We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms - Bad Service”
Review of On Vacation Amazon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
On Vacation Amazon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good rooms - Bad Service”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

1. Told don't have to go to meeting because booked thru online companies (Expedia/booking.Com)
2. Unhelpful receptionist
3. WiFi possible but not available for guests
4. Nobody speaks English (except 1 barman)
5. Nobody knows anything about anything outside their designated area (eg. receptionist knows nothing about tours)
6. Tour to Puerto narino very uninteresting, basically we were taken out for lunch,a very expensive lunch!!
7. Indigenous village was just a house selling handicrafts
8. Administrator(Lucie) passed the blame to everyone else, very unhelpful. does not speak English.
9. Paid 45000 for transport there and back from airport but no one mentioned that the last boat from the hotel leaves at 9:30am even when you're flight is at 4pm, far too early and no time to relax in hotel on last day
10. Jacuzzi not working
11. Rooms are good, big, spacious, easily occupy 4 people, therefore we could have had 1 room for all of us
12. Food good
13. Barmen nice, cocktails good (strong if you want)
14. Pool area very nice
15. Saw dolphins everyday from the pool (more than on the tour!)
16. Guide to Puerto Marino didn't give much info, didn't speak English and was asleep when tourists spotted dolphins, which he should have been helping us to spot
17. When we did spot dolphins they drove us and stopped so we weren't facing the dolphins and the guide and driver stood on the roof of boat so they could see but didn't care of their customers could see
18. Tours are not well advertised, guests have to physically search for guides and ask many questions to find the tour they want
19. ran out of beer
20. Cats eat off tables
21. badly designed/layout- toilets smell bad
22. Cleaner in room, cleaned toilet seat then sink and mirror with same cloth
23. Manager went to bed just after we complained and well before guests, didn't seem to care about guests nor did she help her staff to tidy up after a busy night

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and entertainment as people can see into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    82
    57
    23
    33
See reviews for
120
83
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

On the boat to the hotel we got soaked, make sure to have your waterproofs to hand. On arrival we discovered that nobody on the staff speaks English, our Spanish-speaking friend had to cancel at the last minute so we were left slightly at sea. Some of the staff did their best to help us, others seemed indifferent. On arrival it would have been nice if facilities for clothes drying had been made available. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the a/c and tv worked. Importantly the room was mosquito free but the other bed in the room did not have a net. Do note that there is no hot water here. The food was ok, certainly not gourmet, and all served on a buffet, a personal bug-bear of mine. Breakfast is served 7-9 but in reality this can start as late as 8.00, possibly due to powercuts. A snack is served at 5, be prepared to scrum down if you want one! All drinks at the bar are served in small cups (a can of beer is divided by two) and be prepared to queue as there is a single bar man doing his best to cater to the whole hotel. When we requested no ice (in beer!) it was ignored. Similarly the pool which has great views across the river seems too small for a hotel this size. The various boat tours run from the hotel I will review elsewhere but a few pointers include: seats near the front of the boat get best views (the spray at the back obscured view); not all the seats have cushions; wear plenty of sun cream; if your feet are bigger than a UK size 8 bring your own wellies.
This hotel was full of middle-aged Colombians having a whale of a time, however, if you're looking for a romantic getaway or an authentic Amazon experience there must be better options.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomasjenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

As a female in her early 20s traveling alone, I must say that this has been the most amazing trip of my life. I wanted something on the road less traveled and I ended up somewhere without a road at all.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the employees are all very friendly and attentive. The bartenders are the best. It's about a 20-25 minute boat ride from Leticia right on the river and you can't get more Amazonian than right smack in the middle of the Amazon. I had a family of what sounded like bats on the roof of my room.

The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. There is no hot water for showering but after a long day hiking in the sweltering Amazon humidity and heat, you won't need it. Bring lots of sunscreen and even more insect repellant, though the mosquitoes will eat you up anyway. Also, don't forget your rainboots, you'll definitely need them.

Since the hotel is all inclusive, it comes with a breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, along with a snack at 5. The meals and drinks all come from the local cuisine so you'll find an eclectic mix of Peruvian, Colombian and Brazilian dishes. It's all very delicious.

Also, the group you arrive with is usually the group you go on excursions with so the trip sort of comes with a built-in family. The excursions usually take you through the river to various indigenous villages which are COP 5,000 tax per person per village. The tax isn't included in the resort/main excursion fee. You'll be able to dance with the local tribes, meet and touch native wildlife like sloths and a baby anaconda, and speak to a local shaman if you'd like some spiritual guidance. You also get the chance to visit a tribal village in Peru, Tabatinga in Brazil and go to a monkey sanctuary (not included in the package). The excursions also include hikes around the forest guided by local natives of the area which adds to the experience. You might even get to see some dolphins while on the river.

This brings up a really important tip: bring cash (COP), and plenty of it, all in smaller bills. With souvenirs, the village taxes, the day trip to Brazil, any other add-on excursion you'd like to take, tips for the resort staff and other expenses here and there, it starts to add up, and they don't accept Visa or Mastercard in the middle of the Amazon. Another thing, when going to one of the tribal villages, it's customary to bring things for the kids. Used clothes, cookies or other prepackaged snacks, school supplies, stuff like that. Don't forget or you'll feel bad once you get there empty-handed.

Also, keep in mind that you're going to be basically cut off from the outside world for the length of your stay. Trees don't have WiFi (yet) and though the hotel does have a WiFi network, it barely worked for me on the day it was actually up. A good spot for WiFi is right at the beginning of the wooden walkthrough that takes you through the jungle, by the way.

My main gripe was regarding guest excursions and planning. My package included an excursion per day, with the option for added day trips but it was all a big mess. The dates kept getting changed and communication between the excursion planner and the guests was minimal at best. No one knew what was going on because no one was ever told. I was supposed to go on a canopy trip but didn't know I would be basically alone with some random dude in the middle of nowhere until I actually got to the place. Somehow I was supposed to have known? Anyway, someone needs to get the guy in charge an assistant or a daily planner, or something.

This was the best trip I've had in my life and I can't wait to go back. If you end up going, make sure to look up at the stars one night and appreciate the Milky Way in all its glory. The night sky is breathtaking over there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Viviana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent 3 nights here with two friends. We had a fantastic time. We really appreciated the fact that we were away from the hustle and bustle of Leticia. The hotel was still being built at the time of the stay, which meant that nightly entertainment was in the restaurant - right next to our room. This was a shame, as after a day in the Amazonian heat, the last thing you want to hear is Karaoke.

Still the room was gorgeous, the staff pleasant and the whole hotel was immaculate. There is a great little wooden pathway to follow into the jungle from the hotel that literally leads to nowhere. We felt very safe and well looked after the whole visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leticia hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Amazon Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
Kurupira Floating Cabin Amazonas
7.6 mi away
Hotel Anaconda
Hotel Anaconda
#4 of 7 in Leticia
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Utuane
Hotel Utuane
#6 of 7 in Leticia
45 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Pirarucu
Hotel Pirarucu
#5 of 7 in Leticia
159 reviews
7.7 mi away
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On Vacation Amazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On Vacation Amazon

Property: On Vacation Amazon
Address: Vereda San Jose Leticia, Leticia 110011, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Amazonas Department > Leticia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Leticia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — On Vacation Amazon 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your On Vacation Amazon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing