We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life changing experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I don't know where to begin!
We have recently returned from 8 days staying here with THE most beautiful host family imaginable.
The resort is situated at the far end of the island with an amazing safe beach with the surf a short paddle away.
The snorkelling straight out the front was excellent with heaps of variety of fish life. High tide is definately better as you really have to pick your way through the coral at low tide.
The fales were basic but lovely. Moana gave us a peek at the ensuite fales which are really nice and I would consider these next time but either are great!
I must admit I thought the shared amenities might have posed a problem (2x toilets and 1 shower- same in mens and women's) but there was never a queue for either toilets or showers which was quite amazing considering they were pretty full with guests.
The food, one word WOW! They have the most delicious buffet every night, and I'm missing the banana pancakes at breakfast, although the French toast was pretty good too!
Take advantage of a trip out on the fishing boat, they catch huge tuna most mornings.
Catch a ride into town via Moana or the local bus, which is a funny experience in itself.
I think it was possibly the most relaxing holiday I've ever had.
Don't expect 5 star Hilton type accommodation, expect true Tongan hospitality and I can assure you , you won't be let down.
We came for a whale swim,without success,however we did get to watch them come past from the beach out the front. Anyway it's a great excuse to go back for another try!
So all I really need to say is - go there, experience Tonga, enjoy the time with a great family,make heaps of new friends and please say Hi to the gang for us!
Oh, a couple of essentials to take with you, an open mind and a sense of fun!
Enjoy! - Jane Cooper

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The ensuite ones are really lovely, but really I don't think there are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank teejay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a trip to the outer islands fell through, my partner and I enjoyed a week staying with Hola and Moana, enjoying their great hospitality and relaxing spot on the beach. The friendly atmosphere created by the hosts - and the fantastic meals on offer - really made up for any of the tiny shortcomings of the place.

We stayed in the new en-suite accommodation for all but our last night there, and it was really nice and clean a a great place to relax and just watch the waves, which were impressive. The last night we stayed in a beach fale which was interesting too, but the newer ensuite accommodation was really a cut above in terms of quality. The garden is quite scenic too with a good deal of care taken to keep it presentable.

As far as activities go, the swimming and kayaking in the lagoon is fun at high tide, walks down the beach at sunset give spectacular views, the early morning fishing trips are good fun too if the weather is calm. I was freediving every day out past the breakers and there are some good swim through canyons and a few bigger fish around down past the coral edge drop-off. I didn't try surfing but the waves were really something and it was fun watching the surfers pull some moves.

I would recommend Ha'atafu Beach Resort if you are after a low-key relaxing holiday where you want to just play on the beach and eat great food. Tongatapu is an interesting island and worth a look around as well, and it isn't really until you do this that you fully appreciate what an oasis the resort is.

Thanks Hola and Moana for a great stay!

Room Tip: I would recommend the en-suite rooms as they are really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny_NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This resort is well hidden away so that you can relax without all the hustle and bustle. It's quite the hidden gem! The resort opens up onto the beautiful Ha'atafu beach and you can be there anytime you want.

The people who run this place are very nice and pleasant. Quite a homey feeling. They have 10 cats on the property so that is definitely a draw for me!

So if you want to chill out on a beach in Tonga, this is a great place to go to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just come back from 5 days at Ha'atafu Beach Resort.Moana and Hola were fantastic hosts.We enjoyed every minute and came back relaxed and rejuvenated.The food was amazing and the accommodation was just right for that style of holiday.We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from Ha'atafu after one of the best holidays we have ever had. I didn't know what to expect as had never been to Tonga before but we were soooo impressed with everything. The resort is amazing, the staff, Moana & Hola and family make the whole experience so memorable and the food OMG - I could rave about that forever!, so fresh and plentiful. We had the Premium Villas and they were fantastic - clean and spacious, and the best view of the surf break! A Perfect, relaxing week and we will definitely be back. Thanks Ha'atafu for being "simply the best". Lisa & Steve

Room Tip: The Premium Villas are beautiful and have their own bathrooms but also the Beachfront Fale is very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband, 9 year old son and i stayed for 9 nights in June in one of the ensuite rooms. The room was great, comfy beds with a stunning view of the ocean. we enjoyed many a night, having a few drinks on the deck outside our room, watching the amazing Ha'atafu sunsets. Dinner every night was delicious, seriously good food. The family atmosphere of the resort made for a perfect holiday for us, incredibly relaxing and enjoyable for the whole family. our 9 year old son had an awesome time playing with Moana and Holas sons, Elijah and Pasa, he loved walking by himself to the "breakfast club" and ordering his french toast every morning. It was so good we were all sad to leave but we will definitely be back! thanks Moana and Hola

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Seini J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ha'atafu beach resort has great people (Steve, Sesifa, Hola and Moana) running it, good snorkelling, unbelievably good food and comfy beds. We will definitely go back and recommend it without hesitiation.
Dave and Fiona Barrett, Auckland

Room Tip: We stayed initially in the Beachfront room with ensuite (and Mosquito nets on wIndows and doors). On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tongatapu Island hotels
10.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
188 reviews
10.8 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
186 reviews
1 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
287 reviews
3.8 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha'atafu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha'atafu Beach Resort

Address: Ha'atafu Beach | Ha'atafu Beach, Tongatapu Island n/a, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range: $52 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, locally owned and family operated resort offering limited occupancy and catering for our resort guests exclusively. This ensures our guests enjoy a quiet, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere around the resort. Established in 1979 and located on the beachfront at Ha'atafu Beach .... Tongatapu's premier swimming, snorkelling and recreational beach. We welcome families with children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha`Atafu Beach Hotel Tongatapu Island
Ha'Atafu Beach Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing