We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to watch the whales and amazing food!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot to watch the whales and amazing food!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just under a week and a great spot to explore Tonga from. Really friendly helpful staff and food provided each day was amazing, fresh fish everyday and plenty of choice with other dishes!
Saw whales every night from the beach at Ha'atafu which was great as this was our main reason for visiting Tonga. Tours organised through the resort were great and we got to swim with the whales.
Great spot for a family too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
87
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My partner and I had 7 magical days and nights at this great resort. It exceeded all my expectations, the Beach Fale was roomy and spacious with a great balcony, we had shared amneties and they were excellent. The food was great you never went hungry that's for sure.
The staff extremely friendly and just amazing people, and an amazing place thanks to everyone for a great holiday, we will be back in 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracy1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A fantastic hotel and great value, the garden Fale was clean and only a short stroll to the amneties and the beautiful beach. The breakfast and dinner provided (included in the room rate) was brilliant on every day, including fish freshly caught that morning, I can also recommend the pancakes for breakfast. The family who run the resort are so freindly welcoming and helpful and made our stay excellent. The only negative I can think was watching England lose at rugby league to the kiwis.....:(. We would defiantly recommend ha'hatafu beach to anyone visiting tonga.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We loved it, ticked all the boxes, great surf (challenging but worth it !!) and snorkelling for me, suitably romantic and relaxing for my partner (and me!), food was outstanding, really nice family atmosphere, safe but exciting for exploring rock pools and climbing trees for our 2 and half year old. Staff, owners and other guests all brilliant. The best thing about it was it was all there within 50m of your bed, we didn't have to go anywhere or worry about anything. We did do a day tour of the rest of the island which was great and gave us a nice taste of the island as a whole.

Another amazing thing- was a massive beach with max ten people on it, so easy to get peace and privacy if that is what you want

If you are used to big luxury hotels this is a bit different, more a family vibe- eating together at a long table

One tip, ask your pick up to stop off on the way from the airport you might want to stock up on some fruit/ snacks/beer etc so you don't have to buy lunch everyday. Also there were a few mosquitos so bring some spray.

Room Tip: We splashed out and went for the fancy room, but cheaper rooms looked good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My hubby and I came here for a total holiday of relaxation. We were not disappointed! We will be booking to go again next year. Hola, Moana, Steve and the rest of the team are amazing hospitable people. The food is incredible and the accomodation is gorgeous. Surf was cranking so husband was happy and the sun was shining so I was happy! We will bring the kids next time as the snorkelling is amazing! Back to basics at its best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We came back for a second time because we enjoyed the first experience so much and we were not disappointed. The included meals- breakfast and dinner- are consistently absolutely delicious. The accommodation is excellent. The location is awesome and if you are a surfer- its fantastic as there are so many different options especially if you are happy to go out in the boat. The reef in the lagoon out the front of the resort is amazing- was surprised the second time around with how many different fish there were as I had forgotten! If you like kayaking, you can use the resort kayaks for free to get a different perspective of the lagoon. The atmosphere is so friendly and we have made new friends each time we've been.

Room Tip: If you prefer having your own bathroom and screened rooms, choose the premium beachfront- it is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great stay with family, nice beach for laying on, warm water to swim in lagoon. had some good waves too. great friendly service, very chilled. good food.

Lots of kids for daughter to play with.

Loved the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tongatapu Island hotels
9.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
9.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha'atafu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha'atafu Beach Resort

Property: Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Address: Ha'atafu Beach | Ha'atafu Beach, Tongatapu Island n/a, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, locally owned and family operated resort offering limited occupancy and catering for our resort guests exclusively. This ensures our guests enjoy a quiet, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere around the resort. Established in 1979 and located on the beachfront at Ha'atafu Beach .... Tongatapu's premier swimming, snorkelling and recreational beach. We welcome families with children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha`Atafu Beach Hotel Tongatapu Island
Ha'Atafu Beach Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing