We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So clean and warm!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm before my salt flat tour. Its right in the main square. It has really comfy beds with warm covers. The showers were HOT and good pressure. We also got a heater in our room for 8pm to 8am (it gets freeeeeezing at night so the heater is excellent) and it has a good tv room with cable tv and DVDs (there's nothing to do in Uyuni) breakfast is included but its stale bread and cornflakes but hey, it's free. I'd defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and I was quite impressed. the location was great, the manager was friendly and quite helpful and breakfast was your standard bread, jam and tea. The beds in the dorm were comfortable with plenty of blankets to keep warm. Showers were nice and hot and I was happy with their TV room for relaxing. I would definitely come back. Enjoy...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beautiful building, spacey rooms, nice staff. It's very cold, though, and you can use a heater but only during night. On the other hand, energy is a big problem in Uyuni so it's not really their fault.
Basic breakfast, as more-less everywhere else in Bolivia...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omakapuje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Booked online and didn't expect much rocking up late but had a warm dorm waiting with a heater! Warm comfy beds and hot showers with amazing pressure! Breakfast is your standard Bolivian breaky but the living area is good to hang out in the sun if you have to kill time in Uyuni before your trip. No wifi here though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKLC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located less than a 5 minute walk from the train station, so good if you are arriving late at night. However, you can only shower between 8 AM and 8 PM and also that is the only time that space heaters are available for your dorm room. If you want to stay around after 11 AM checkout you need to pay 15 bolivianos and are not allowed to shower during that time. No wifi but lots of places nearby with computers, usually run 5 bolivianos per hour to use. Staff fairly rude and overall a terrible breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolethompson427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located hostel in Uyuni.

Private room was big and decent bathroom with hot shower.

No wifi available.

Six sheets on bed and heater provided from 8pm-8am (it gets really cold in Uyuni at night)

Large lounge and blankets available. Kitchen small and basic, coffee and tea available at breakfast only.

Good for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a double room before and then after our 4x4 tour across the salt flats. Both times the room was spacious and fairly clean, and en suite had a decent shower with 24hr hot water. There was some "Interesting" wiring in the bathroom, and the upstairs room we stayed in was a little noisy when people trekked past the door en route to the shared bathroom due to creaky floorboards. Breakfast is basic but fine, and the lack of WiFi is a pain, but not unusual in Bolivia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
0.0 mi away
Hostal Quinua Dorada
Hostal Quinua Dorada
#2 of 23 in Uyuni
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
#17 of 23 in Uyuni
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Magia de Uyuni
0.1 mi away
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
#8 of 23 in Uyuni
91 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel

Address: Av. Arce No 27, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing