We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An island sanctary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heilala Holiday Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heilala Holiday Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An island sanctary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

I based my choice to book here simply on the other reviews on this site and I was not disappointed. Sven and his crew do a great job at making you feel at home and are happy to help with whatever you need.
Stayed in a Tongan Fale which whilst basic (typical beach hut type, with two single beds and a separate toilet/shower) was comfortable enough. It could sleep 3 as it has an overhead loft area for short people. Was glad I thought to bring some shampoo as only soap was provided.

The free breakfast is fresh, ample and served with a golden smile.

The only downside is the amount of local noise coming from the nearby backyards, dogs and cockerel's giving it everything late into the night and then early morning. The Tapa cloth banging can also be heard. Ear plugs recommended.

We took an island tour with Moses from Supatours. This is different to the one recommended by Heilala itself and it seems listening to feedback from others is much better as its a true tour by a local and included lunch with his family.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ollyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    97
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
183
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

Have recently stayed at the Heilala Holiday Lodge in Nuku'alofa Tonga and have to say what a lovely place to stay. I call it "afternoon delight" because that's what myself and my family enjoyed there...a couple of drinks sitting in the garden in front of our fales every afternoon in the cool. The fales themselves are clean enough and comfortable and the showers hot. The garden is the real drawcard though and the pool to have a cool dip in after a day of sightseeing in the heat. The garden is great for budding photographers wishing to try out their macro lenses. There were five of us in our group spread over the three superior fales which were all close to each other. I would recommend this as the place to go for groups. Another couple with our tour group stayed at the Lagoon Lodge and paid more and thought our place was better. The meals were nice and we also did a tour of the island with the lady owner for the day which is lovely as well. It is well located just out of the ugliness of the main town and it was easy and cheap to catch a bus to town from there.

  • Liked — Garden
  • Disliked — Chickens making noise early in the morning!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank juliepoulter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

Stayed here for a couple of weeks in December/January. Thoroughly enjoyable. The Fales are confortable, clean and would fulfill most peoiple's expectations. The food is great and always tasty and the service very attentive. It is low key, quiet, relaxed and safe, a great base to check out the island and do daytrips. Free internet, conmplimentary continental breakfast.
Sven and Kalo, the owners, are knowledheable about activities and sights, always ready to help and give tips. Recommended!

  • Liked — convenience, cleanliness
  • Disliked — no views
  • Tips/Secrets — recommended, safe and fun palce, good to meet other travellers
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamuran, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2006

Even though Heilala is a little out of town (only 3 kms), it is clean, comfortable and the food is good. There is a little above ground pool that you can cool off in, especially if you've walked back from town!

I booked directly with Sven through his webpage. Unfortunately I got to Tonga exactly a week after the CBD burned to the ground, but Sven assured me that it was an isolated incident and didn't really interfere with having an enjoyable holiday, and he was right. The 'troubles' lasted a night and it calmed down and I didn't sense any danger or see anything to indicate that it would rear its ugly head again.

I travelled there alone and found the standard, single room quite adequate for what I needed. My husband and two kids joined me a few days later and Sven, the owner, managed to accommodate us all.

Sven can arrange transfers, tours and knows the ins and outs of getting around the island.

I have no hesitation about recommending this as a clean and safe place to stay and as a jumping-off point to see the rest of Tonga.

  • Liked — Reliability of service and cleanliness - And HOT Showers!
  • Disliked — A bit of a distance to down-town
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place to start off exploring the country
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinstadt, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

The fales are in a very beautyful garden. The owners and the stuff are always friendly and helpful, and funny. They try to help were they can and make suggestions how to spend your time. The fales are clean and everything works well. The island tour is really pleasant.
The breakfast is nice, you can order more if you want to. The dinner is really good , you should try it anyway.


  • Liked — Persönliche Bemühungen der Besitzer um Ihre Gäste
  • Disliked — keine Heizung
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tauchurlauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

Heilala would have to be the best place to stay in Tongatapu. Don't even consider staying anywhere else. We stayed on Tongatapu for 10 nights and stayed in some aweful places. Then we found Heilala. What a life saver! Fantastic place to stay. Although it seems a long way out from town it's so easy to get transport in and out of town. Just walk down the road and buses come along all the time, also taxi's or someone will give you a lift. We were starting to feel vey down when we arrived at Heilala. We had been on the island a week and hadn't had a hot shower even though you are always told they have hot water when you check in. Didn't think there was anywhere nice to stay on the island. The staff are all friendly and the owners go out their way for you in every way. The food would have to be the best on the island also, so make sure you dine at there restaurant, you won't be disappointed! The superior fales are just lovely with tiled floors and proper bathrooms and yes they actually do have hot water. Yeah!! All there fales are set in beautiful gardens and are private from each other. They have accomodation for all budgets, even if you're travelling backbacker style they have something for you. Trust me, take it from someone who has stayed in the worst places on the island and the best. Heilala. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2006

Having just visited Tonga, I would like to recommend a very nice place to stay in Tongatapu. The Heilala Holiday Lodge is 3-4 kilometres from town in the village of Tofoa, just a 10 minute bus ride from the centre. Accommodation consists of traditional Fales with attached bathroom and verandah, or comfortable rooms with share facilities. Breakfast is included in the reasonable tariff and other meals are available in the restaurant/bar. The genial host, Sven, and his lovely Tongan wife Kalolina make guests feel very welcome & local tours and pickups from the airport can be arranged. Overall, a lovely little piece of Pacific paradise. I will be recommending Heilala Holiday Lodge to all my friends. They have a website if you would like more details.

Helpful?
10 Thank redape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tongatapu Island hotels
9.3 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
8.9 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
17.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
10.8 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heilala Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heilala Holiday Lodge

Property: Heilala Holiday Lodge
Address: Palm Avenue | Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island TBU, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malo e lelei from the Kingdom of Tonga! If you are looking for a relaxed, friendly, homestyle "beach garden getaway" in the Kingdom of Tonga, the Heilala Holiday Lodge on Ha'atafu Beach at Kanokupolu may just be the place you have been looking for. Over 1km of sandy beach, wave surfing, snorkeling, or simply relaxing in your hammock. All the best and we hope to welcome you in our little peace of paradise soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heilala Holiday Hotel Tongatapu Island
Heilala Holiday Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing