We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Mystic Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mystic Sands
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Neiafu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Mystic Sands is absolutely gorgeous. We stayed for five nights in the deluxe house and it was completely perfect - stunning views of the water, delicious meals cooked by Mosi the housekeeper (she was like a mother to us & her husband Maka drove us in and around town!). The staff were keen to organise all our activities about the island and nothing was ever too difficult. This is truly a beautiful place - there's a lot to do, or not much depending on what you like. We absolutely loved it!!!

Room Tip: The wifi drops in and out, and you need to stand in a particular spot for it to optimally work. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emwi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you soo much for such a great review, we are actually in Ecuador and have just greeted our fist son 'Kristian Ernesto' and getting reviews like this while we are gone really warmes our harts. It is great to know that we have such good staff and friends that we can leave without being afraid.

Thank you again for coming to stay with us and if you ever come back please contact us in advance so we can sort out some returing customer discounts :-)

Owner's
Kjell & Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 262 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and were so sad to leave! The whole stay was so perfect, from the feasts cooked by the house mother, Mossy, to the snorkelling, the quickly organised activities, everything was great. Massages were available- they were great, but the best was the sailing trips that the staff organised for us- the most wonderful day of our trip! It was all done with ease and along with the beautiful house to stay in made our trip wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairec3190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you soo much for such a great review, we are actually in Ecuador and have just greeted our fist son 'Kristian Ernesto' and getting reviews like this while we are gone really warmes our harts. It is great to know that we have such good staff and friends that we can leave without being afraid.

Thank you again for coming to stay with us and if you ever come back please contact us in advance so we can sort out some returing customer discounts :-)

Owner's
Kjell & Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Mystic sands was an amazing time! We stayed for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. It was so relaxing, clean and such friendly and lovely staff. Mosi the housekeeper was like a mother to us and her husband Maka took great care of us by driving in an out of town. Kjelle sorted all of our activities and we never had to worry. The grounds are kept perfectly and the jetty leads out to perfect water you can just dive in and snorkel right off the end. A lot of the activities will pick you up right from the jetty. Mosi cooks for you on request and does a large banquet once a week for all the guests. Mosi is an excellent cook and will make almost anything on request. The rooms were spotless and the showers were hot with the best water pressure in all of Tonga! Very relaxing and enjoyable. They have a small tidal swimming pool which is good for kids and also to just chill out in, in the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you soo much for such a great review, it was great to meet you :-)
we have made it to Ecuador and have just greeted our son 'Kristian Ernesto'

Thank you again for coming to stay with us and if you ever come back please contact us in advance so we can sort out some returing customer discounts :-)

Owner's
Kjell & Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to see the full wonder of the Mystic sands, love the new look, the hospitality and the setting, pool is a great touch and the canoe was a funfilled way to see about the Islands, thank you so much for a great 2 days or laughter and fun! We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaMolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you soo much for the kid words, it was great to have you come and visit. We hope that the trip to NZ is fun and that your sister takes home great memories from Tonga and Mystic Sands.
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at mystic sands, Gialt the owner and his team took suberb care of us. Mossie the cook and house keeper and her husband Makkie, the driver, were really lovely. Mystic sands is quite a drive from town (shops, restaurant, hairdressers etc.). So their service was a pleasure to have. We highly recommend staying here. If you do stay there please say hi from us.

Room Tip: Restaurant is home cooking from mossie, nice. Fitness means kayaking, or swimming in the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for the kind words Niels.
I will take this opportunity to tell people who might read your reveiw that we are 10 min. drive from downtown, this is an advantage not and hinder (we are on one of the best locations on the island, town is far down the list) We also do a free one way trip to town on most days for all guests that want to go there and also do shop for guests that need something but dont want to go (this is free of charge, just a service)
We also have a 'deal' with one of the restaurants where they pay half the taxi for guests that dont want to eat with us, cook themselves or dont want to go to the restaurants in out neighborhood.

Cheers and hope to see you at Mystic...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in the beach house, it was perfect for a family of 4. It was extremely comfortable and had a full kitchen that provided the option of self-catering or eating out. I cannot say enough about the service and the staff. We had asked for a special dinner as one of our group was celebrating a signficant birthday during our stay. The love and attention to the meal and cake that was provided by Mosi and her family made this one of the most memorable places that I have ever been.
There are heaps of activities to do, kayaking, snorkelling, swimming, day trips or just do nothing.
I wish we had longer...and definitely would like to return

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you all for the great review and for coming to stay with us at Mystic Sands. It was a bit sad that you only had two days so we did not get to know you too well but we are all very happy that things worked out for you and that you enjoyed our place. I will pass on your comments to Mosi as well, she will be very happy to know that you liked her cooking.
Have a great day :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to Mystic Sands for a well needed break and we were wanting rest and relaxation which is exactly what we got. What a truly gorgeous place Mystic Sands is, exactly like the pictures. We swam, snorkelled and kyaked and just rested up. The staff were amazingly friendly and we will be going back at some point in the near future and this time will be taking the clan with us !

Room Tip: we stayed in a unit by the waterfront, perfect for two - but be warned on Sundays the church bells r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skidgetgidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at Mystic and for being our pool-testers. We almost have the pool 'not leaking' now and people seems to be enjoying it a lot. It is really good to see people happy when you have worked hard for it but it makes me even more happy to get reviews like this, thank you so much for the kind words. Hope to see you back with the family one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neiafu
4.4 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 16 in Vava'u Islands
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#4 of 9 in Neiafu
64 reviews
0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Neiafu
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 7 in Neiafu
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Sands

Address: | Utungake Village, Neiafu 5555, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Neiafu
Price Range: $130 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystic Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Sands is great for couples, families, business or independent travelers and is located right on the beach about 10 minutes from Neiafu center. The units have private kitchens so you can prepare your own meals if you like. If not we are happy to make breakfast or any meal for you. We also provide free kayaks and wifi is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mystic Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Sands Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing