We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay at Ha'atafu Beach Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great place to stay for families and couples and of courses surfers. The beach and garden cottages are tidy and comfortable, the food is awesome and the beach for swimming and surfing is right on the door step (with plenty of water toys to use). The hospitality shown by the family and staff was fantastic, and we all had a great time meeting and getting to know many other people / kids. A highlight (apart from the food and the sunshine!!) was the number of whales swimming by on a daily basis . A perfect spot for a holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Ha'atafu Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for about 6 nights in all, with my girlfriend. Probably one of the best vibes of any surf resort we've stayed at. Moana and Hola are really lovley people - friendly, relaxed, helpful, laid back, and they look after you as much or as little as you like. The setting is beautiful - there are good waves out the front. Food is excellent. The best place to stay in Tonga for surf, and just a great 'down to earth' resort for those not surfing. The place seems to cater equally well for couples or families or singles. If we go back to Tonga we would definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the staff ...we had a very chilled holiday!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MattandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great fales in the garden, with a gentle wander down to beautiful white sand beach. Fantastic snorkelling, I don't think I've ever seen such a variety. Moana and Hola are lovely, as are all of the people who work there, and amazing food. A really nice community feel when you're staying there and you can be as sociable or not as you like.

Thank namesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We weren't too sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the resort. We stayed in the premium beachfront fale and loved it! I was concerned as we were travelling with our 5 month old but we had no problems and she slept so well. Great atmosphere and truly amazing food! Hopefully we will see you all again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEZZ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had the most amazing time here!! My fiancé and I stayed for one week and can't wait to come back. Moana, Hola and their beautiful family and staff made or stay very special. It was the most relaxing holiday I have had in a long time (ever)
Would be a perfect place for families to stay. Very clean and safe.
Food was amazing too!!! We had a blast
Thanks guys

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights along with another couple. We loved the place already before Moana, Hola and Steve went the extra mile to make it more special while I proposed during our stay. The food was delicious! Abundant and unpretentious, fresh sides as staples with mains like fresh yellow fin-sashimi straight off the morning's fishing boat. You must try the smoothies! The vibe was layed back, friendly and welcoming and not a high-rise or hawker in sight. And I got some sweet waves. Would recommend to anyone after a comfortable, simple and amazing holiday.

Room Tip: stayed in the deluxe cabins, beds are really comfy
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakobandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Thanks to Moana, Hola, the gorgeous kiddies and all the beautiful ladies who made our stay at Ha'atafu amazing, absolutely loved it. we travelled with our one year old babe, his first tropical adventure. It was the perfect place to start, safe, clean, simple, friendly, we got a few waves, kayaked the lagoon, lazed on the beach, went for walks, played with the local kids, devoured the yum meals, esp the fresh tuna (sashimi yumminess!) just general bliss. Thanks so much, will be back. arohanui. Gabe, Andre and Zig xx

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank ziggyrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongatapu Island
10.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
181 reviews
17.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
282 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Sunset Island Resort
Royal Sunset Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Atata Island
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha'atafu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha'atafu Beach Resort

Address: Ha'atafu Beach | Ha'atafu Beach, Tongatapu Island n/a, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range: $52 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, locally owned and family operated resort offering limited occupancy and catering for our resort guests exclusively. This ensures our guests enjoy a quiet, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere around the resort. Established in 1979 and located on the beachfront at Ha'atafu Beach .... Tongatapu's premier swimming, snorkelling and recreational beach. We welcome families with children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha`Atafu Beach Hotel Tongatapu Island
Ha'Atafu Beach Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing