We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tour and guide”

Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.00*
and up
Day Trip to Uyuni Salt Flats
Ranked #3 of 38 Tours in Uyuni
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and guide”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did the 2 night 3 day tour in October and had an amazing time. Apparently this tour charges a little extra, but it was still excellent value. The cars were in good shape, we received plenty of good food and saw amazing scenery. What really made it stand apart however was our guide Obed. He was the best guide I have ever had - spoke English very well, and had incredible knowledge about the area and Bolivia in general. We learned so much from him and he went out of his way to make sure we saw as much as possible, even making a few additional stops to see interesting wildlife. He was also an excellent driver and very helpful (giving us snacks, ensuring we were comfortable with hot water for the night, providing great music in the car while also asking if we wanted to listen to ours). Thanks to him we have the best photos of the salt plains, he had lots of ideas for them and was very patient and good with the camera. Obed was also very interested in our countries and we had long chats with him throughout the trip. He definitely made the trip for us! The overall activities and accommodation were good as well, the salt hotel was great - warm and with good food. The second night's accommodation was a bit rougher - cold and dark so you should be prepared, but that was all part of the experience. Overall this was an amazing few days and we are very glad we went with red planet.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ivanka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    155
    58
    36
    66
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went on a day tour of the salt flats and were very impressed. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The scenery and experience was fantastic. The lunch was great. The only drawback was how cramped we were in the back of the 4x4.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ok, this guys are more expensive than the available 3 days tour to the Salar de Uyuni however i think that the difference is worth it. The drivers are responsible, which is quite important when you take a tour which is mostly inside a jeep... the Jeeps are in good shape. The 3 meals you get every day, are satisfactory. You never leave the table hungry. They have extra surprises to you such as snacks on the way, a bottle of wine in the dinner...Hot bottles ans sleeping bags are provided in the second night to prevent you freezing. Some downsides: there was no hot water in the second night's stay, which is probably the case for all places in this location. There was no enough electricity to charge batteries for phone or cameras, we had only 1.15 hr. for this purpose which is quite frustrating. In general the tour guide and the drivers made their best to provide a nice experience. I enjoyed the tour and would recommend the company to anyone that wishes to take the 3 day Salar tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3 day/2night salt flats tour”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We chose red planet because of the good reviews and wanted to the salt flats tour to be amazing. We asked for an english speaking guide and signed up for the 2 day/3 night trip. Red planet charges about £45 (450 bolivianos) more than the other companies but we didnt mind as long as the trip was going to be great and memorable. However, it was not worth the extra money whatsoever. All the other companies do exactly the same. You stop at the same sights together, drive at the same time, eat the same food and stay at the same places. We were very dissapointed as the guide we had didnt actually communicate much at all with us. When we got to sights he would stand around talking to other drivers from other tour companies rather than show us around and give an explanation of the sight. This happened on all occasions except once. Another red planet tour guide that was also doing the trip with another 6 people showed his group around every attraction we stopped at, we heard from them he also used the driving time to explain about the trip, asked them if they wanted to plug their ipod in the car radio, consulted them about the itinery, shared what food we woukd be having and asked them their preferences. We didnt get any of this. Once at the hostels the guide would unpack the car then disappear. On the second night he was nowhere to be seen for 3 hours. Meal times was also annoying as our group was sometimes left without cuttlery and had less food available than the other red planet. On the 3rd day we were missing cereal and a chocolate bar and our table had no plates or cuttlery for the pancakes he had cooked. These pancakes may i add, made us leave late on the 3rd morning because he was not up in time to make sure they were ready for 4.30am (when we had to leave to see the giezers) Whilst the other group left at 4.45am we were still at the hostel sitting in the car waiting to go at 5.15am. We have complained to red planet who at the time were very apologetic but did not offer any kind of compensation. We have since been emailed by them and told that we need to put it in writing if we want them to take us seriously. If i was to do the tour again i would definately not use red planet. Even with a good guide its not worth the extra £45. Another company that seemed good were: Andrea tours.

Helpful?
4 Thank mdolling83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great and not so great”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The scenary is amazing, so please go on this trip if you are in Uyuni!
Our guide was fantastic. He spoke very good english and was easy going (didn't talk too much, didn't make stupid jokes), just a genuine nice guy.
The route is the same as all the other companies as far as I could tell.
Accomidation on the first night at the salt hotel was good. 2nd night was basic, but that is the same for everyone.

Where the tour was really let down, was the food. Breakfast is average in Boliva at the best of times, and this was no exception. Lunch on both days was OK (2nd day with roast chicken was actually pretty good). But the dinners were very disspointing... and these were cooked at the hotels. Take a leaf out of the cooks on the Inka trail... great food in camping conditions.

So we paid a premium for Red Planet compared to others in town (25-30%)... part to get the english speaking guide, and part for the food. We got half.

Improve the food and it will be a top rate tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andyjay123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip also viewed

Uyuni, Potosi Department
Uyuni, Potosi Department
 

Been to Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing