We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good historical view!”

Tonga National Cultural Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tonga National Cultural Centre is the only place in the Kingdom where you can experience TRUE TONGA. We let you experience Tongan Life in it's past, present and future. We offer/specialize in the following: Royal Day Experience - Cultural tours and demonstrations; Experience the Traditional Taumafa Kava Ceremony, watch natives demonstrate the arts of dancing, mat weaving, tapa making and traditional attires. Watch the coconut tree climbing, coconut husking, and participate in preparing ‘Umu (underground oven) and cooking traditional foods. See & feed Kingdom turtles. Experience ancient Tongan Life in the Kingdom of Tonga. Then Enjoy the relaxing breeze by the lagoon, along the sandy shores whilst you taste the foods & flavors of the Kingdom, fit for a Royal feast & watch the breathe taking performances of the ancient people of Tonga. Royal Evening Experience: The native people of Tonga will arrive and commence with the Traditional “Taumafa” Kava Ceremony (Welcoming kava ceremony), as our traditions and cultures are told at such rituals. Throughout the evening we portray the authenticity and excitement of traditional, royal feastings in ancient times, with tasteful, organic meals featuring the crispy, suckling roast pork. Throughout the evening native women tell you legendary stories of God’s with their graceful hand motion’s and movement. The masculine men on the other hand tell stories of their bravery and pride at war.Then enjoy the rest of your evening listening and dancing to music composed by famous Tongan Artists such as the late Queen Salote, Tu’imala Kaho and many more.Catering serves: We cater for weddings, birthdays, cocktails or for any function.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good historical view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lots of interesting artifacts to view.
Needs help to show stuff better and maintain the building more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cheap to eat for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

we visited for lunch and were treated by the girl serving to a local drink and desert which was lovely. The marinated fish was delish...the bbq steak wasn't quite like steak back at home as it was a stringy texture but still tasty. We went back for dinner that night as it was cheap and easy. Loved the whole drive to one window to pay and drive around the other side to wait by the door for your meal to be cooked.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The staff more than compensated for the surroundings...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My partner and I chose the venue for the traditional feast and dancing, the staff and dancers were fantastic as as the one selected for the kava ceremony, it was a delight. The food whilst not on the generous side (serings) gave you an ample sample of traditional dishes. The only disappointment was the surroundings and single public toilet, the Government needs to seriously invest into the facility if it is to trully be the 'National Cultural Centre!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Maybe I was tired and didn't get as much from it as others.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sue609158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting but pricey for what it was.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very interesting 'tour' around the little museum, and a walk around the site with plant identification and information on plant useage and preparation. Then inside to learn about tapa cloth and how it is made with a hand on session and a small piece of your own tapa to take home. Very knowledgeable guide and lots of chances to ask questions. Thought there woudl be some dancing displays and other aspects to the tour based on the description in the brochure, but thats all there was.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonga National Cultural Centre also viewed

 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 

Been to Tonga National Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing