We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafael Clavijo has a wonderful park.”

Parque Ecologico Mundo Amazonico
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Leticia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ethnobotanical center of environmental interaction. The park includes a large Collection of endemic plants, fruits of the Amazon, cultural scenerios, and the Aquarium. Here you can see the plants from the Amazon and explore their uses in an interactive experience. You will have a fun and unforgettable time learning about the jungle, and ecological processes we are developing to help the people and the rainforest. At the aquarium you will encounter exotic fish and reptiles only found here in the Amazon.This unforgettable experience is only 15 minutes away from Lecticia.ior citizens, and visitors with disabilities.
Atlantida, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rafael Clavijo has a wonderful park.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found an article on this park in the LAN airplane on the flight to Leticia. We were delighted to have the opportunity to see this park which opened in 2011. We took a local microbus out to the road to the park and then walked the last kilometer to the gates. We had an excellent tour in spite of heavy rains for most of the tour. We met with and dined with the owner, Rafael, and his family. You simply cannot come close to matching what you will see in the park on any jungle trek. Rafael´s passion for his park will ensure that it continues to grow. On our visit this month, we were also given a preview visit to the new Amazon fish aquarium area. A butterfly display area is planned soon too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sydblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    55
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fesalgo”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fue un excelente cierre del viaje al Amazonas. Rafael es un gran guía y el parque nos ayudó a comprender mejor las limitaciones del ecosistema y los grandes potenciales que encierra la selva en plantas con potencial alimenticio y curativo. Adicionalmente el almuerzo estuvo delicioso y completamente orgánico.

It was an excellent end to our trip to the Amazon. Rafael is a great guide and the park helped us to better understand the limitations of the ecosystem and the great potential the jungle has to offer in food and healing plants. Additionally, the lunch was delicious and truly organic.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fesalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudwater
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We went here for a visit as we had a spare afternoon and thought that it might waste a couple of hours..... Well it was great, our guide was very knowledgeable and we were very impressed with the plants they had there and the uses for them. He showed us how they are trying to educate the local school children on recycling and the environment around them. There are also a couple of animals in the park who they are trying to rehabilitate.. One being a wooly monkey who is absolutely gorgeous. He snuggles into your arms and just wants to be loved.. I would totally recommend this as we found it riveting and couldnt get enough of the park and what it has to offer. There is no fee for this but you can make a donation.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saffiemilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael-Clavijo, Gerente at Parque Ecologico Mundo Amazonico, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear visitor,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our park. We are really happy to hear that you enjoy the visit.

Also, it is nice to hear that you like our little friends, the animals in the park are recovering and given to us by the government office in charge of animal welfare to look after them and when they are ready, they go back to the jungle.

It calls my attention that you have written that “there is no fee for this but you can make a donation”. Well this is not true; we have an entrance fee and different plans for you to enjoy the park and the Amazon. Not sure how you receive this information, sorry for the misunderstanding but I assure you that the money that is charge to the visitors go to the maintenance of the plants, the land, cleaning, staff, electricity and all the expenses to run a place like this . Furthermore, it also goes to the development of new projects like the organic honey, the tea and the recycling program.

Yours sincerely,
Rafael Clavijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

In our short time in Leticia/Amazons, my wife and I took the time to go to Parque Ecologico (Tematico) Mundo Amazonico because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor. I was sorely disappointed. I was expecting a walk through the forest with a guide who explained the plants around us. That is not at all this park. It is a garden on cleared land where they have collected various plants from around the world, and a guide tells you the medicinal value of each plant. It's not a bad thing in itself, but not what I came to the Amazon for.
There are a handful of guides, but the one we had was a bit annoying. For one plant he explained that it gives you visions--not hallucinations, mind you, but visions of your past and future, and should only be used when you have a purpose. Take that for what's worth. He also railed on the evils of white man and the virtues of his Indigenous people. I totally get that there are things we need to learn from each other, but there was none of that in his attitude. He reminded me of the vegan who powers his car by his own sense of self-satisfaction. The tea he made for us from the plants in the garden was very good, though.
The best part about the park was the monkey who roams around, though he is shy. It was also fun to try the fruit from a couple of the trees. There were a couple of gimmicky Indigenous-type things to try, like shoot a blowdart (fun) or pretend you are a cannibal (silly). They say the tour takes 3 hours, but they were done with us in 2 hours, and I was more than happy for that.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BogotanoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael-Clavijo, Propietario at Parque Ecologico Mundo Amazonico, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear visitor,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our park. We are really sorry that your visit didn’t meet the expectations you had and on behalf of the Park and the staff we apologize for any inconvenience.
The behavior of our guide is very unusual, our staff belong to the indigenous communities close to our location and they are proud of their culture, I will make sure that the way they speak is appropriate and can see that the differences between the cultures enriches our lives and here in Leticia we are pretty much one united society.
We have several circuits in the park and the guide should have indicate you that there is a jungle trail that takes 45 minutes walking and is precisely what you were looking for, thanks to your comments I will ensure that this is offered to everyone on arrival and is explained clearly.
It is nice to hear that you like one of our little friends, one of the monkeys that use the park as a recovery center, we have several species that are recovering and are given to us by the government office in charge of animal welfare to look after them and when they are ready they go back to the jungle.
I’m also glad that you enjoy our tea, we are really proud of our organic products. It may be of your interest that we have initiated a project with native bees and will have soon organic honey as well.
It would be a pleasure to have you back in our park, I will take care to receive you personally and in English if you wish, this is a family project, we have put our heart and only wish that every visitor can have the best experience. We recovered the land from cattle farming and it has been really hard work to see the land flourish again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to return to our beloved land. Once again please accept my apologies and hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip in Colombia.
Yours sincerely,
Rafael Clavijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibagué, Tolima, Colombia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and Insightful”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Rafael and Family have done a fantastic job in creating a Must-See attraction in Leticia. The park is well designed and relaxed. Rafael did a fantastic job in guiding us through the park and explaining the ecological workings of the rainforest, the different indigenous cultures and the threats being posed to the forest. Within the park we tried different varieties of tropical fruit and enjoyed the great familial ambience.

Strongly recommended.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Ecologico Mundo Amazonico also viewed

Leticia, Amazonas Department
Leticia, Amazonas Department
 
Leticia, Amazonas Department
 

Been to Parque Ecologico Mundo Amazonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing