We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Clean Up and Chow Down After Your Salt Flat Trip”
Review of Tonito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tonito Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Uyuni B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Let me start by saying, there's no need in the entire world to ever stay in Uyuni. UNLESS you're coming/going on a salt flat tour. Because most tours end late in the afternoon, and most buses leaving Uyuni leave in the morning (strategic, right?), you might have to spend the night in Uyuni. After 3 days coming from San Pedro to Uyuni on a tour, we went immediately to Tonito Hotel and didn't leave until we headed to Potosi the next day. The rooms are comfortable. The beds perfect. The water hot. The hotel safe. And the food. AH! After eating unidentifiable food for 3 days in the dessert, the pizza at Minutemen Pizza was well received. And the breakfast buffet was also amazing. You roll your eyes now, but just you wait when you've been in Bolivia for a while and haven't had quality food. When you too encounter bagels and english muffins, then you'll understand. ;) A great book exchange and decent speed WIFI. There's a tour agency next door that will help you with bus tickets (will recommend the "safe" companies and tours. If you have to stay in Uyuni, I recommend Tonito.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

eventhough there is a lot going on and you can get to know lots of people, they are quite strict about the quiet time at night which i liked!
plus they serve the best breakfast in south-america and the pizzas in the evening are also outstanding!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreddyandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The hotel was really great and had one of the best breakfasts. The Minuteman Pizza had great food and the owner was really helpful and let us continue to use the facilities after we had checked out and were waiting for our late night bus. Also one of the best book exchanges in South America.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I have travelled a lot and never felt compelled to write an online review until now.

Being the middle of winter, my wife and I decided to splurge and stay in Uyuni´s most expensive hotel because they had heated rooms with hot water showers. When I called to make a reservation, I knew that the power supply in Uyuni was out, and the person on the phone assured me that if the electricity was not on when we stayed (thus allowing heating), we could certainly negotiate on the price which was around US$60 per night.

As it turned out, there was no power for the two nights we were in the hotel, and this meant we were not only in the dark the whole time, but had no heating at all. It was absolutely freezing in our room. There is no generator at the hotel except to provide power for the restaurant. The two nights we spent there were bitterly cold and miserable, so I was very ready to talk to them about the price of the room, considering all the hotel had to pay for was a change of sheets and a vacuum of the floor - no electricity means very low running costs.

I was dumbfounded when they told me upon checkout that the price was going to be discounted by 10%. I told them that US$55 was a long way from a fair price to charge for a room with no heating and no lights, which started a big argument with the man on the desk. The manager was not available to discuss the matter with me (surprise surprise), and after a long and difficult debate I was left with no option but to pay, and left the hotel feeling completely cheated. They wouldn´t even let me and my wife have a shower there after our salt flats tour despite us offering to pay for the privilege.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Panicked when we drove into Uyuni, but then sighed a huge sigh of relief when we got to the hotel - clean, courteous and the restaurant had the best pizzas - the breakfast really good, and the first decent coffee since Santiago - the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We arrived at this hotel late at night coming from Puno by bus (a 10 hour drive). Our tour guide contacted the hotel somewhere in the afternoon and arranged a late diner (11:30PM). Thumbs up for the staff staying up so late to warm our pizza! Really enjoyed this! The American breakfast was also excellent. Unfortunately not all the staff is so helpful. For instance, you should NOT leave your laundry with them. It will most certainly come back dirty and sending it back will not help much. This I a problem in all of Bolivia. My advise: keep you clothes on or buy new ones.

Our room at the Tonito was near the front of the hotel at the small "plaza". Probably the oldest part of the hotel considering the looks of our room. The bed was dirty and uncomfortable and there was no heating (in winter time). Also, they must have had the worst painter and flooring company ever. The situation in our bathroom was worst. It was cold, small and dirty. (I will upload some photo's later) Oh, we also had a leaking toilet, which of course they promised to fix asap (uhuh).

Some group members told me the rooms at the back of the hotel (the new part) are better. So, make sure you get one of these when you visit. Advise to hotel management: renovate the rooms at the front, fire the guys at the reception and change laundry company.

Stayed: September 2009
Thank arnoutarnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

All the guide books recommended this hotel in Uyuni but clearly the reviews were from years ago.
Rude and incompetent staff, dirty room and their travel agency was totally useless and overpriced.
I really enjoyed Bolivia and the locals but this was the worst experience of our trip.
You would be better off in a cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paloma72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
14.7 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Sal
Hotel Palacio de Sal
#2 of 11 in Uyuni
357 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cristal Samana Salt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Girasoles Hotel
Los Girasoles Hotel
#8 of 11 in Uyuni
118 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
0.1 mi away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 18 in Uyuni
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonito Hotel

Address: 60 Avenida Ferroviaria, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Uyuni
Price Range: $70 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tonito Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed in the Lonely Planet Bolivia Great breakfast buffet. Minuteman restaurant inside hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tonito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing