We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People - Great Holiday”
Review of Mystic Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mystic Sands
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Neiafu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Mystic Sands for 9 nights in early September and didn't ever want to leave! We chose to visit Vava'u because of the whale encounters but got so much more than just that! Mystic Sands is a fantastic place to stay; it's small enough that you can get to know everyone there and have company but we also enjoyed having the place to ourselves a few times during the day. The bed was probably the most confortable motel bed we've ever slept in, with 100% cotton linen too! - very comfy when it's hot. The rooms are nicely arranged, very clean and serviced every day. When we saw other accomodation (both cheaper and more expensive) whilst in Tonga we were very happy we had chosen Mystic Sands, far enough from town to avoid the bustle and noise but not so far out to be reliant on boat transfers just to go out for dinner etc. we found the location perfect for all water based activities, with convenient pick ups for whale watching, snorkelling etc. right from the pier outside our room. It's also very sheltered from the wind - we saw some very exposed places to stay! it's lovely to be able to sit on your own deck that's basically right on the beach and have a beautiful view. We even had a whale come past just out from the pier. Having free use of the kayaks and snorkelling gear is great as there's plently of nice spots to go exploring quite close by. -Hint: if you are going up the tower on Military Island, look out for wasps! Although our favourite snorkelling spot ended up being straight off the pontoon. We also really enjoyed the free bananas from the big stalk hung in the tree outside our room.
But the very best thing about Mystic Sands is the people! It's very personal; we had email contact with Adrianna even before arriving and we got to know Kjell when he collected us from the airport. They're really great people and looked after us like old friends. We immediately felt at ease and at home. We really appreciated Kjell's offers of rides into town in the mornings and even better, sometimes he did our shopping for us! Mosi was like our Tongan mother; she answered our questions, arranged things, made bookings, made awesome breakfasts that kept us going all day and helped us purchase some beautiful weaving from the village, it seemed nothing was too big an ask. Mosi's feasts are fantastic, and a great way to meet some new friends - a real must do.
Although we are not religous we had the privialge of attending a Tongan church service in the local village, the singing is incredibly powerful! Well worth it!
Over all Mystic Sands rates as our new favourite place to stay (when we left I was in tears) and we have made a promise to ourselves to return.
Thank you Kjell, Adrianna and Mosi for such a wonderful and memorable birthday holiday!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs! between the roosters, geckos, dogs and church bells we were very grateful for ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you soo much for the long and great review. I really enjoyed meeting you and hope you come back one day. I have not been able to get banana stocks for the last two weeks but hope to get some this week, also our own papayas are doing good so hopefully we will be able to offer free papayas as well next year.
Have a great week and thank you again from all of us here at Mystic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

What can you say about a perfectly situated little beach side resort - An absolute gem! Its located perfectly where the Diving/Fishing/Yachts or whale watching boats can pick up up of the resorts wharf - The resort has a great jetty for anyone including the kid to have a swim around and see a lot of fish interesting fish life. The Staff and Owners really looked after our needs, where we packed a few last minute activities on the water and Kjell sorted the details with ease. And Mossie (the house keeper) even organised on of the guests a trip with the local fisherman. And there advise on where to eat was spot on, and everywhere the owners suggested. Mystic Sands offer excellent advice. I recommend taking Mossie up on her home cooking, it was a super fulling feed and loved the custard pudding. The Tongan resort for dinner is only 5 mins away....we recommend the raw fish salad. Try the Aquarium restaurant on your fist night, you wont be disappointed and the pizzas are massive and either the fish taco or fish burritos. We dived and whale watched with Dolphin Pacific,and spent a day on the Catamaran call the Independence and there where plenty pf options for fishing.....The fishing to can basically got out by yourself or with a group - there were monster big GT's, Blue Marlin caught by other guests......And beg borrow or steal a waterproof camera before coming to the island...even snorkeling of the wharf in only 1-2m of water you will find heaps of interesting fish and all sorts of colors. If your only there for the R and R.....do the trip on the Independance, you wont regreat it...PS Jenny's Banana bread is the best Ive ever had! Thanks Kjell, Adriana and Mossie, our group had a really good time.....we will be back!

Room Tip: No matter where you stay on the island (This applies to across the island) the Rosters and church be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, It was great to meet all of you. I am hoping to catch up with you in nov/dec for some relaxing time in NZ
Fishing has been a bit up and down since you left but i think Kurt got a 30+ GT the other day and Henk another 200+
Have a great weekend down there, cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mystic sands for 6 nights. We stayed in the Family Suite unit which sits just behind the remaining 4 beachside units. The view from our lanai was superb. Kjell picked us up at the airport and took us into town to pick up a few supplies. He, his wife, and the Tongan staff are very warm and personable. I don't have much to add compared to the previous reviews..just to say that it is indeed a good location for 'any' water activities. The staff are very accomodating. Considering it's Tonga, which isn't known for flashy hotels, this has to be one of the best places to stay in Vava'u. The only downside is the constant crowing of roosters...but its all part of the experience. Pack some earplugs for sleeping and you'll be just fine.

Room Tip: Book far advance (6 months) if you're planning to visit during peak whale season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra027, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for coming to visit us and for writing the nice review. We hope that the trip home went fine and that things are good back in NZ. We will come down in the end of Nov or beginning of Dec. and who knows we might bump into you there as we plan so visit Christchurch soon, take care and have a great weekend :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at Mystic Sands for three nights, but wished I could have stayed longer.
Each of the four rooms faces the ocean, private jetty and private beach. What beautiful views to wake up to each morning. Watch the sunrise, and set, sit on your private verandah, lie in the hammock or on the beach chairs and snorkel off the wharf. So beautiful and peaceful - only a few people there at any time.
Mosi is an amazing Tongan host/housekeeper/cook/travel advisor, etc, etc. Make sure you enjoy a slightly westernised Tongan feast eaten while sitting in the pagola at the start to the jetty. Vegetarians are well catered for by Mosi.
I highly recommend Mystic Sands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Mystic Sands for 4 nights while doing whale swimming, diving, and kart safaris in Vava'u. The staff made all our activity reservations before we got there and handed us a printed itinerary when we showed up. Everything went really smoothly. Kjell picked us up and took us to buy a few things we might need, such as where to get the some great coffee to make with the French press in the room. The room was nice and clean with a little kitchen and the beds were very comfortable.

There is a little pier for off-shore snorkeling, although there isn't really a beach and I wouldn't want to hang out there all day.

Our first night, Masi was making a big dinner for another group and we were invite to join and sample traditional foods. We enjoyed it so much that we had her make us a smaller dinner (just our favorite items) on our last evening. Masi was always available and a great help with our little needs. We had one sensitive issue (which had nothing to do with the resort) and Kjell handled it for us very nicely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boysmomNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra027, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you soo much for coming all the way from NJ to visit us and our little island. I am very happy that it all worked out so well for you and the family. I think you planned it really good with activities, food and all.
Hope all is good over there and that the coming winter will be kind to you
A big hello from me and all the staff here at Mystic Sands :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My adult son had been attending a volunteer program in Tonga for about 12 months and we decided before he returned home to visit Vava'u. Neither of us having been there, after reviewing everything, we booked a 7 night stay at Mystic Sands on faith alone.

We weren't disappointed, in fact we were pleasantly surprised. Kjell, the owner of the property, met us at the airport and between him and Mosi, the houskeeper, along with her husband Maki, every effort was made to satisfy our needs. Not only that, they all seemed to take interest in who we were and why we were there.

Well situated just outside of town you could opt out and just relax on the beachfront or the fish from the ketty, or you could take the short ride into town for a more involved vacation.

The jetty situated out front of the property enabled hop on, hop off cruising with the water taxis and the local whale watching tours would pick you up right from your front door.

We loved it. The people couldn't have been more friendly, the food was great and the location divine.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra027, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you again for coming to stay with us, i enjoyed getting to know you and hope to see you again one day.
I would also like to thank your son for the sacrifice/work he has done being a volunteer here in Tonga. It is the best kind of help an island like ours can get :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The floating jetty has pretty little blue fish right there, coral a few metres into the harbour, and more when we kayaked a few hundred metres along the bay. Kjell picked us up from the airport, stopped off in town for us to buy supplies and organised a sailing trip. Vava'u is very undeveloped and even the palangi living on the yachts in the bay seem to have settled into the island life.
Mystic Sands is nearby a village so you'll hear the roosters, church bells and see the island life. The roads are in a poor repair, the taxi is no limo, the power may go off, and the shop has no Coke or coffee. Relax, this is Tonga!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tawera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neiafu
4.4 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#9 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
#14 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Neiafu
159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 7 in Neiafu
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Sands

Address: | Utungake Village, Neiafu 5555, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Neiafu
Price Range: $129 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystic Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Sands is great for couples, families, business or independent travelers and is located right on the beach about 10 minutes from Neiafu center. The units have private kitchens so you can prepare your own meals if you like. If not we are happy to make breakfast or any meal for you. We also provide free kayaks and wifi is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mystic Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Sands Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing