Price Range: $232 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort is a wonderful, boutique resort located on a tranquil island in beautiful Vava'u. The resort has four stunning bungalows (fales) each with air conditioning, private decks, walk-in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, refrigerator and the most amazing sea views. Finished to a high standard with tasteful furnishings and a modern feel, The crystal clear waters provide brilliant snorkelling and one of the best snorkelling spots in Vava'u, the Japanese Gardens, is just off the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Resort Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing