We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be the winner of the 'World's Worst Hotel Award'”
Review of Hotel Avenida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must be the winner of the 'World's Worst Hotel Award'”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you ever wanted to know how staying in a prison cell must feel like, this is your chance. At the Avenida you'll get a freezing cold, dark room with walls that are plastered with cardboard and sexy calendars to cover all the fungi. Your private bathroom has a constant and very strong smell of someone elses urin - probably inspired by the scent of Bolivian public bathrooms. To top everything off there's also a shower that might just give you a nice little electric shock. But then at least you'll feel warm, right?

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Publizischt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    85
    77
    8
    12
See reviews for
4
88
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Should be called a hostel def not a Hotel.

Good for one night and you get what you paid for.

-hot showers
-clean
-good location next to the railwaystation and restaurants

Unfortunately no heating in the rooms (it was very cold!!), no wifi, no kitchen, you have to buy your own toilet paper and I think it is allowed to smoke in the rooms...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinniwinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Its a completely no frill cheap value for money place with comfy bed, clean rooms and hot showers. There are plenty of blankets to keep you warm as there are no heaters, no wifi no nothing really. I did find power sockets in my room and toilet paper was complimentary.The location is great and the owner was friendly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svetlanabaghawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Most people only stay one night here - before and maybe after you have been at the salt flats.
The rooms stink of smoke, but the owner smokes so you get that.
This is a family affair.
Mum and grandma, and the big man - son all work here.
He speaks english which is good.
you have to buy your own toilet paper.
There is no kitchen.
Showers are locked at times - so plan ahead.
I would pick elsewhere next time, but it served it's purpose.
i saw the ladies was all the linen by hand in the troughs.
Basic Bolivian.
No wi-fi or internet access.
Should be called a hostel - this is no hotel.
Showers do have hot water - this is about the best thing!

Room Tip: Rooms are cold. No tips. Maybe the back is quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curleyistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uyuni hotels

Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

So cheap. At £7 for a double room with shared bathroom I can't complain. We would stay here again, but Uyuni is not somewhere you want to hang about. Super basic room, no heater but enough blankets to suffocate you. Shared showers were hot and powerful - a bonus in Uyuni. No WIFI and not even a power socket. I wouldn't have wanted anything else though. In Uyuni to get a nice hotel you'll pay over the odds and it won't even be worth it. The layout did kind of make it look like a prison but hey, it's cheap. It's hard to give a star rating so I'll do it based on value for money. I think if you go knowing what to expect you'll be fine. Another couple we met walked in and walked straight back out.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank u01fw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed 1 night before doing the salt flats. Had a private single, shared bathroom. Very simple room but it was clean and I slept well. For 35 Bolivianos it was good value. No wi-fi but I don't think anywhere has wifi in Uyuni. Very close to the main square and all the salt flat operators

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was close to the main square. Easy walking distance from the bus station (4 blocks-ish) and the walk felt safe even in the wee hours of the morning. We stayed in two different rooms, one before and one after our salt-flat tours. They were both clean. Showers were fine - electric but they got hot. We had a double with private bath. The hostel was pretty big - lots of rooms. It was reasonably quiet. Staff was friendly. Prices were reasonable. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
0.4 mi away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 18 in Uyuni
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Quinua Dorada
Hostal Quinua Dorada
#2 of 23 in Uyuni
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Sal Casa Andina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jumari
Hotel Jumari
#2 of 18 in Uyuni
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Magia de Uyuni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Property: Hotel Avenida
Address: Av. Ferroviaria 11, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing