We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Salar de Uyuni

Salar de Uyuni
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Private Uyuni Salt Flats Night Tour from Uyuni
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Uyuni
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest salt plain is a popular and scenic destination for tour groups.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Out of this world. The actual salar is smaller then I thought but very interesting, and the area surrounding the salt lake is other worldly as well. Must see when in Bolivia.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wegoplaces4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,065
    567
    124
    43
    136
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a marvel”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The salt flats are quite extraordinary. 100 km square, nothing like you will have ever seen. Quite a slog to get too if you drive but well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Salar d'Uyuni with "Cordillera Travellers"”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you go in Bolivia, it's the place to do.
We have done 4 days with the company named "Cordillera Travellers" without problems, and the young driver was very friendly.
Be careful with other company you have sometimes driver totaly pissed !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Papitchounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Salar De La Uyuni”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you have come this far, this is a must do!!!! Far from the Hilton or even a hostel. You will probably end up having no shower for 3 days, very little electricity, and the banos are probably the worst you will ever see, but sooooo worth it!!!!! bring lotsa TP and wipes, a good flashlight, there are several places to stop and buy water and don't forget some snacks. I was fortunate to get hooked up with an incredible group of people as I was travelling alone. Most definitely rent a sleeping bag(fur lined).....the hostels you stay in provide extra blankets as well, and I actually found it too warm!! Also, be prepared to share your hostel room with several people! Again, I was with a great group and we had a blast. Best tour group to go with is Red Planet!!!! Ask for Rolando as your guide and Leonardo as your driver. I had read lots about drunk drivers and accidents, but Leonardo was the best, as was Rolando as a guide!!!! When you are finished your 3 day tour, you will be filthy and tired, but why else would you be here??!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uyuni
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your Travel was top notch”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had a reservation with Thiago Tours that they messed up the dates on so ended up booking though Your Travel at the last minute.

Our Driver Rodger was great and the food was fantastic, only surpassed by the photo ops along the way!

Ásk Eros in the office where to stock up on cheap wine for the tour!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salar de Uyuni also viewed

 
Uyuni, Potosi Department
Uyuni, Potosi Department
 

Been to Salar de Uyuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing