We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“en Uyuni::::::::::::”
Review of Uyuni Tours

Uyuni Tours
Ranked #5 of 19 Outdoor Activities in Uyuni
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“en Uyuni::::::::::::”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was told that it was the best company for travel to Uyuni, for which I decided to take it. very friendly, willing to resolve the questions that arose and warned us of the change of route by the altiplanic winter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank megan_785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    35
    7
    12
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quechua Connection, the best tour company”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have dreamed of going to Uyuni for many years now. And now that the time has finally come, we did our due diligence by researching on this site and others to find the good companies, from the multitude of companies that offer tours. We saw many horror stories from people that went with different companies. My research pointed towards Quechua Connections as being the tour company to give most likely the best service. So we reserved our tour several months ahead of time. The bus from La Paz was an adventure in and of itself. Leaving at 8:00 PM, the road was fairly well maintained until Oruro. From that point on for the next 300 miles it was nothing but sand and mud. Several times the bus had to cross actual rivers and one time a fairly large lake. But the driver knew exactly what to do and how to avoid getting stuck in the mud and sand, and at about 9 AM we safely arrived in Uyuni. We showed up at the Quechua Connections office. Even though we had reserved months ahead of time, we were the only two people there scheduled for the tour for that day. They said we needed to fill the vehicle with six people in order to take off on the tour, if not they would send us to a different company. I was hoping that would not happen. By 11:00 AM, the scheduled departure time, four other people had found their way onto the tour. So we were ready to go. The owner, Jose, said that because it was the rainy season the original itinerary had to be modified a little bit because some of the salt flat was flooded. Not a problem. For a driver/guide we were assigned Jose Manuel.

It was a three day two night tour. The first day we toured some giant cactus areas, and spent the entire afternoon at the Salar. The Land Rover easily handled the 6 inches of water that we had to drive through to get to the Dry salt area. We took turns three at a time sitting on top of the vehicle the roof of the vehicle as we were driving through the water. It was super fun. Took a lot of pictures of the cloud formations reflected in the water where you couldn't tell where the sky ended and the water began. Very beautiful. Then we made it to a vast area of dry pure salt. We explore the area, including a salt hotel, that is now a museum. And we took the famous funny pictures that Uyuni is famous for because of the lack of depth perception. José Manuel prepared us our lunch which was llama stake, quinoa, vegetables, and dessert, which we ate in a restaurant constructed completely out of salt bricks. We stayed and watched a beautiful sunset over the Salar, and drove to our first night accommodations. To say that the accommodations were basic is an understatement. I won't go into too much detail about the rest of the food or accommodations. But hey, this is Bolivia. If you want the Ritz, then book the Ritz. If you want to see some of the most amazing scenery on the surface of the earth, you're going to have to rough it, but by all means you must see remote Uyuni.

The second and third days we saw many different lagoons, each one with a different color, based on the chemical composition of the water and the surrounding land. Beautiful volcanoes reflected in pristine lakes. Herds of wild llama and vicuña. Hundreds of flamingos at close range. Geysers and other geothermal features in the land that you could step right up to if you wanted to. The list goes on and on. The third morning we stopped at a thermal Hot Springs and bathed and it felt good to get the salt and dirt off our bodies. José Manuel did his very best to make sure that we got to see the very best. He bent over backwards to make sure that each of the guests were very pleased with all of the sites and activities. He explained everything with thorough knowledge, prepared meals and snacks, he knew all the roads and pathways, and had spare parts for his vehicle, and made sure number one that we all had tremendous fun and enjoyed the beauty of the natural surroundings. And he was a very safe driver. A very nice man. A good cook, good photographer, and did not drink. By the end of our tour, all six of us felt like family.

If you want to see one of the most beautiful and interesting places on earth, go to Uyuni. And if you want to take the best tour company, one that will not let you down, then you must select Quechua Connections. About $120 US per person for 3 day 2 night tour, food and accommodation (so to speak) included. All six of us left the tour with big smiles hugs and very pleased by our decision to use this company.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
18 Thank Steven_el_Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Companies Uyuni tours/Crystal tours - be careful”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

After much of email conversations, we booked our 3day/2Night tour including transfer to San Pedro, Chile at the end with this Uyuni tour company "Uyuni tours". The owner Daniel Rodriguez explained the details in email and finally we booked it with him for 180$/p.P. He explained that the normal price to be 160$/p.P, but this transfer to San Pedro would cost us 20$/p.P more. The first night, private room with private bathroom and the 2nd night would have very basic accommodation with shared bathroom. We somehow managed to transfer half of the tour amount to him via Money transfer from Arequipa in Peru. We were worried about lack of seats for the tour, since we went in the peak season (27 to 29. Dec).

As we arrived in Uyuni on the day of tour, there were hundreds of tour agents preparing for this tour. When we reached Uyuni tours office, Daniel collected the money first and confirmed that we would be getting a private room with private bathroom for the first night.

When the tour was about to start, we were sent to one of the jeeps first to load our bags, saying that is meant for us. Then suddenly, we were taken out of that car and sent to another one. Finally, there was a jeep from Crystal tours(a partner company of Uyuni tours), in which we were stuffed in along with 4 others, who were also going to Chile at the end of the tour.

At the end of the 1st day, we were shown a salt hotel with shared toilets to be shared with 18 people. We refused to take the room in that hotel, and wanted to call Daniel. But that was middle of the desert, there was no phone and all our mobiles were out of the network. I searched for the driver of our jeep to ask for help. He was fully drank and refused to help and forced us to take this room. Finally, i came to know that the driver has booked only this shared rooms for the whole group in his car. So, we ended up in this room.

After that we were irritated to know, that the original price off this tour to be just 90$/p.P. We paid double the price and got to share the same services as the ones who paid 90$. This is totally unfair.

Our suggestion is to go to Uyuni and then book the tours, don't book it in advance. There is no way that, the tours will become full. When we started for this tour, we have seen more than 100 vehicles starting at the same time. So, don't book in advance.

If you were offered a higher price for different varieties of food or an English speaking guide, don't ever believe this. because , there is no guides in these trips. They have mere drivers, and they too are often drunk in the mornings. You cannot change or complain, if you were offered a different service than the ones you have paid for. Because, you will be in the middle of nowhere with no communication channels. At least, this is our experience with the companies Uyuni Tours and Crystal Tours.

As a whole, Salar de Uyuni is a NOT to miss landscape. It made us forget some of the above experiences. So be watchful and enjoy Salar de Uyuni.

Helpful?
9 Thank parthi_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quechua Connections - better than red planet and cheaper”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was recommended to travel with Red Planet on a tour of Salar De Uyuni and the fact their fee was way higher than anyone elses did not bother me if they were the best (safest). The fact they did not respond to my emails and then when I was in their office they acted very snotty, I decided not to give them my buiness but went with Quechua Connections instead as another traveler had raved about them. Quechua Connection is the same price as everyone else but safe, professional, fun and Jose, the guide-owner went out of his way to help me with my travels (fitting his tour around other things I wanted to do). I can not say enough good things about this company BUT dont expect a new car. The car is old but well maintained and does the job.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank samiam60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small City, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up for BoliviaTravelSite and the Salar”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We just returned from a holiday in La Paz, Uyuni, Sucre, and Santa Cruz. We had planned four nights in the Uyuni area but a combination of a flight cancellation, saroche and food poisoning cut short our stay to only one day touring the Salar and one night at the Palacio de Sal.

The only group that gave us a refund of any kind was BoliviaTravelSite, which refunded us in full the US$70 we paid them for the Hotel Jardines de Uyuni (which we cancelled almost 48 hours in advance). We were told that three days notice was the norm for hotel cancellations!

Amaszonas did not compensate us for our additional hotel expenses as a result of the cancelled flight. We learned that--if we pursued our claim against the Amaszonas--it would be unlikely that we would get any monies. Any monies we did receive would come out of the pocket of the lowly clerk who had neglected to inform us when the flight had been cancelled.

Our tour guide, Raúl Alberto Baptista Cruz. (this tour had been organized by La Petite Porte) charged us the full US$990 US which had been arranged for a three-day tour. All we got was a one-day private tour of the Salar (which only included lunch since we paid for the hotel, dinner, and breakfast), a bottle of oxygen, and a private transfer to Sucre (with a packed lunch the driver never gave us!). This is excessive in a country where people with good jobs make $200-$300/month! No one can convince us we were not ripped off. Our driver--his cheek full of coca--was heading back to Uyuni with another group after dropping us off in Sucre.

We have booked private tours in countries like India, China, and Vietnam, and feel that Boliva--particularly Uyuni--is incredibly over-priced and treat Western tourists as cash cows. At least, BoliviaTravelSite treated us fairly and the Salar is spectacular... a world-class site!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GEMSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uyuni Tours also viewed

 
Uyuni, Potosi Department
Uyuni, Potosi Department
 

Been to Uyuni Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing