We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Experiences.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treasure Island Eueiki Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neiafu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treasure Island Eueiki Eco Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Neiafu
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Experiences.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had the best whale experience staying in this resort. Mark, Veronica and the team were great. Me and my wife never thought we would get so close to the whales but Mark guiding the boat gave us the swim of our lives. No more than a metre fom a curious calf. The Island its self is beautiful. Nice soft sand, aqua blue water and a great reef surrounding perfect for snorkeling. The accomodation and food, we have no complaints. 3 meals a day and 3 courses for dinner, was never left hungry. Its an Eco-resort so you will give up things like water pressure and air conditioning but with the breeze at night and the beautiful sea water, who cares. We highly recommend to stay here if your looking for the whale swimming experience, its perfectly located in the channels where the whales play so your already amongst the action. Their dog will let you know when to keep your eyes open for the passing whales. We had a lot of fun staying here and we were left with great memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed on this magical island for 4 days (which was not nearly enough) with our 2 sons, ages 8 and 10. After the first day, one cannot help but be absorbed into the magical relaxation that is Euaiki island. The sand is the softest I have ever seen and the off shore snorkeling is the best we found in Tonga. There is a wonderful walk around the island (takes at least an hour) where we could see more many little sea creatures (starfish, crabs, shells) plus explore caves and look for flying fox bats. This was a great exploration with the children and we did it almost every day. At night, it gets really dark and you can see the most amazing stars.

The food was really delicious. My children have a bunch of food allergies and restrictions and the staff gladly accommodated them with delicious food every day. The staff was really sweet and friendly and gave off a warm feeling. Made it so pleasant. The owner Mark told great stories at dinner which my older son couldn't get enough of. The atmosphere of the place makes all the guests get to know each other in a nice way, especially after whale swimming or the evening bonfires. There is a friendly dog on the property that barks when a whale shows up. We had a whale come to breakfast one day and everyone was standing on the beach with their coffee cups. And they serve good coffee, too.

Since the electricity is limited, I would suggest that guests bring limited electronic equipment and show up with all the camera batteries charged. It is possible to charge things in the kitchen area after lunch. Also, bring a flashlight if you don't like sleeping in complete darkness.

This is more of a couples resort than a family resort, which we didn't know when we booked, but the children were made to feel completely welcome and had a fabulous time; as did my husband and I.

The only bad thing about Euaiki was leaving, not just the beautiful property but the friends we made during our brief stay. If I lived closer, I would return again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boysmomNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The island itself and surrounds are lovely.Nice reef and neighboring islands However this is no Eco resort, more like an over priced hobby resort for the owner who was far too present mostly yapping loudly on his mobile phone during my stay( infact had taken up residence in one of the Fales).The Fales themselves are home built shacks with very poor facilities(dribble gas warm water shower, lumpy damp mattress,single towel for 4 day stay, erratic half hearted 'servicing' of Fales- sure that's not what you go for, but to charge T$400 per night for this is outrageous.
Not sure what happened to the chef whilst I was there, but it seemed food was in short supply and could only be described as a lazy effort fro the kitchen and very overpriced at T$150 /day.Fresh fish once in 4 days and pork all the way from NZ (where was the local pork??).
The only ECO I could find was some inadequately functioning solar panels.
The owner seemed to have no knowledge or interest in the local island flora or fauna, only whales(which you could go watch with him for an extra T$300......)
In short, I think the owner is funding his own lifestyle with a hobby resort.
On a slightly more serious note also , some money went missing from my wallet too.So dont take alot of cash.Gives you no choice but to cough up the extra 5% on any credit card...
A shame, because its a nice place, just very overpriced and definitely not an 'eco-resort'

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 255060Mary37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Euaiki was sweet paradise. We were even lucky enough to be the only ones there for a day or two...alone on a pacific island, an absolute dream come true. Mark and Veronica were so sweet and kind, and their Tongan staff were also. They all were so happy. One of the staff even took us for a canoe trip over to the princess island, where he'd crack open a fresh coconut with his machete for us when we got thirsty. It was simply an amazing experience. He did it for nothing...but we left a generous tip for him. And then the other staff turned up on the island just for the fun of it, it was really a great afternoon.

The food was delicious, modern and fresh. I was really pleased to not have to choose from a menu. The food was ready and simply presented to you at dinner time, no waiting. It was always different and so yummy. And breakfast...OMG! banana and maple syrup on thick French toast, can you imagine!

We snorkeled off the prestine beach, sat on the jetty and watched the fish and often wondered if this could be real. The dog barks when the whales go past the island... we all ran out of our huts in our pajamas in the morning, it was quite funny and very cool to see the whales.

Mark took us out a few times to swim with whales. It was amazing. Our guide stayed with us in the water and made us feel very secure. I am someone who gets very sea sick, very easily, but his special boat just cut through the water and I never felt sick at all. I was grateful for that, because we went out with other operators and I was so sick, which was hard when you go out for 6 hours. Mark put his microphone in the water and we heard the whales, it was a moving experience. The other operators didn't have the equipment to listen to the whales either.

Thank you so much Mark and Veronica and your lovely staff. Our best memories of our trip to tonga were with you guys. You have a very special place, and a special place in our hearts. We shouldn't have left and gone to the other island. It was full of rats and a man who yelled a lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

What an amazing stay we had at Euaiki! Loved it!
Stunning place, both low-key and basic as well as a luxurious getaway out in the ocean. We happened to be the only guests to we felt very priviledged. Loved the interesting evening talks with Mark and Veronica. And the rest of the staff were also really friendly and concerned about us.
Activity-wise we were slightly restricted by strong winds a couple of days, but we never felt bored or regretted being out "alone" on the island. Just peaceful and no musts! Walk around the island, snorkel among fantastic coral and tonnes of fish, hike on neighbour island or just lie in a hammock and read. And being served lots of good food at regular intervals!
Want to go back in whale season!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had just the most fantastic time staying on Euaiki Island. It is a stunning place, beautiful white sand beaches and the most amazing snorkelling, with many types of fish and the most gorgeous coral I have seen. You can spend your days whale watching with one of the owners Mark, lazing around in a hammock with a book, swimming or taking a walk around the island and checking out some of the sea life in the rock pools.

The food was really great, the best we had while we were on Tonga, something different and tasty every single day. The staff were so friendly and nice, really contributing to our lovely stay. They even did a traditional dance performance for us on the last night.

The fales are very comfortable, though this is an eco-resort so environment friendly, it didn't feel overly rustic and we found it more comfortable than other places we stayed on our travels.

Our whale-watching trips with Mark were wonderful, even though we came a bit late in the season to swim with the whales, they were a beautiful experience. Mark has a hydrophone so you can listen to the whales, of which we saw quite a few and his trip was the most professional and safe that we went on while we were visiting Tonga. We also did a bit of fishing and saw some dolphins which came up and played with the boat. Mark's boat is wonderful, he designed it and made himself, which the whales are quite fond of and one came right up close to take a better look. Mark has lots of interesting stories to share about the history of Polynesian seafaring and we really enjoyed chatting to him and his wife Veronica in the evenings.

Other visitors have been able to see the whales straight from the beach of the resort, sometimes even swimming straight off the beach! We weren't so lucky this time but we would absolutely love to come back in the future for another try :)

We really had a great stay and would recommend the resort to anyone. It's a fantastic getaway, a truly relaxing paradise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide, australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed on Euaiki for 5 nights and did 3 days of whale watching.
The island itself is beautiful, with the fales right on the beach!
There is lots to do around the island- walks, snorkeling, or you borrow a canoe.
or just hang out on the hammock!

the food was great, everything we were served was delicious
Here we got our best ota ika in Tonga! YUM!

The staff are friendly and helpful, and even did a traditional dance show on the last night which was great!

the boat is cool its different, but its part of the appeal.
The boat is unique, Marc designed & made it, will tell you all about how it was made and how it works,
(it can pick up the pace when on the whale trail!)
we never had any problems, even on our first day when it was raining.

The resort is an ECO resort, runs on solar power etc.
but we got more than enough light, electricity and hot water etc.

It is a bit more expensive than some other places, but it well worth it for the whole island experience!

We had a great stay, and its been pretty tough returning to work after our slice of island life!

Room Tip: ANY! all are beach side with amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neiafu
0.0 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#3 of 10 in Neiafu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 10 in Neiafu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Eueiki Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Eueiki Eco Resort

Property: Treasure Island Eueiki Eco Resort
Address: Eua'iki Island, Neiafu, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Neiafu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Euaiki Island Eco Hotel Neiafu
Treasure Island Eueiki Eco Resort Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing