We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended and I never even made it there”
Review of Hakula Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neiafu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hakula Lodge
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Cyclone Jasmine got in our way and prevented us from arriving in Tonga. But Jeff and Janine were so helpful and honest and accommodating. They helped us arrange every detail before our trip and they were so helpful and honest after the cyclone changed our plans. I can't review the lodge because we never made it there. But I can tell you that Jeff and Janine are great people to interact with. I hope to one day reschedule our trip and actually experience Hakula Lodge. If you're looking for honest, helpful, straight-forward hosts who are easy to deal with, I highly recommend Jeff and Janine at Hakula Lodge.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank ganz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was wanting a fishing adventure of a lifetime and that's what I got. All I knew before starting is that I wanted to Fish Tonga and I was told great things about Hakula Lodge and they were correct. I emailed Jeffery and he organised the trip from start to finish. I caught Marlin, Mahimahi, Yellowfin Tuna and GT's and the mighty Arrrr fish. (yep that's the sound when you loose a fish) I spent many hours relaxing on the deck and Jeffery and Janine are very friendly. I will be back with more mates this time to enjoy another Tongan adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

After two years of trying to find the perfect package we found "Whales in the wild". Jeff organized everything from the moment we landed, to back to the airport to leave (and everything in between). Jeff and Janine were so friendly, hubby said it was better than visiting family. They were there when you needed them and also gave you plenty of privacy. The whale spotting was a life time memory and the boat crew, Vinnie and Casper were fantastic. The view from our room,the silence, the snorkling, the kayaks, Oh and the papaya recipe Janine gave us, we will never forget. So romantic. The Tongan fruit is so sweet.
Janine, the T/shirts you printed look great on our grandchildren and us big kids too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have stayed with Jeff and Janine before and the standard was again excellent from the fishing to the self contained accommodation. Your morning and evening views across the harbor from the privacy of your own deck was stunning and a quick trip down to the waters edge for a swim, snorkel or to cast a lure was a real benefit. Jeff and Janine can arrange anything you desire and their combined local knowledge ensures you dont miss out on anything from dining at the latest restaurant to activities including whale watching or taking carts across the island's dirt back roads. I was there again this Sept for the annual international billfish tournament and team Hakula swept all opposition aside to win. If it's fishing, be it reef or game, then Jeff and his crew are one of the best around. Also the boats are well maintained thus safe and carry top quality gear........all of which can be hard to find in remote pacific destinations. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Either of the two self contained units are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucefpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My friend and I just ended a 4-night stay at Hakula Lodge in Vava'u and were extremely pleased with the accommodation. The view from our balcony was wonderful! We sat out every morning and drank coffee as we watched the birds and ships come and go from the harbor. At night we got to witness a LARGE bat come and eat a ripe papaya just 1 meter from our deck!

There are only two rooms, which means you get a great deal of privacy and tranquility. We had fun snorkeling off the dock and taking out the kayaks one morning. Jeff and Janine are really hospitable and go out of the way to make sure you are able to get where you want to go around the island. We booked two whale swimming outings with their company Whales in the Wild and were not disappointed. Jeff even loaned us his brand new camera masks, which allowed us to take some spectacular underwater shots! We were two-for-two in swimming with the whales and Jeff and Janine were able to plan a whale trip around our afternoon flight. We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Energizek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just had the best holiday at Hakula Lodge with hosts Jeff & Janine organising everything for us including airflights, transfers, fishing, swimming with the whales, snorkling, land tours and a traditional Tongan feast at the most beautiful beach. The boys caught the Marlin they were after also mahimahi and tuna which we were able to eat fresh off the BBQ. The accommodation was perfect and cleaned daily. Jeff & Janine are the best hosts you could ask for they made us feel very welcome and helped us out with places to eat out, taxi's, places to go and have a look at. Next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

From the moment we agreed to the booking everything was organisied for us by Jefferey and Janine. Airfares, all transfers, the fishing and swimming with the whales etc. Once we arrived at the Lodge we realised how beautiful Vava'u was. The Hakula lodge is very well appointed with all ammenities and a great deck to enjoy a glass of wine. We experienced some of teh best fishing, catching our first Marlin's which we have been chasing for years around the Pacific. The fishing with Jefferey and his deckie Ki'i was excellent every day. We were very well looked after, including food and drinks right through the day. Coming back home we were treated with fresh Sushimi on the deck. Jefferey and Janine know all the locals and arranged cabs and dinners for us around the village. This has to be our best fishing holiday ever, thank you very much to our great hosts Jefferey and Janine. We only can recommend Hakula Lodge to everyone and will be back next year.

Gerhard, Ross and Tom

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderfull seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerhardNagele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neiafu hotels
2.2 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
64 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Neiafu
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 10 in Neiafu
256 reviews
3.4 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 7 in Neiafu
130 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Flying Annie Moa
#5 of 7 in Neiafu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakula Lodge

Address: Main Road | Toula, Neiafu, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Neiafu
Price Range: $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakula Lodge: Set on the foreshores of Port of refuge harbour with breathtaking views. Just far enough to be away from town but still in walking distance to all the fine restaurants. Hakula Lodge offers you the perfect base for all your holiday activities. Your hosts Jeff & Janine Le Strange have lived in Tonga for over 25 years and will be happy to help with your holiday plans. When you stay at Hakula lodge you know you are in good hands. "You may arrive as strangers but will leave us as friends." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hakula Lodge Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing