We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tambo Aymara
Nearby Hotels
$78
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Quinua Dorada(Uyuni)(Great Value!)
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$29
Priceline
View Deal
$169
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
25
93
41
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
93
41
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimited optionsbig bedspacious bathroomsalt flatslobbyheatingsheetsboliviatourcurrencycomfort
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 179 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a nice time at Tambo Aymara. We were travelling through Uyuni and we stayed a night at this hotel before we transferred out.

The rooms, although a little small were very clean and well-maintained.

The staff were extremely nice to us. We saw that they did not have vegetarian options, so we asked them if we could use their burners to cook some food ourselves (we had purchased some instant food). They graciously allowed us to do so. Having said that, it was very hard to communicate with them because they knew almost no English.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhiram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Uyuni does not inspire one to hope for good things from it´s hotels.
If you have been to Uyuni you will know what I mean. (Cold, windswept, cultural wasteland, and tour ticket touts.
However this hotel was very comfortable.
Heaters in all the rooms - you really need this - hot water - you really need this too - and a good breakfast including fruit, eggs, make your own toast with real hearty bread. Only complaint was not so hot water for coffee.
No internet terminals, but wi fi available without charge.

Room Tip: Signage is not good. the hotel is off the main streets a bit, and looks nothing like a hotel from the outside. I asked a shopkeeper across the street for directions, and she did not know where it was. Tip: pay the 10 B for a ataxi - the drivers know where it is.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Is one of the best in comfort and facilities in all Uyuni. Is very cosy and has some ethnical charming. They bake the bread every morning. Also is the only one hotel in town which has a sunny patio with flowers. Simply lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the guide books calls this the most "stylish" option in town, and it may well be. It does look pretty good.

The good: Very short walk from the bus drop off area, short further walk to the tour agency offices to join your salt flat tour. The pillows were nice. The towels were fluffy. The staff, who did not have any English, were very nice and helpful, even with my broken Spanish. Everything was very clean and new looking. The water was hot and plentiful. There was a little space heater in the room that we could control (rather than the plumbed-in radiator that the hotel can turn off).

The meh: Breakfast for us was almost non-existant - we didn't have time to sit and see if something else was coming out, but as far as we good see, it was bread, a toaster and some juice and I think some yogurt. Maybe it improves if there are more guests, but there did not seem to be very many when we were there. Having wifi would also be nice.

The bad: The beds are hard. Very, very hard. I've slept on some hard beds in Asia, but these are a step further. The rooms are dark. It turns out that most of the rooms are actually interior rooms, with only a small window that opens onto the dark interior hallways. That nice courtyard to see is all glassed in, and most of the rooms don't face it anyway. Presumably this all makes it cozier in the winter, but it was not that cold when we were there, and was a surprise. Our $50/night room did not qualify us for an exterior window. The hallways are noisy. Very noisy. Around 7:30/8:00, there arose a loud clatter outside our "window" and door with large gaps which was the hotel staff rolling very rickety carts and cleaning supplies along the rough tile floor and shouting back and forth to one another. If there a been a tour group, I assume it would have been worse. If you are there for one night and up for your morning departure, not an issue, but beware if you are hoping to sleep in!

Room Tip: There has to be something better than the ground floor, 30 feet from the reception area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Shazza1Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel in Uyuni. Colonial style, clean room, with good amenities for Uyuni. Nice bathroom, modern. Wifi is only at the lobby, helpful staff. Good breakfast. Recommended. About BS 380 a night, but worth it, specially after a 3-day trip in the desert!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wise_lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews