We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor accommodation, wonderful host”

Fifita's Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ha'apai Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fifita's Guest House
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Fifita was a warm and welcoming lady and her staff were very helpful and attentive. The deluxe rooms were disappointing. The bed was rock hard, there was no air flow and no fan in the room and you could hear every word or snore from next door. It got so bad that we ended up sleeping in the living room where the windows weren't blocked up and we could have a breeze. We drowned our sorrows at Mariners Cafe which was excellent for food and drinks. A few little fixes and Fifita would have an excellent guest house. A work in progress...

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms might be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bohemian_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

Accommodation is very basic but comfortable and provides a great base for exploring the beautiful beaches of Lifuka and beyond. Having looked at a few of the other guesthouses on the island, Fifita's won when weighing up the location, value and standard.

It's right above the Mariner's Cafe (a great place to eat and drink as well as hire bikes and snorkel gear) and very handy for everything else in the small town of Pangai.

Rates were reasonable and a simple bread and jam breakfast is included.

The number we tried from the Tonga tourism website was never answered so
we arrived on the island without any reservations but were fine in getting a room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcranmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights to get the feel of town and the two main islands. There are two resorts at far end of other island. The price stopped me from staying with them. I did hire a bike from Mariners at $15 a day. Ricketty but got me there and back. The flight, a thrill as plane DC3, born 1947. You walk up a slop to your seat and vacate downhill. One of the softest landings I have ever had. Age with confort although pricey at almost $200 top each way. No one to greet at airport but managed to share ride with others. Town tiny with food stores mainly owned by Chinese not Tongans. Supplies very limited so take your own EVERYTHING. The guest house is above the Mariners bar and cafe. Magda or Craig in attendance. Very friendly, good advise and pritty much your only food availible so dont ruffle their feathers. Opens all week and 6pm sunday. Arriving at the guest house was greeted by the matriarch holding her bag of money. Given room with dble bed and mossy net. Had my own led light lucky as light in room not bright enough to read. Fan that did not have a face and did not work or have anywhere to plug it in if it worked anyway. $40 top. No lounge, just table for breakfast. ONE boiled egg, toast so thick you could build walls with it. Jam of the budget of budget varieties as was the coffee. Had to supply my own tea bags. Shared facilities. Horrid. Dribble cold shower. No towel, you need to bring your own. Was informed that I was to get my own breakfast as no one works on sunday. If kettle does not work use the gas stove and bread in fridge. Ha kettle did not work, the toaster had NO cord, what a suprise. No other guests were told of the arrangements for breakfast. Churchbell lets loose at 5am week days and goes on and on and on and on. Ten minutes later it starts again. Then singing and beating of drums. Roosters crowing all night long, at one time it seemed everyone of them crowed at the same time. Thought they were warning of a tsunami. Dogs barking and cats fighting outside my window. (we dont have any dog or cats I was told). Yeah right. You will not get a good sleep but what are your options. Lindsays guest house is near the islands 24hr generator. Noisey and the other quest house poeple mentioned of very low standard. More so than this place. Must be amazing. I would suggest when coming to the Haapai group do not stay in town , go straight to a resort. My recommendation going to the info centre around the corner and organising transport to Serenity or Cook / Tainas backpackers on the island next door which has beautifull beach and reasonable snorkling. Information is availible in Fins but the owner has issues with life in general. I believe they are good operaters but Only go there if you want to see whales or go to reefs to snorkle. Their bikes are $20 a day.Did not waste time taking picture of my room. Only stay here if you must.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Fifita's guest house is affordable, clean and has a convenient location right in town 3 blocks from ferry above Mariner's Cafe where you can get great food and lots of information as well as book more remove romantic deserted island accomodations like Captain Cook's

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jophielangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Well we arrived in Ha'apai after a week in Vava'u and it was pouring rain and there was a big group that took both taxi's so we were stranded for about 3 minutes when a tongan lady came over and asked if we needed a ride we told her we were staying at Fifita's. Well we were pleasantly surprised when she went to the parking lot grabbed the 'Governor' of the island and he graciously took us to Fifita's and reminded us if we had any needs while in Ha'apai to come to his office/house and he would take care of us, and if he wasn't there to go to the Police station and they would find him for us. He drove us to Fifita's where we were welcomed by Fifita and shown to our room the only ensuite. The accommodations were simple and plain but comfortable and a family community feel. The people staying at Fifita's were Tongans and they shared their food and hospitality with us. For meals if you don't want to cook yourself you go downstairs and eat at Mariner's Cafe convenient and good food. We visited Tongatapu and Vava'u but MHO Ha'apai is the real Tonga. The laid back, friendly and accommodating people of Ha'apai made our trip complete to be able to experience the real Tongan culture was a life changing experience, and if it weren't for Fifita's Guest House we would have probably eneded up at a resort and never experienced such a wonderful culture....Thanks Fifita!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigWillieUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Fifita's Guesthouse was a perfect base to explore Ha'apai. It is in the centre of town above the only restaurant in Ha'apai (very handy). I admit I had heard both good and bad things about Fifita's before we arrived but we had a great stay in the ensuite room (70 pa'anga a night between three of us). Breakfast was included and Fifita, the Tongan lady that runs the Guesthouse, was lovely and gave us lifts to and from the airport. It's simple standard Tongan accommodation but I would recommend it to anyone that wants to stay in town.

1  Thank CH_Tonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FedeNbE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ha'apai Islands hotels
0.0 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenity Beaches Resort
Serenity Beaches Resort
#1 of 2 in Uoleva Island
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Foa Island
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifita's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifita's Guest House

Address: Lifuka | Center of Town above Mariner's Cafe, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Ha'apai Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ha'apai Islands
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Fifita's Guest House Tonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing