We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to spend a night after a tiring 4x4 tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a night after a tiring 4x4 tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This place has decent facilities, comfortable beds, good location. Negatives was no wifi, ( nowhere really has in uyuni) showers weren't hot when I tried them, later they were but still annoying, rooms are a little noisy. I would recommend staying here after the 4x4 tour though, cos youll want a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinadam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    112
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
6
101
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great basic place, in the middle of where you need to be. We arrived very early and they were up and waiting for us, and happy to do it. Be prepared, it is COLD in Uyuni at the end of May. While we didn't have to ask for extra blanket like some travelers, it was still pretty chilly. We did have a private room (very spacious) with shared bath and was given a heater. Floors are cold, but rooms are clean. The staff was very helpful and informative, always ready with a smile. The showers were nice and HOT, ( took a bit to start, but lasted long time) which is a extra bonus when you are backpacking. If you are hoping to wash any clothing, be prepared for a 2 day drying time on the line. The rate was appropriate (about 9 US per person). If you check out and want a place to store your gear, or to shower, they allow you to come back for a small fee.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor close to the washrooms to be the first into the shower. Don't be shy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've been here in August and outside was -10...the private rooms have no heater and no toilet, just a bed with a lot of wool blankets and duvet and you will feel like never getting out from it in the morning . Toilets/showers are shared and warm water will take a little to come out but in the end it will. Nice breakfast in the morning and helpful, kind staff. The location is very central even if Uyuni is such a small town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorbailgreco87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We arrived by train at 2am and the Hostal happily opened up for us (we emailed before to check this was ok). Hostal very close to train station. Clean room with electric heater and onsuite bathroom. We had our own sleeping bags but there are blankets. Nb they dont provide clean sheets so at least bring a sheet sleeping bag. They do provide clean towels and have HOT SHOWERS ALL DAY! Also allowed us to use showers after our Sal de Uyuni tour for a small fee which was very welcome before our long train/bus back to Le Paz. Our rating is based on the price of $10 per night per person.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieHMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a private double room here and it wasn't a bad hostel at all, beds were comfortable, room was clean and the showers were hot. A big plus was that you get a heater in your room. It is also right in the central square which is great. On the downside it is expensive compared to others and the breakfast was rather terrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyj603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

stayed for a couple of nights after a salt flat tour from San Pedro. had a room with private bathroom, shower was hot, room was large and clean, but you may need ear plugs as noise from corridor and next door is quite loud. there is a kitchen and common area with tv, you get very basic breakfast included, we opted for the restaurant next door. location is very good, near restaurants and internet, hostel doesnt have its own computers. staff and owners are very nice and helpful too. not a bad choice for Uyuni which is fairly quiet and probably not a place to stay for too long, no offence Uyuni!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm for one night after our 4 day Uyuni tour and it was pretty good!

The Good:
- Nice sturdy bunkbeds with warm clean blankets and comfy pillows.
- A heater was placed in the room at night so it was warm enough.
- Ok breakfast
- Clean shared bathrooms
-Location is very central.
- Lots of lockers to put your stuff
- Best of all: very hot shower- very nice after 4 days.

The bad:
- No wifi

Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
0.2 mi away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 17 in Uyuni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
#5 of 19 in Uyuni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
#6 of 19 in Uyuni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Sal Casa Andina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel

Property: Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel
Address: Av. Arce No 27, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Piedra Blanca Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing