We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Bliss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ha'atafu Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We weren't too sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the resort. We stayed in the premium beachfront fale and loved it! I was concerned as we were travelling with our 5 month old but we had no problems and she slept so well. Great atmosphere and truly amazing food! Hopefully we will see you all again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEZZ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
109
86
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had the most amazing time here!! My fiancé and I stayed for one week and can't wait to come back. Moana, Hola and their beautiful family and staff made or stay very special. It was the most relaxing holiday I have had in a long time (ever)
Would be a perfect place for families to stay. Very clean and safe.
Food was amazing too!!! We had a blast
Thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights along with another couple. We loved the place already before Moana, Hola and Steve went the extra mile to make it more special while I proposed during our stay. The food was delicious! Abundant and unpretentious, fresh sides as staples with mains like fresh yellow fin-sashimi straight off the morning's fishing boat. You must try the smoothies! The vibe was layed back, friendly and welcoming and not a high-rise or hawker in sight. And I got some sweet waves. Would recommend to anyone after a comfortable, simple and amazing holiday.

Room Tip: stayed in the deluxe cabins, beds are really comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakobandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Thanks to Moana, Hola, the gorgeous kiddies and all the beautiful ladies who made our stay at Ha'atafu amazing, absolutely loved it. we travelled with our one year old babe, his first tropical adventure. It was the perfect place to start, safe, clean, simple, friendly, we got a few waves, kayaked the lagoon, lazed on the beach, went for walks, played with the local kids, devoured the yum meals, esp the fresh tuna (sashimi yumminess!) just general bliss. Thanks so much, will be back. arohanui. Gabe, Andre and Zig xx

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggyrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Moana, Hola and her family provided us with an amazing holiday in Tonga, providing us with wonderful meal options each night equal to any 5 star hotel. They organised an excellent island tour and swimming with the whales. If you want the most relaxing holiday then this is the place to stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 425drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ha'atafu beach resort is a great place to stay. Food was best I have eaten on a resort with freshly caught fish every day.

Steve, Moana and Hola were very welcoming and arranged all our tours, which were great.

At the end of the day we would sit on the beach and watch the sunset and the humpback whales swimming past - just magical.

Facilities were very clean. I was concerned about having shared facilities - but it was no problem at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Steve, Hola, Moana and staff were excellent. Every day food was incredible, always looked forward to dinner especially. Didn't have to surf to enjoy, everyone from kids to oldies were stoked.
We had a couple of pulses of swell and got some excellent waves.
Swimming with whales that they organized for us was amazing. Kayaking the lagoon was neat too.
On the last sunset the whales put on a show whilst we drank beers on the beach.
Clean facilities and reasonable rooms. Bring plenty of books whilst waiting for tide.
Looking forward to going back, keen on surfing more breaks so will arrange around forecast but know can bring kids, partner or mates without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoddingBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tongatapu Island hotels
9.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
9.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
10.8 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha'atafu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha'atafu Beach Resort

Property: Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Address: Ha'atafu Beach | Ha'atafu Beach, Tongatapu Island n/a, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, locally owned and family operated resort offering limited occupancy and catering for our resort guests exclusively. This ensures our guests enjoy a quiet, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere around the resort. Established in 1979 and located on the beachfront at Ha'atafu Beach .... Tongatapu's premier swimming, snorkelling and recreational beach. We welcome families with children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha`Atafu Beach Hotel Tongatapu Island
Ha'Atafu Beach Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing