We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heilala Holiday Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed 6 nights. Beautiful place and people. Tasty meals. Breakfast had 7 different fruits on the plate. Walked into the village for Sunday church, a very nice experience & the locals were welcoming. The beach was nice, but water shoes are recommend as it can be rough on your feet with all the coral. Beach towels, snorkel gear & sunscreen are provided for your use. Once I arrived, time seemed to slow down and I enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Onecountryatatime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 375 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

My partner and I spent a wonderful long weekend at Heilala for Easter. It was an absolute gem. The location is perfect, the grounds are immaculate, the rooms are perfect and comfortable and the beach is stunning. They provide everything you need and more. From free snorkels and bicycles to kayaks and scooters for hire you don't even have to leave Heilala. The staff are beyond helpful and lovely and the food is delicious. They even put on a beach BBQ for Easter Sunday. The guests were also incredible, we have made some life long friends from our trip. If you are going to Tonga, look no further. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a superior falai which has everything you need. Meals are good and well priced although we bought much of our own with us. Free wifi great. Nukalofa orientation tour included for free. Plenty of advice of what to. We booked an around the island tour with Vai and this was good as he is very knowledgeable. Fantastic snorkeling off the beach with a huge variety of beautiful fish seen. Sven and his team are friendly and helpful. Made lots of holiday friends. This place has a good vibe, is recommended and you will enjoy it here providing you understood it not a 5 star luxury resort but clean,tidy and affordable accommodation.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank rikrik10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a relaxing holiday at Heilala Lodge. All the staff were friendly and always helpful. We look forward to staying there again. Even though we had a basic fale ,the fridge in the kitchen wasn't too far to go for our drinks and we sometimes made our lunch there .We ate in the restaurant often, but you can walk the beach to other resorts. BBQ night awesome , a nice intimate gathering - great food and got to meet all guests ,local dancers too.Free use of bikes and free Wifi a bonus.Short ride to a local dairy for supplies or bus to town. Spectacular gardens with plants named. We met lots of nice guests there from all parts of the world and all ages. Snorkelling great when the sea is flat at high tide as it is way better over the reef.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms get afternoon sun and less wave noise ( but you are staying beside a beach ! ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wow - what a wonderful stay we had at Heilala! Thanks Carolina, Sven & staff for making our stay memorable. The fale was comfortable, we had all we needed. The location is perfect - beach is paradise, snorkelling wonderful, the sunsets were breath takingly beautiful, restful & not over populated. We will definitely want to come & visit again some time. The restaurant meals were fabulous. Also it was great to be able to walk up the beach to the other resort for dinner a couple of nights. Thanks so much for your hospitality :-)

Room Tip: The superior fale has a little fridge which was extremely handy for keeping drinks & a few food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fantastic hid away, lovely place. Comfortable ,clean, friendly, close to beach. Lovely staff, friendly locals. Cheap and cheerful holiday. Free use of bikes and snorkel equipment. Everything a holiday should be quite relaxing great weather fun times!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emeralde2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Want to get away from city life??try Heilala Tonga, What a fantastic hidden get away lodge. Lovely Staff, nice accommodation, perfect location, rooms are a couple of steps from the beach! Perfect. .
We stayed in the Tongan Fale, as the superior wasn't available, but never the less there was the use of a shared kitchen if you opted to cook for yourself, alternatively you eat in the restaurant.
Clean,Comfortable,friendly,relaxing and close to beach and free to avail of snorkel equipment and bicycles free to use!
Looking forward to another trip back there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshine11047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongatapu Island
10.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.3 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
184 reviews
17.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vakaloa Beach Resort
Vakaloa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
202 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Sunset Island Resort
Royal Sunset Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Atata Island
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heilala Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heilala Holiday Lodge

Address: Palm Avenue | Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island TBU, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tongatapu Island
Price Range: $40 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malo e lelei from the Kingdom of Tonga! If you are looking for a relaxed, friendly, homestyle "beach garden getaway" in the Kingdom of Tonga, the Heilala Holiday Lodge on Ha'atafu Beach at Kanokupolu may just be the place you have been looking for. Over 1km of sandy beach, wave surfing, snorkeling, or simply relaxing in your hammock. All the best and we hope to welcome you in our little peace of paradise soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heilala Holiday Hotel Tongatapu Island
Heilala Holiday Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing