We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but quaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic but quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed only for one night after a Salar de uyuni tour, great location on the main plaza, large comfy beds in the dorms, very good hot showers. Breakfast was basic but OK, main downside (compared to many other hostels) was no WI FI but wasnt a problem as there are many cheap internet cafes nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgeorge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    110
    74
    23
    14
See reviews for
6
100
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is the only (cheap) hotel you can book online - and that's exactly the reason anyone ends up here.
The rooms are clean but very very basic. Since they only offer a shared bathroom across the freezing cold couryard, the double rooms are overprized at 170bs. You'll get a heater to combat the cold, but only after 8pm - so if you're in the room before that you'd better wear a few layers since it's colder than outside.
And - as nearly everywhere in Uyuni - no WiFi.

My advice: for 300bs the Toñito Hotel offers WiFi and nice rooms (so I've heard) - maybe a good nights sleep is worth the 10 dollars more. Or just look up some of the other hotels noted under Bed&Breakfast on Tripadvisor...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Publizischt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uyuni hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Piedra Blanca while in Uyuni. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when we needed help booking a last minute trip to the Salt Flats. The location is perfect with restaurants and shops right next to the hostel.

The rooms are pretty basic but the beds are warm, clean blankets and you get a heater in your room at 8 PM. They're are also hot showers which is a plus!

We stayed in both a private and shared room and were happy with both.

The hostel doesn't have internet but there are plenty of internet cafe's close by for cheap.

We will be recommending Piedra Blanca to anyone we know travelling to Uyuni in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Room- We stayed in a private with shared bathroom. The room was very spacious with a comfy bed and warm covers. We were given a heater that automatically switched on at 8pm and switched off at 8am. As Uyuni is freezing this is a must! The hostel is quite expensive so I think we were paying big for the heater!!
Food- Very basic breakfast. There was nothing left when we arrived so we had to wait for the staff to arrive back. Only one bit of bread each with butter and coffee.
Hostel- Hostel had a common room. Bathrooms were clean and there were plenty of toilets and showers. Any extra help from the staff cost money... For example to leave our bags until we got our bus cost us extra!
Staff- Helpful enough. Answered any questions we asked.
Location- 15 min walk from bus terminal. Hostel is located downtown with bars and restaurants.
Uyuni- The only reason people come to Uyuni is for the Salt Flats...and they do not disappoint!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our salt flat tour. We booked a double room. We were given a heater at 8pm for the night. The bed sheets were fleece so really warm. Had thee best hot shower I have had in South America. The breakfast was really simple but nice. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AineM191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very good location and very hot showers which is becoming a rare thing in this part of the world. Breakfast is included, and there is a good common living area and use of the kitchen. No internet, though. Heaters in the rooms at night and warm bed lined, though my bed was a bit on the uncomfortable side. The shared dorms are spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm before my salt flat tour. Its right in the main square. It has really comfy beds with warm covers. The showers were HOT and good pressure. We also got a heater in our room for 8pm to 8am (it gets freeeeeezing at night so the heater is excellent) and it has a good tv room with cable tv and DVDs (there's nothing to do in Uyuni) breakfast is included but its stale bread and cornflakes but hey, it's free. I'd defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
0.2 mi away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 17 in Uyuni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
#7 of 17 in Uyuni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
#5 of 17 in Uyuni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
0.0 mi away
Hostal Castillo de Lilianna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel

Property: Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel
Address: Av. Arce No 27, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing