We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Uyuni
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I don't expect anything luxurious in the middle of a desert in Bolivia, but I was disappointed with this hotel because it didn't live up to what was advertised. There didn't really seem to be much heat on at all even though this was one of the main selling points of the hotel, which made for an extremely cold stay. The only thing that worked as promised was the hot water shower. The electric blanket was also very welcome, though the fact that electricity (not just heat) was turned off at night meant that nighttime was also quite cold, although I have to say that the blankets themselves were pretty warm and I didn't feel cold while sleeping. Compared to the other hotel I stayed at on the 3 day Salar de Uyuni tour, this hotel was rather disappointing. Although I recognize that the hotel is essentially run by one family, I expected the hotel to at least live up to what it promised (heat!). The food was edible, though it was cold. The service wasn't terrible or anything, but I have to say that the family running the hotel didn't seem interested in addressing any of our concerns.

Even keeping in mind the location and the standards of living in this part of Bolivia, this hotel was a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comment, apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. Although there are many constraints in the area we are working hard to improve our services.
Best regards,
Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
13
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 847 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We fully understand that in the wilds of Bolivia you cannot expect 5 star. But there is no excuse for ...... Cold rooms (the heating was put on at 7.30pm long after we had arrived) Cold food on cold plates ..... cooked earlier & served from an unheated food tray. Cold bed ..... supposedly with an electric blanket but so uncomfortable we might as well have slept on the floor. A local band from the community arrived to entertain us, but in no way did this offset this horrid experience. And that "welcoming fire" in the restaurant was so badly ventilated we spent a lot of the time outside getting our breath. Bad news is that this hotel is the only option. Good luck!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. Although there are many constraints in the area we are working hard to improve our services.
Best regards

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uyuni hotels

Basel
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Dreadful hotel – even bearing in mind the location. We declined the room with a rock wall – it was even colder than the rest of the hotel. The room we did take had a pointless window looking out onto the public area so the curtain had to be closed all the time. Small extremely basic bathroom. Electric blanket was very welcome. A lock on the room door but we were given no key, even though we asked for one. Security is therefore non-existent. Building work was going on in the hotel. Dreadful four piece band played after dinner and then asked for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. Although there are many constraints in the area we are working hard to improve our services.
Best regards

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
99.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
105.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Sal
Hotel Palacio de Sal
#2 of 11 in Uyuni
333 reviews
104.9 mi away
Cristal Samana Salt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
99.1 mi away
Los Girasoles Hotel
Los Girasoles Hotel
#8 of 11 in Uyuni
117 reviews
106.8 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
98.5 mi away
Hotel de Sal Casa Andina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva

Property: Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva
Address: Villa Mar s/n, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing