We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for this place”
Review of Hotel Avenida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I paid 30bs for a nice single room.

Pro's:
Hard bed, very clean, perfect location, staff help you, washing place, hot shower (7:30am till 8pm),

Cons:
No electric plugs in room, no toilet paper, no wifi (hard to find in Uyuni)


Overall:
Its a good deal in Uyuni!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibabutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

hostel: no heater (in room but one in toilet/shower room enabled in early morning), no toilet paper for shared toilet, 4-5 blankets, no wifi/internet, power outlet
no kitchen, no laundry (nearby 15Bs/kg)
checkout 11am
staff (spanish only) very helpful for information or to provide hot water for hot water bag/guatero
Note: the ground shower/toilets seems nearer hot water storage (more available there). depending on how full is the hotel, 2 to 4 shower/toilet locals can be opened

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jul002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Well, the room are OK but do not expect anything more. Service is based on a checkin-sleep-checkout:
- No descent breakfast.
- Don't think about leaving your bags when cruising the salar or waiting for your midnight train the hotel refuse to store them (unique in Bolivia).
- do not expect the owner to smile, she is yet nice enough to host you...
- Bring you own toilet paper...
I use to stay in hostal and service is much better for a cheapest price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romain494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and I spent 1 night at Hotel Avenida in May 2012. Don't be mistaken by the name "hotel", it isn't. We ended up staying here because we came across it after a long night-bus from La Paz. We figured it was only one night, so we would cope, and we didn't expect much for the price.

We paid 60 Bolivianos for a twin room (big beds), with a shared bathroom - a very good price. The room was very very basic, and cold. As the beds were more like doubles than singles, we shared a bed and put all the blankets on one (about 7 blankets!), which kept us warm.

The bathrooms were basic, with no toilet paper, but the shower was surprisingly hot. Although, as the floor tiles were so cold, you soon cool down.

No wi-fi or breakfast, which seems to be the common trend in Uyuni. Walking distance to everything, including bus station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for one night after returning from a 4 day Uyuni tour so just needed somewhere to crash for the night. The room was a good size, hot shower and was in a quiet enough area, you can't really ask for much more for 100 bolivianos a night. No breakfast or wifi (none of the hotels seem to have wifi in Uyuni), but the owner was helpful when we asked about buses to Potosi and gave us directions to the bus station and which companies were good.

The room was cold, but it was July in Bolivia so we expected it to be. Once we had our sleeping bag and the blankets, we were warm enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Right across from the train station, reasonable, and gets the job done. Beds come with multiple blankets and the rooms have multiple ports to charge you cameras before heading to the Salar. It's a small town, so location doesn't matter too much, but the hotel is right next to where the jeeps leave from in the morning. Check-in is a breeze, and staff will rent a towel for you to use in the public showers (no waiting needed). This is a good no-frills place to stay and you will get a good night of sleep here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Adequate hotel for one night. Electric hot showers are OK but don't have much pressure. Good location near the main boulevard in town, walking distance to bus station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
0.4 mi away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 18 in Uyuni
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Quinua Dorada
Hostal Quinua Dorada
#2 of 23 in Uyuni
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Magia de Uyuni
0.0 mi away
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
#13 of 23 in Uyuni
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jumari
Hotel Jumari
#2 of 18 in Uyuni
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Ferroviaria 11, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing