We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahatu Guest House & Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$101
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shadday(Leticia)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Zuruma Hotel(Leticia)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Utuane(Leticia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
35
16
7
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
16
7
7
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 67 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely setting of a hostel and a short walk from town and frontier making a nice stop in Leticia if you don't want to stay in town. What's let's this place down is the management...emailed 3 times prior to arrival with no response. Upon arrival at hostel had got reservations all wrong and nearly sent me away before offering 2 beds?? Ordered a 6 bed dorm en suite. Turns out this was the 6 bed house on stilts above the hammocks with an outside bathroom. The room was noisy as creaking floorboards and door. Bathroom simple as expected but not en-suite. Breakfast of coffee was intermittent and given location away from main drag a food service would be great. Given the cost would expect a lot more.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We arrived in Leticia after a week on the boat from Manaus and this place was just what we wanted. Beautiful setting out of the center of town but only a 5-10 min walk. Quiet, with comfortable beds and lots of hammocks. The owner was really helpful with all our questions and trip planning. The price was good and we were very satisfied. Definitely recommend this place to decompress and recharge your energy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jroBAMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I saw this hostel in the book and i went there to stay 3 days .. After 2 days boat trip from peru to here I was so tired so i need a clean room good place. SMILE HELPFUL Owns! but he didn't even say Hello or Welcome to me! and there was a lady she was just so scary with angry face! He show me the rooms slowly he didn't even care if we were there or not when i say to my gf to diside he just went away.. was no air inside to the rooms! Pay a bit more and go better place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yusuf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Ive just written another review for this hostel on a different account...
To summarise:
+welcoming staff
+good location
+good price
+comfy beds
+hammocks to relax in

-could do with cleaning a bit more but hey ho, youre in the jungle!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This was not like any other hostel I've stayed in. It was more like a jungle lodge, only a fraction of the price. The setting is incredible, there's a lagoon with turtles and enormous fish, and it's surrounded by the sounds of the jungle. The facilities are great, they have a bar area, in which there were generally people drinking every night (the beer there is reasonable), a kitchen (the implements need re-stocking though), a table tennis table, and they provide free drinking water. The guy at reception, Carlos, was friendly and helpful, and spoke perfect English! Also, there's a great street BBQ place just down the road - cheap and delicious! We loved our time here, and would have stayed longer if we could.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank salthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews