We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of Mystic Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mystic Sands
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Neiafu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Mystic Sands. Fantastic staff, great location, airport pick-up/drop-off, resort’s own taxi driver always took us where we needed to go, snorkelling equipment & kayaks are provided.
We were in the upstairs 'Family Unit', which had great views of the water from the balcony. There’s a kitchenette so you can prepare your own food but at night, for an addition fee, the resort’s caretaker/cook/second-mom, Mosi, can make you a feast that you can enjoy outside on the jetty. Mosi really went above & beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay. She’s a GEM!
I absolutely loved it here & highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: 'Family Unit' was comfy. We went in summer & the unit only had ceiling fans, so it did g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjell72, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Jacqui, thank you so much for coming to visit us at mystic sands and for writing such a great review. We hope to see you back one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
92
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Mystic Sands resort is a small taste of paradise! You are literally living on the beach with the most tranquil seas and beautiful view right in front of you. It is truly a place to lean back and relax.

If you are traveling as a couple or with a family I can highly recommend the Mystic Sands. You set your own pace in this place and the wonderful hosts Maka and Mosi are always on hand to help you with everything from shopping to transportation. In addition it is pristinely clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Google Translation
Hei
Beklager at det har tatt laaaaang tid og skrive respons til ditt innlegg pa triadvisor

Vil bare si tusen takk for de fine ordene pa tripadvisor og takke for besoket.

ha en flott uke.
Kjell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A beautiful place to stay from free WIFI to hot showers
the pics do not do this place justice!
Kjell was always visiting in the morning to make sure everything was to our liking and Mosi
was always accommodating to our needs!!
Definitely recommend this little bit of heaven on earth to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyLane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Happy New Year :) and Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was great meeting you all and i hope the rest of your vacation was a success.

Have a great week and hope to see you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was my first time in Vava'u. A great place to holiday! I have nothing but great things to say about this place. From Day one Mosi was helpful, friendly and available. The owners Kjell & Adriana, were available via email before our trip at all times and quick to respond and help 'honestly' with other holiday enquiries too. He even came over to welcome us and say goodbye. The buffet dinner was delicious, the grounds were always clean, the place was safe and inviting. The continental breakfast was divine. Free wifi was an absolute bonus! I wish we had stayed longer!!!!! I will definatley come back here with my whole family next time! Thank you Mosi for your hospitality and a genuine heart, you give beauty to a place that already holds much beauty. Kjell & Adriana the way you run Mystic Sands and care for it, is a credit to your family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Viena.

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at Mystic Sands and for writing such a great review, i hope that tongatapu was ok and that things went fine on the way home.
We all hope to see you come back with the 21!!! Children soon,,,, still cant believe that you 4 have 21 in total :-)

have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Mystic Sands is a fantastic retreat in Tonga. Mosi and Maka have created a little paradise. I traveled to Tonga to find the birthplace of my father and Mosi took my name and some of my family names and located some distant relatives who took me to the island where my father was born. It was an incredible day and would not have been possible without the fantastic help of Mosi. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our 4 nights at the resort. The view from the bungalow was incredible and we spent most of our time just enjoying the scenery. The owner Kel, is an active participant in ensuring guest comfort and we saw him nearly every day. Great and resort and great people. Can't say enough good things about this lovely resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 236charliem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello Boys ;) Thank you for choosing to come and stay with us at Mystic Sands. i am really happy that you found the relatives and that the trip was a success. I will be sure to mention to Mosi that you wrote here and she will be happy to hear from you. She told me you were already in email contact with the Hulu.
If you ever need any help from me (paperwork of whatever) please feel free to email me directly, i am happy to help.
have a great 2014 and thank you agaian for coming to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As a group of friends we rented a beach house next to the resort. The house was great with all necessary kitchen equipment, clean and soft beds, and nice bathrooms. The couple working on the resort (Mossa and Maka) were really nice and took great care of us. We had a great stay and will never forget the beautiful view from the veranda.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Google Translation
Hei og godt nytt aar :)
Det var kjempehyggelig og mote dere og haaper at vaare veier krysses igjen en dag.

Ha ett supert 2014 og takk igjen for at dere kom innom ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family arrived to the islands of Vava'u tired, dirty and somewhat cranky from our 24 hour ferry ride. Getting off the ferry it was a great relief to see our friendly host Mosi with a sign with our names on it. She made it her first priority to get me and our one year old comfortable, clean & relaxed, taking us to our room while the ship continued to unload. Once all of our belongings and my husband were in our lovely room, she made us a delicious dinner and took care of our every need. In the morning, the owner Kjell checked in with us and showed us around the beach front property. This place is PERFECT for children! My son was able to roam his own private beach and even wade in a small salt water pool made just for little ones. With free kayaks & internet this place is a Tongan jewel! Our family recommends this comfortable spot for anyone passing thru Vava'u!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieLianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neiafu
4.3 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#3 of 10 in Neiafu
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilltop Hotel
Hilltop Hotel
#8 of 10 in Neiafu
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
#13 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Sands

Property: Mystic Sands
Address: Utungake Village, Neiafu 5555, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Neiafu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystic Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Sands is great for couples, families, business or independent travelers and is located right on the beach about 10 minutes from Neiafu center. The units have private kitchens so you can prepare your own meals if you like. If not we are happy to make breakfast or any meal for you. We also provide free kayaks and wifi is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mystic Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Sands Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing