We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Banana Beach House
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Simply Beautiful”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Blue Banana. The hosting was excellent, as Shane was very friendly. Other holidayers were also very lovely, creating an atmosphere of shared relaxation and warmth. Highlights included whale watching from the shore, using Blue Banana's bikes to cruise to Nuku'alofa, good hospitality, cleanliness and a good, basic kitchen to do our own cooking. Blue Banana strikes a happy balance between clean and aesthetically lovely (tourist-y) and relaxed and DYI (non-touristy). Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
123
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I had a week in Tonga at Blue Banana in June 2013, and we can't recommend it highly enough.
Situated on a quiet beach on the Northern tip of Tonga, you wake in your fale to the sound of the ocean. The grounds of the Blue Banana are beautifully kept, the fales and their bathrooms are clean and well equipped, and it is quiet and peaceful. You can hire kayaks and bikes from them, get a lesson in paddleboarding, or head out for day trips fishing and diving. But for us, we just loved sitting in the sun reading books around our lovely fale.
But the real magic of the Blue Banana are Shane and Chris themselves. We didn't get to meet Shane, who was away at the time, but we found Chris to be an absolutely wonderful host. Among many other kindnesses and offers of assistance, Chris helped us organise a car to rent before we arrived; showed us how to open coconuts and get the fresh flesh for our cooking; cut a lobster we'd bought in half and gave us cooking advice, and ensured we had transport to the airport for our departure. It felt like a home away from home, and we are raving about the Blue Banana to all our friends and family. THANK YOU, CHRIS!

Room Tip: The middle fale that we stayed in, called the 'Treehouse' has a detached bathroom, but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunRabbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 6 nights--an excellent place. Accommodations and grounds are well kept and clean. Especially liked the communal deck at beach-side for gathering and visiting with guests and hosts. Snorkeling was just a few steps away with a large variety of fish and clear water. Long white sand beach for walking.

Chris and Shane are outstanding hosts and made our stay ever more enjoyable. Definitely a place to go back to.

Susan & Dick, Kalispell, Montana USA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

To first sorry for our bad english. We are globetrotter from southern Hungary and we was on different places in the world, but never before we was on so a beautiful an peaceful place how here.
The full equipped Beach Houses stand in a tropical garden, in the shadow under big trees, with a view over the ocean.
If you come to Tongatapu stay here and rent a car (4WD) to discover the Island. Never forget to be back In Blue Banana Beach House 1 hour before sunset. Sit down under a tree, open a cold beer, do nothing, speak nothing, look only over the Pacific Ocean in the sunset an enjoy the "NOW".
On this place a warm TANK YOU on the owners Shane & Chris. They are lovely and very helpful. It was a unforgotten time in your little paradise.
All the best, Christoph & Claudia from Hungary

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean and confortable. No Fitness center and no pool, but you don´t need a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank germanemigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIDDERMINSTER
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The fale was basic, but comfortable with good facilities. Marvellous views out to the reef and beyond. Great walks along a deserted beach - walked the whole length of it and saw no-one else. The bathroom was outside, but no inconvenience, except when we had a heavy downpour. Chris and Shane were very hospitable and interesting. They have lived on the island for almost 30 years and know it well. Vai, the driver, treated us to some Tongan cooking and gave a fascinating tour round the island. Make sure you see the blow-holes - probably the best sight we saw on our whole trip round Australia, New Zealand and Laos.
Try the Tongan coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just got home from a week of total relaxation and fun. The beach is beautiful, with a gorgeous pink/golden sand. The water was so clear it was like looking through glass. The variety of fish was incredible, each time we went out we saw something new. Chris and Shane thank you for helping make our holiday so wonderful, you really go the extra mile to make sure your guests are looked after and happy!

Take reef shoes, food you like to eat (you can take anything except fruit anda veg, but the island has this in abudance), and some good wine!

We even saw some whales although it wasn't whale season, how lucky was that!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A marvelous, laid back rustic with a flair beach bungalow!stunning ocean and lagoon view from your own Fale, or hanging out on the sun deck over looking the beach. Very special staff, and the owners Chris and Shane ....so friendly, helpful fun people, who make your stay more than memorable. The reef and snorkeling out front, some of the best!
Good surfing as well, kayaking over the leisure waters of the tranquil lagoon, a must!
Awesome seafood and the perfect BBQ to enjoy!
Really don't want to leave!!!!!
Beyond clean, your own little paradise amongst the jungle around.

Room Tip: All the units are great....depends on numbers! Boat house is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tongatapu Island hotels
10.2 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.5 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
172 reviews
9.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Banana Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Banana Beach House

Property: Blue Banana Beach House
Address: 1 Ika Lahi Rd | Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beach front nestled in a tropical plantation on the Royal Estate of Kanokupolu, right in the middle of the most beautiful sandy beach, close to marine reserve. All fales have prime beachfront positions right above the waters edge making them the closest accommodation to the water in Tonga. Whales swim past your door. All are fully self-contained & have great views from the windows & personal decks for relaxing solitude. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Banana Beach House Hotel Tongatapu Island
Blue Banana Beach House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing