We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
441
311
106
40
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
311
106
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunique experienceunique hotelbuffet dinnersmall hillcommon areasgames roomde salbuffet stylewatch the sunsetremote locationprivate tourwooden floorsreception areahot waterday tourstayed one nightthe wi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 926 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Luna Salada about a week ago. The Hotel itself was immaculate, the service excellent, and the food delicious.

If you are traveling to the Salt Flats, Hotel Luna Salada is the perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: If you are a couple traveling in Bolivia, make sure you request the "matrimonial" bed. Also, make sure to bring sandals or slippers to the hotel (even the floor of this hotel is made of salt).
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I really like Luna Salada more than the other hotels nearby because they take credit cards and are always willing to help. They let you barbecue and party whereas the others try and make money off everything you do while at the hotel. I needed a tire that tore along the way and the hotel staff found one for me in Uyuni. Good service. They helped me find fuel too.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms upstairs
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miguel_Reznicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is 40 kilometers away from the airport, with very bad roads! we stayed for 2 nights, and we can see the Salt Flats from the hotel. Had such an unusual feeling, your room built with salted blocks..and found it a bit uncomfortable walking on salted floor too!! Overall the Receptionist Giovanni was great, very helpful and friendly . Since this hotel is far from everything, it is impossible to go anywhere at night to eat. Therefore you are obliged to eat their buffet meal for 30$ per person, its not the money but its more the quality of the food. Their soup was ok, the main dishes were just ok..but to pricey for what they offer..and the dessert..was just horrible! what a waste! Otherwise..it was an experience, I must say to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Cool hotel that definitely has character. The views are amazing since the hotel is right on the edge of the salt flats. My room was comfortable and hot showers felt great after a day on the salt flats. The gentleman at the front desk is super helpful (thank you for squeezing me into that sunrise tour last minute!) Definitely worth checking this place out for a night or two. Only drawback is the cost of taxi to get to and from the hotel. It cost about 300bs to get from Uyuni to the hotel. And the food wasn't great. Breakfast was included which was nice, dinner wasn't very good.

But the great service, amazing sunset views and uniqueness of the hotel outweighs the drawbacks. Try it for at least one night!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Stormcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and absolutely loved the hotel and the room. Somewhere completely different and quirky. Just a few small issues.

Our room was fantastic. Huge, comfy and warm bed. Lovely modern bathroom. And amazing views of the salt flats. You could actually walk to them from the hotel, but we didn't due to lack of time. Even though the room felt modern, the toilet seat had come completely off and the heater we were provided with didn't work.

The guy on reception (sorry, forgot his name) was lovely and friendly and very helpful.

We didn't experience any issues with hot water, like in some of the other reviews, but the wifi was extremely painful (hardly ever working, then slow when it did)!! We're not the type to go away and spend the whole time on the net, but we had counted on this in order to book some transfers for the next part of our travels.

Food in the restaurant was ok. It was edible and tasted fine!! Breakfast was 'ok' as well. Not a great selection. They did kindly provide breakfast for us on the morning of our departure as we left at 5am, however, whilst they had left tea and cereal and bread, they hadn't left any cutlery or mugs/bowls, so we couldn't actually have anything anyway!!

We tried to arrange a transfer from the airport to the hotel on our arrival, and this was a painful process. We didn't get responses and when we did, they did not address the request. In the end I used google translater to email them in spanish and finally got through, albeit the day we arrived is when we had a response!

We booked a private tour guide through the hotel and whilst the guy who took us was lovely, I can't help but feel we got ripped off. The 'tour' consisted of the driver taking us to the mummies (2 skeletons in a stone hut), the salt museum (a hut with a salt heater in it) and then the afternoon on the salt flats (which was fantastic). We then got dropped back to the hotel for a few hours, then collected later to watch the sunset, then stay to look at the stars. We were provided lunch, which was relatively good quality and 2 drinks (we were told we'd have 6). The cost was $400 for 2 of us, really not great value for money. This did however include a transfer back to the airport in the morning.

Location was great, as per previous posts, 40km from uyuni, however, for us, this was not an issue as we loved being so far away from everything.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it, however, I think Luna Salada need to work on the value for money. Either a lower price, or higher standards.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MeetTheEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews