We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent experience!”
Review of Hotel Pirarucu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pirarucu
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Leticia
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exellent experience!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I traveled with my Family during September to the hotel, My expectations traveling to Leticia were not set on to finding a 5 star hotel experience, but rather a good base camp to come back to after a day of jungle explorations.

Pirarucu fulfilled the expectations thanks to the hotel manager (Medardo), he literally went out of his way to hook us up with the best guides, recommended the best places to go and even accompanied us to some of the sites.

I recomment this hotel to all "no nonsense" travelers that go to the amazon to do what you should do there: Get in touch with nature and experience the beauty of the river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan_Arango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    38
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
63
44
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a great experience at Hotel Pirarucu. I reserved an air conditioned room and when I got there, it was very large with a nice view of their backyard. From my window was a view of a large mango tree that parakeets frequented in the mornings. When I arrived they welcomed me with Acerola juice and were very friendly. The free breakfast was very good and I appreciate good food. For around U.S. $40 I think I got a great deal when you compare what many of the other hotels were charging. They also let me store a bag there while I went to a lodge in Brasil. When I returned, they let me shower and organize my stuff in one of their rooms until it was time to catch my flight. There was no charge for this extra and I really appreciated it. I really needed a shower!
I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay there again if I return to Leticia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrneum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Pirarucu for two nights, one on either end of our trip to Puerto Nariño. The manager was very welcoming and brought us glasses of fresh juice. There didn't seem to be many guests, so we were able to negotiate the price, and were given a nice room with many more beds than we needed, air conditioning, a TV, and breakfast included. The room and bathroom were clean enough, especially in comparison to other places we stayed in Colombia. At the end of our trip, after several poor nights of sleep due to the heat and jungle noises, we were really happy to be at Hotel Pirarucu. Upon checkout, we were given small wooden carvings that we had admired in the gift shop. If we, or our friends/family, are ever in Leticia, we would gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

while traveling in Colombia in this hotel we found people who where very helpfull, well interested and who have an excellent knowledge about all the trips to be made in this Amazon country. My son, just 8 years was received with smiles, with interes for his kind of world, while advising about a boat trip his interes came first, not to long and realy interesting to see.
I will not come back to Leticia, but would like to advice travellers to visit this hotel, and yes they are making it more beautiful and comfortable to stay on your travels.
They have a fast collection of woodcraft made by the Indians, it was my son who was free to sit and watch all those delphins, and he made his choice with a very beautifull one which he will have as a riminder of our trip to this special place in the Amazon region, Rudolf Vreeburg

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet, although the street it self is very quiet, outside of the cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rudolf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

this hotel is was so bad im convinced other reviews here are false (I saw the tripadvisor website open on the receptionists desk) and its strange that most reviews are from columbians and they have only ever reviewed this hotel!!
anyway,this is my experience;
I was met at the airport by the manager, which was nice, until he shoved me into his mates taxi who then drove me the two minutes to the hotel where he then charged 7000 pesos! whats the point in an airport greeting service if you just put someone in the taxi
The room was awful, and bathroom was worse
The first morning I was awoken by repair work on the roof of my room at 7am, I had to complain twice before they stopped working until 9am when they started all day until 6pm.
The icing on the cake was the breakfast served to me on the second day (I had breakfast elsewhere the first morning). I would not serve this breakfast to my dog it was that bad, the petacon was soggy and at least 3 days old, when I asked for toast I got bread toasted on one side with no butter or jam.
All in all, this is an awful hotel and must be avoided. As I said, the reviews here are strange, the english reviews are written in bad english

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pmggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Leticia We stayed at the Hotel Pirarucú.
We chose the suite for our holiday memorable and so it was.
We tour the Amazon River, the highway and the cities of Leticia and Tabatinga.
My family and I were well served by the manager Mr. Medardo Gomez of the Hotel.
This will not return to the old year wedding anniversary with my wife.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arthur j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leticia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amazon Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Hotel Anaconda
Hotel Anaconda
#4 of 7 in Leticia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kurupira Floating Cabin Amazonas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Utuane
Hotel Utuane
#6 of 7 in Leticia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna
0.5 mi away
Waira Suites Hotel
Waira Suites Hotel
#1 of 25 in Leticia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pirarucu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pirarucu

Property: Hotel Pirarucu
Address: Calle 13 Nro. 10 - 45 | Centro, Leticia, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Amazonas Department > Leticia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Leticia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pirarucu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pirarucu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing