We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly sundowner spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Banana Beach House
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Orange Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Heavenly sundowner spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at the Blue Banana for a couple of nights and enjoyed the tranquility of having the place to ourselves... Well mostly until the beautiful nightly escapades of villagers! Listening to their fun and laughter only added to the beautiful sunsets and atmosphere of this gorgeous stretch of Tongan coastline. Certainly a great place to relax and have dips in the warm Pacific lagoon 20 metres from your bed! Having dinner with Chris on the deck was a special bonus. She has lived in Tonga for three decades so knows lots about life lived on a tropical island. The owners are not intrusive but there if you need them. The pace is slow and stress is low!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tree house which had terrific views from the verandah and nice and bright. The litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
119
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Blue banana for 11 days. It is a beautiful place, with wonderful people. Blue banana is a tranquil resort, great for relax, nice swimming and snorkeling in the lagoon, which is just at your doorstep. Chris and Shane are very friendly and nice people, who gave us a lot of new information about Tonga and the history and life in Tonga. They are really helpul, and can arrange pick up at the airport, transport to city and great trip around the island.
I recommend the local fish on the bbq, it is delicious, especially with the beautiful sunset. Our holiday in Blue banana was absolutely amazing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just spend 8 days at Blue Banana, a tropical paradise. This experience for us was one of our best holidays with fantastic hosts, all cabins with unbeatable beach frontage, environmentally friendly and sustainable- a total relaxed location. The breakfast basket and fresh fish platter which Chris and Shane can provide are absolutely recommended. Overall their webpage complies with everything they have put on. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margit1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Maui Fale at the Blue Banana. It was a lovely, secluded spot right on the water. We loved being able to see the water when we woke up in the morning and have breakfast in our garden overlooking the beach. We felt like we were able to truly relax as well as enjoy the local culture. We took the bus into town, rode bikes out to the blowholes, had dinner at the restaurant next door and enjoyed the fish platters that Chris and Shane made up for us. We would highly recommend the Blue Banana! Our sleep was interrupted only by the humidity (despite the fan in the room) but having such nice, warm water to sleep in was great!

Room Tip: The Maui fale was secluded and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardiimeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opunake, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent 10 days at Blue Banana and were blown away with it and the hosts Chris and Shane. An absolutely amazing couple who made our stay one we will never forget. Blue Banana does not have the resort style facilities but that is not what we wanted. We got good clean basic facilities where we were comfortable and were able to prepare out own meals, The beach and lagoon were right on our doorstep. It is well sheltered and we were able to snorkel and swim in the warm water every day. Its location is perfect being only an interesting 30 minute bus ride from Nukualofa where we would stock up on provisions when needed. We were able to walk or cycle through the numerous villages and were so taken with the Tongan people who are so friendly and hospitable. Missing Blue Banana and will for a while.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

With the cabins right on the beach and a mesmerizing ocean view to wake up to every morning Blue Banana Beach House is just perfect for a much needed relaxing holiday. We stayed in the Boat House on our first week and after returning from Vava'u we stayed in the Maui for 12 days. Both cabins are very clean and equipped for basic cooking facilities (all you need on a holiday). A barbeque area come sundeck is situated right on the beach also a great spot for evening relaxation and watching the sun setting on the horizon. Being able to walk out of the cabin straight to the beach and turn left or right for a nice easy morning walk along the beach is a bonus. Or just having a cup of coffee on the beach first thing in the morning is simply glorious. There is a whale watching deck where relaxing and spotting the whales swimming by right in front is a great experience. The hosts Shane and Chris are very caring and warm people who treat us more like friends. They have a little collection of Lapita pottery, Tongan rock art, old surfboards and traditional artifacts in their house which are very interesting. It's worth checking them out if you are interested in archaeology, old artifacts or the origin of the Polynesian people. We loved our stay at this little slice of heaven and we highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you're after a cheap and cheerful getaway in the sun, the Blue Banana is an excellent choice. Chris and Shane are charming hosts who make you feel more like friends than guests. The cabins are very clean and perfectly equipped for basic catering. There is even a bbq for general use and the fish platters are very much reccomended - delicious and great value. Bring a snorkel and explore the reef, or just chill in the sun watching whales. Whatever your needs the Blue Banana is just the ticket. Thanks so much for a delightful holiday!

Room Tip: The Maui is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tongatapu Island hotels
10.2 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.5 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
9.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Banana Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Banana Beach House

Property: Blue Banana Beach House
Address: 1 Ika Lahi Rd | Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beach front nestled in a tropical plantation on the Royal Estate of Kanokupolu, right in the middle of the most beautiful sandy beach, close to marine reserve. All fales have prime beachfront positions right above the waters edge making them the closest accommodation to the water in Tonga. Whales swim past your door. All are fully self-contained & have great views from the windows & personal decks for relaxing solitude. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Banana Beach House Hotel Tongatapu Island
Blue Banana Beach House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing